Customer Reviews for

Star Wars The New Jedi Order #9: Star by Star

Average Rating 4.5
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    Tahiri+Anakin?

    This was an amazing book even though Anakin is dead. Lets be honest. It was good for the story. Let Anakin Solos legend live on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    By far the best Star Wars book there is.  Dark and haunting it l

    By far the best Star Wars book there is.  Dark and haunting it leaves you in a state of morbid realization that some of your favorite characters aren't coming back.  While you would rather it not happened it turns out better for the mythos of Star Wars as a whole.  --Jstrachan7

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    ?

    .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    A DESTINEY MET & Another Destiney approaches

    Star by Star is great but extremeley sad book SPOILER ALERT
    Anakin Solo's destiney is met as he heroically saves the Jedi Order through his own death; As much as I wish it was nit required Anakin's death was extrememly well written along with Jaina, Jacen, Han, Leia, baby Ben, and especially Luke's reaction ( Luke's reactioned showed that no matter what happened to him he is still only human and has emotions); Jacen's destiney faster and faster

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very dark and deep book

    The NJO storyline starts very deep and dark in Vector Prime with the death of Chewbacca by Author R.A. Salvatore. This book makes that one seem like a childrens book when it comes to its dreariness. The death of a beloved character or 5. The fall of a planet that was never supposed to be penetrable at all. Many die... Very good book even if many of my favorite caharacters suffered and/or died in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2006

    Breath by breath, Star by Star.

    This is one my top ten Star Wars favorites. Troy Denning has proved that he's no newbie when it comes to writing Star Wars. This is the third hardcover in the New Jedi Order series, and it's highly recomended that you read all the previous New Jedi Order titles before you read this one. The book is a whopping 606 pages. It's one of the more climactic books in the NJO series. There's many things happening at once, a risky mission to Myrkr to kill a new Vong-shaped terror, that likes to hunt Jedi imparticular.A battle above Coruscant, a kid-napping attempt by a traitor that you love to hate. The deaths of major Expanded Universe characters. And tons of Jedi starfighter action. If you haven't read this book or any other NJO books, buy them now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2005

    Five Stars for Star Wars: Star by Star

    One of the best books I've ever read. It has an engaging nature that will keep you on the edge of your seat and touch your heart during the darkest moments in any Star Wars book or movie (save episode 3). You cannot miss this one. Denning puts all cards on the table and anything can happen. Take nothing for granted. Dennig fears nothing as he truly discribes the dark and griddy nature at war. This book will hit home with anyone who has an imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2005

    Most Awesome Star Wars I have read like Ever!

    This book was incredible. There was a good focus on all the characters, I hate when you have multiple stories and only one character gets all the attention. It brings up again the relationship between Han Solo and his family, but mostly between him and Anakin. It is a good emotional story as more Jedi friends of The Skywalkers and the Solos are lost, some more closer then friends, and has plenty of action as well. And it has Baby Ben! :) Ok, for real now. In short, great book. Highly recommend it. And Threepio must die!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2005

    The Grandaughter of Anakin Skywalker...

    In this one you can see, if you have also read the books right before episode III: Revenge of the Sith, the connection between the Jaina and her Grandfather. When Jacen gets captured and Anakin Solo gets killed by the Yugzun Vong (can't remember how to spell it), Jaina pushed on the verge of the dark side. She has lightning going from her hands and everything. Exactly the same happened to Anakin Skywalker. She didn't turn while Anakin did. Why, we will see... It probably has to do with Padme, something will probably happen to her... that's the only was Darth Sideous could cause him to loose control, like Darth Vader did to Luke to cause him to loose control... threaten Lea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2004

    THE BEST IN THE SERIES!!!!!!!!

    You can't stop reading!!! Anikin's death, Borsk's death, and Jacen captured! This book is full of exitment! You can't put the book down. And I am a kid!!! My favorite characters were Tenel Ka and Raynar Thul!! If you like Star Wars, you have to read this book. This book is about Anikin Solo leading a strike team to Myrkr to destroy the Jedi- hungry Voxyn. But will they survive?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2004

    It had to be.

    I could not put this book down, It just got under my skin; like an itch that couln't be relieved until I finished the book. I enjoyed Troy Denning's writing, and how he put some like and death situations in, the Star Wars galaxy isn't a place free of death, quite the contrary. Anakin had to die, he had to. If he hadn't, we would all start to get bored of the lengthy NJO series. The author had to put some human emotion into the series. I disagree with the others that lowered their rating for this novel simply because they didn't want Anakin to die, yet without that this book would become too good; you know, heroes go in a guns ablazing, destroy their enemies by the hundreds, and safely return back home in time for dinner. No, this book is great the way it is, a truly spectacular book. You might want to consider stopping at the bookstore instead of the libary for this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2003

    sweet book

    This book was the best star wars book or at least one of the best i ever read. I read all these other reviwes saying anakin supposed to be the next luke skywalker well personally i dont believe it no offense. Anakin is my favorit character but i believe he was meant to die for the jedi to continue on. I think the future of the jedi never lied in anakin but instead was in jacen all along especially after i read the book traitor. So just get over it Anakin was cool but he is gone for good and never comeing back if it wasnt for him dieing i dont think jacen wouldve developed into the character that he did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2003

    The best book in the New Jedi Order series

    Where do I begin. It is the BEST book in the series by far in my opinion. It has everything a book should have. Most of all, it has a great twist in the end. It has everything from love to most important...action and chaos. It is a GREAT book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2003

    Gooooooood Book

    This was an excellent book. The Voxyn, Anakin's Death...I could not put this book down at all. One of the best parts was when Fey'lya suddenly shows some dignity in the end and takes himself and a bunch of Vong out with an explosive. I thought this book was going to be good, it surpassed my expectations

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2003

    Captivating

    I think the book was GREAT, I mean GREAT!!!!! I loved it and could not stop reading until I finished (which only took 3 days). it has to be the best NJO book yet even though my heart broke when Iread the end of the chapter where Anakin dies "he was gone." I mean I was looking forward to seeing the relationship between Anakin and Tahiri develop ever since that kiss in Edge of Victory II: Rebirth but know all that is gone, it is so sad to see young love die. although if you have to kill off a main character, I think Denning did it right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2003

    A Great Book!

    I like this book a lot. I don't know if it has been said but, Denning just wrote the book, the basic plot was given to him by someone else(Example: Anakin Dying.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2003

    Brilliance has been discovered!

    This book was brilliant! All of the plots are perfect! The ending where Fey'lya blows himself up taking over 25,000 Vong with him shows how he really is. Personally this is one of the best books i've ever read. And I've read a lot of SW books. Out of the NJO series this and Vector Prime were the 2 best. Anakin Solo died to give the Jedi hope, it is sad, but nessecary to kill him off. It will bring tears to your eyes when you read and see Anakin say, 'Kiss Tahiri for me.' I thought personally that was the sadest part of the book. The battles are great and very vivid, unlike others i've read in this series. I congratulate Troy Denning on this masterful book. He has conquered the SW Universe! This is how the books should be! The good guys on the run from the bad guys struggling to win. Fighting for there lives not there government. Congratulations on bringing back what I have always called The Rebel Alliance, not the New Republic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2003

    Get Real People!!!

    I have not read this book yet. I have it in my hand now. Before I do let my say, we are reading about the Jedi. This book takes place in the Star Wars universe. If anyone thinks for a nano-second that the genetic material to clone Chewy or Anakin, or anyone of the Solos or SkyWalkers is non-existent they are not true Star Wars believers. In the words of Stan Lee, "Nuff Said".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2003

    Star Wars The New Jedi Order: Star by Star

    P.P.S. Anyone that hasn't read this book yet is either in a foreign country (cool), or a S L A C K E R ! I'm sorry if I offended anyone, but it's true. Also I liked the book because it showed one of the better sides of Anakin. To Person That Will Decide The Fate Of This Review: The former is a vital bit of information that I did not include in the first review (or second really, maybe even third). You have to post it, but please delete this part.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2003

    Star Wars The New Jedi Order: Star by Star

    I have had over year to think about this book. After I read it (for Christmas 2001!) I was very depressed that Anakin died. How could they kill off Anakin like that? I have read all of the Star Wars books (not just NJO). I know the plots, characters, planets, etc. (well...I could know them a little better). Of all the characters Anakin was my favorite, and the Corellian Trilogy was my favorite (for the principle people...I'm not that stupid. The Thrawn trilogy is the best (written)). I honestly thought that Anakin would be the next Chosen One. How could you not think it after Centerpoint Station? Anakin rocks and I think it is degrading what they have done to him. When he appeared to Jacen in Traitor I got so mad! They made him seem like a dumb kid (Iknow what some of you are thinking, and he is not a dumb little kid!). I think that the legacy of twins has lived on long enough in Star Wars, but again I'm not stupid people. I think that if they bring Anakin back now (especially after burning his body), Star Wars will become worse than any soap opera you've ever seen because it's in publication. If they bring him back it will be a mistake, but I can still dream. I don't care if you think I'm stupid if you do email me (not, you think I need that kind of STRESS?)! E-MAIL me! P.S. I think the book was very well written. But that will never heal the trauma. *Oh woe is me*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3