BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Star Wars The New Jedi Order #9: Star by Star

Average Rating 4.5
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Aturning point in NJO

    This is where it goes from a classic Star Wars tone, a "repel the invaders and free the galaxy," to the much darker tone that stayed with NJO until the end, "stay alive, take down as many as we can, and hope we survive to see victory." It's also a personal turniing point for the main characters. This book set the stage for the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    Great writting. Continues with the saga well!!!

    I really enjoyed this next book in the saga. There was one aspect that I didn't like about it. But I won't ruin it for you. You'll have to read it for yourself. The characters developed even more than I imagined and there are some shocking turn of events.. Troy Denning has kept me waiting on the edge to wait for what happens next with all the books he has written. When I needed to go to sleep I didn't want to put the book down, I just had to know what took place next. I recommend this series of books for anyone who is a Star Wars Fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2003

    Could be Five Stars...

    Ok, I admit it, Star by Star is an awesome book. I couldn't put it down, but did they really have to kill off Anakin, my favorite character out of the whole star wars universe? OMG, I was so looking forward to what was going to happen as he grew up and became a full fledge Jedi Master. Anyway, for those who haven't read it, sorry to spoil it. It is a great book except for Anakin's Death.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2003

    WHAT AM I DOING!?!?!?!?

    This an odd coment, I know, but here I am writing a review on this book AGAIN (this is what my fourth? fifth?).All I'm going to say is that I agree with the reviewer who said, and I quote,"Long live Anakin Solo!"I'm not saying he should be cloned or anything, just that he should come back, like in that new book we're expecting,The Last Prophesy (or something like that).I'm sad, yet exciting to see the New Jedi Order end. It's a compeling series,but we need to move on. What's next? It's been a long time since I've read Star by Star. Maybe I should read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2003

    Anakin was like ana annoying little brother, bu nevertheless a Hero.

    To all those true fans of star wars who truly read all the novels. This is a great book.To all of you who have just read the NJO series, it doesnt surprise me that you truly believed Anakin to be the hope of the jedi. When in every other novel, including the NJo series theres hints that even tough Anakin showed more potential in the force,Jacen was the more powerful jedi. I regret that Anakin died I truly did. He was an excellent character, and yes I do hate Denning for killing him.And I do hate people who say Jacen is a weakling.Anakin was a good jedi and we should never forget him as we never forget Chewie. He was heroic, they both were.So I urge you if you truly love star wars dont complain that Anakin was killed, because some of us allready knew it was coming. Besides the killing of one of my favorite characters. This book is a keeper

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2002

    Well. . . .

    It was a well written book,but the story-line was sort of depressing.Anakin dies,Jaina turns to the dark side,Jacen gets captured,Coruscant falls.It was all just pretty sad,yet at the same time, it was all really exciting.Don't let me discourage you frome reading it,I would totally recommend it,I'm just saying,that it was sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2002

    Great Read

    I think that this book had it all. It was exciting and takes you on a wild ride. I loved the action throughout the story. Even though Anakin dies I still think that it was a good book. I liked Anakin too (he was the New Jedi Order's Best Character), but I think his death made the story more realistic, which I think is a good thing. I mean he's a fictional character, even though he dies, it's not the end of the world. I mean thats what I like, but you make your own decision on this book. Some people may think of Anakin's death as a negative, so I suggest you think of the all the positive things this book has to offer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2002

    Star Wars: The New Jedi Order: Star by Star

    ... I realy enjoyed the book (I have written a review on this book before, look at the review that is by Tahiri ),but his death really shocked me.Troy Denning has a good touch to writting, but know he (meaning the character)is gone forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2002

    outraigous!!!

    Denning should never be alould to write Star Wars Books Again!!! Great Book, but WHY DID HE HAVE TO KILL ANIKIN!!! Anikin was the future Luke. He could kill another important jedi, like jacen, but not anikin. Denning did one good thing in this book and that was to kill Fre'la. Finnaly! Now there probably gonna try to bring anikin back to life, but that would be stupid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2002

    re: a certain someone's death

    i've read most of the reviews here, and both sides of this argument make good points. i just wanted to add my own to the mix. first of all, for those of you holding up the deaths of other main characters as an example, i wish to disabuse you of the notion that this particular one fits into that category. for one, obi-wan is killed before the end of the very first movie: at that point, he was not a beloved character. almost thirty years later, when we've all been able to watch the whole trilogy a million times, read expanded universe works that deal with him, he's now a beloved character: therefore, i posit that his death is NOT the same. _____ was not killed off before you got the chance to know him: if you keep up with eu, you've literally watched ____ grow up. that's another problem with the death, that the character was so young - and unfinished. ____ was still coming to terms with what ___ felt were some pretty big mistakes, and hadn't had a chance to resolve ___self to them. also, there was great potential for this character, especially as far as relationships go. this death is just unfair. i agree with everyone who's pointing out that this is 'star WARS,' etc. however - this is also FICTION. now i don't know about you, but i'd prefer a bit of escapism in my fiction - that's why i'm reading it. if i want to read about people dying young, i'll go look in the non-fiction section, thanks. yes it ups the tension, okay, now we know our main characters aren't sacred - but frankly, the series was doing fine with that already and i really didn't need the added reminder. also, the carnage level in this book as a whole is rather disturbing - it may be more real, but this is also fiction, and i was doing just fine with the 'less real,' thanks. all in all, those of you urging acceptance or even applauding this death make some good points, but i don't think any of them are really necessary. i think this death was unnecessary. the book is still a good book, and i would recommend it if you're already involved with the njo - but it is also very disappointing. i feel like i'm being toyed with: someone knows they have an excellent series here, and know that even though this death will anger a lot of people, they can write it anyways because the readers will keep coming back. and they're right, but it sucks. rar!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2002

    How Could He?

    This book was the worst thing I have ever read. Don't get me wrong, the book was great, but page 457 will haunt me forever. It is an unnatural way to do things in the SW Universe, and I believe that we should destroy the evidence of this manuscript. I can understand why he would want to kill him, but I think that he died to soon. They were just starting to develop the character and they killed him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2002

    WOW... Did not see that coming

    Before I go off on my tangent, I have to state that I have not read all the NJO Books, but from the 4 that I have read, and now this one, The ending took me by surprise. The Death of a MAJOR player was not expected, and I hope the next installment builds on this. I will say that this book is a must read and the 600 pages went by real fast. Can't wait until the next one comes out!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2001

    Wow

    I just finished reading the book today. It had a lot of intense material. It was very good except very little was resolved at the end, and I just wanted everything to end up alright. I guess I'll have to wait for the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2001

    A Turning Point

    This book was fairly well written. Mr. Denning takes many liberties and leads the reader on very well. This book is a must read if you like the New Jedi Order series. However if you are a fan that was crushed by the deat of Chewbacca, do not read this book. Yes. It gets worste. In my opinion this book was excellent in this retrospect because instead of preserving the perfect universe Denning has created a much needed chaos.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2001

    A strong start...........

    After waiting months for this book to arrive, the first 400 pages truly satisfied my Star Wars appetite. Finally a story with enough Jedi to keep any hardcore Force fan happy. Mr. Denning appeared headed for that sector of the galaxy occupied by only Masters Stackpole, Zahn, and Alston. Then it seemed the entire Star Wars galaxy came apart, with so many unexpected(and dissapointing, to this Jedi) events taking place, I am now worried about the NJO series as well as the future of Star Wars novels. The rumored deaths of more key characters are true, and one of them is truly difficult to accept. Mr. Denning appears to have no understanding of the Jedi and what they are capable of. They spent this entire story on their heels, with even Luke Skywalker seeming powerless at a certain time in the book when you know he would have brought the entire weight of the Force down upon the Vong when his son was threatened. And then there is the Dark Side....it's use by a certain Jedi was very hard to believe. However, a new hope has appeared on the edge of the galaxy. 'Rebel Dream,' due in early 2002, returns the reigns to a true Star Wars purist. May the Force be with you, Master Alston.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1