Customer Reviews for

Star Wars The New Jedi Order #9: Star by Star

Average Rating 4
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Aturning point in NJO

    This is where it goes from a classic Star Wars tone, a "repel the invaders and free the galaxy," to the much darker tone that stayed with NJO until the end, "stay alive, take down as many as we can, and hope we survive to see victory." It's also a personal turniing point for the main characters. This book set the stage for the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    Great writting. Continues with the saga well!!!

    I really enjoyed this next book in the saga. There was one aspect that I didn't like about it. But I won't ruin it for you. You'll have to read it for yourself. The characters developed even more than I imagined and there are some shocking turn of events.. Troy Denning has kept me waiting on the edge to wait for what happens next with all the books he has written. When I needed to go to sleep I didn't want to put the book down, I just had to know what took place next. I recommend this series of books for anyone who is a Star Wars Fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    By far the best Star Wars book there is.  Dark and haunting it l

    By far the best Star Wars book there is.  Dark and haunting it leaves you in a state of morbid realization that some of your favorite characters aren't coming back.  While you would rather it not happened it turns out better for the mythos of Star Wars as a whole.  --Jstrachan7

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    ?

    .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    A DESTINEY MET & Another Destiney approaches

    Star by Star is great but extremeley sad book SPOILER ALERT
    Anakin Solo's destiney is met as he heroically saves the Jedi Order through his own death; As much as I wish it was nit required Anakin's death was extrememly well written along with Jaina, Jacen, Han, Leia, baby Ben, and especially Luke's reaction ( Luke's reactioned showed that no matter what happened to him he is still only human and has emotions); Jacen's destiney faster and faster

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very dark and deep book

    The NJO storyline starts very deep and dark in Vector Prime with the death of Chewbacca by Author R.A. Salvatore. This book makes that one seem like a childrens book when it comes to its dreariness. The death of a beloved character or 5. The fall of a planet that was never supposed to be penetrable at all. Many die... Very good book even if many of my favorite caharacters suffered and/or died in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2006

    Breath by breath, Star by Star.

    This is one my top ten Star Wars favorites. Troy Denning has proved that he's no newbie when it comes to writing Star Wars. This is the third hardcover in the New Jedi Order series, and it's highly recomended that you read all the previous New Jedi Order titles before you read this one. The book is a whopping 606 pages. It's one of the more climactic books in the NJO series. There's many things happening at once, a risky mission to Myrkr to kill a new Vong-shaped terror, that likes to hunt Jedi imparticular.A battle above Coruscant, a kid-napping attempt by a traitor that you love to hate. The deaths of major Expanded Universe characters. And tons of Jedi starfighter action. If you haven't read this book or any other NJO books, buy them now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2005

    Five Stars for Star Wars: Star by Star

    One of the best books I've ever read. It has an engaging nature that will keep you on the edge of your seat and touch your heart during the darkest moments in any Star Wars book or movie (save episode 3). You cannot miss this one. Denning puts all cards on the table and anything can happen. Take nothing for granted. Dennig fears nothing as he truly discribes the dark and griddy nature at war. This book will hit home with anyone who has an imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2005

    Most Awesome Star Wars I have read like Ever!

    This book was incredible. There was a good focus on all the characters, I hate when you have multiple stories and only one character gets all the attention. It brings up again the relationship between Han Solo and his family, but mostly between him and Anakin. It is a good emotional story as more Jedi friends of The Skywalkers and the Solos are lost, some more closer then friends, and has plenty of action as well. And it has Baby Ben! :) Ok, for real now. In short, great book. Highly recommend it. And Threepio must die!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2005

    The Grandaughter of Anakin Skywalker...

    In this one you can see, if you have also read the books right before episode III: Revenge of the Sith, the connection between the Jaina and her Grandfather. When Jacen gets captured and Anakin Solo gets killed by the Yugzun Vong (can't remember how to spell it), Jaina pushed on the verge of the dark side. She has lightning going from her hands and everything. Exactly the same happened to Anakin Skywalker. She didn't turn while Anakin did. Why, we will see... It probably has to do with Padme, something will probably happen to her... that's the only was Darth Sideous could cause him to loose control, like Darth Vader did to Luke to cause him to loose control... threaten Lea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2004

    THE BEST IN THE SERIES!!!!!!!!

    You can't stop reading!!! Anikin's death, Borsk's death, and Jacen captured! This book is full of exitment! You can't put the book down. And I am a kid!!! My favorite characters were Tenel Ka and Raynar Thul!! If you like Star Wars, you have to read this book. This book is about Anikin Solo leading a strike team to Myrkr to destroy the Jedi- hungry Voxyn. But will they survive?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2004

    It had to be.

    I could not put this book down, It just got under my skin; like an itch that couln't be relieved until I finished the book. I enjoyed Troy Denning's writing, and how he put some like and death situations in, the Star Wars galaxy isn't a place free of death, quite the contrary. Anakin had to die, he had to. If he hadn't, we would all start to get bored of the lengthy NJO series. The author had to put some human emotion into the series. I disagree with the others that lowered their rating for this novel simply because they didn't want Anakin to die, yet without that this book would become too good; you know, heroes go in a guns ablazing, destroy their enemies by the hundreds, and safely return back home in time for dinner. No, this book is great the way it is, a truly spectacular book. You might want to consider stopping at the bookstore instead of the libary for this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2003

    sweet book

    This book was the best star wars book or at least one of the best i ever read. I read all these other reviwes saying anakin supposed to be the next luke skywalker well personally i dont believe it no offense. Anakin is my favorit character but i believe he was meant to die for the jedi to continue on. I think the future of the jedi never lied in anakin but instead was in jacen all along especially after i read the book traitor. So just get over it Anakin was cool but he is gone for good and never comeing back if it wasnt for him dieing i dont think jacen wouldve developed into the character that he did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2003

    The best book in the New Jedi Order series

    Where do I begin. It is the BEST book in the series by far in my opinion. It has everything a book should have. Most of all, it has a great twist in the end. It has everything from love to most important...action and chaos. It is a GREAT book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2003

    Could be Five Stars...

    Ok, I admit it, Star by Star is an awesome book. I couldn't put it down, but did they really have to kill off Anakin, my favorite character out of the whole star wars universe? OMG, I was so looking forward to what was going to happen as he grew up and became a full fledge Jedi Master. Anyway, for those who haven't read it, sorry to spoil it. It is a great book except for Anakin's Death.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2003

    Gooooooood Book

    This was an excellent book. The Voxyn, Anakin's Death...I could not put this book down at all. One of the best parts was when Fey'lya suddenly shows some dignity in the end and takes himself and a bunch of Vong out with an explosive. I thought this book was going to be good, it surpassed my expectations

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2003

    Captivating

    I think the book was GREAT, I mean GREAT!!!!! I loved it and could not stop reading until I finished (which only took 3 days). it has to be the best NJO book yet even though my heart broke when Iread the end of the chapter where Anakin dies "he was gone." I mean I was looking forward to seeing the relationship between Anakin and Tahiri develop ever since that kiss in Edge of Victory II: Rebirth but know all that is gone, it is so sad to see young love die. although if you have to kill off a main character, I think Denning did it right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2003

    A Great Book!

    I like this book a lot. I don't know if it has been said but, Denning just wrote the book, the basic plot was given to him by someone else(Example: Anakin Dying.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2003

    WHAT AM I DOING!?!?!?!?

    This an odd coment, I know, but here I am writing a review on this book AGAIN (this is what my fourth? fifth?).All I'm going to say is that I agree with the reviewer who said, and I quote,"Long live Anakin Solo!"I'm not saying he should be cloned or anything, just that he should come back, like in that new book we're expecting,The Last Prophesy (or something like that).I'm sad, yet exciting to see the New Jedi Order end. It's a compeling series,but we need to move on. What's next? It's been a long time since I've read Star by Star. Maybe I should read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2003

    Brilliance has been discovered!

    This book was brilliant! All of the plots are perfect! The ending where Fey'lya blows himself up taking over 25,000 Vong with him shows how he really is. Personally this is one of the best books i've ever read. And I've read a lot of SW books. Out of the NJO series this and Vector Prime were the 2 best. Anakin Solo died to give the Jedi hope, it is sad, but nessecary to kill him off. It will bring tears to your eyes when you read and see Anakin say, 'Kiss Tahiri for me.' I thought personally that was the sadest part of the book. The battles are great and very vivid, unlike others i've read in this series. I congratulate Troy Denning on this masterful book. He has conquered the SW Universe! This is how the books should be! The good guys on the run from the bad guys struggling to win. Fighting for there lives not there government. Congratulations on bringing back what I have always called The Rebel Alliance, not the New Republic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5