Customer Reviews for

Star Wars The Old Republic #1: Fatal Alliance

Average Rating 4
( 202 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(99)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

amazing book amazing charecters amazing action/plot

amazing book it rocks from begining to the very end i hate how people are bashing on this book it upsets that the other reviewers do not understand the old republic canon or the new charecters or the new vilians and heroes and jedi and sith

posted by SMeyerDestroysBooks4ever on January 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

A Must Not Read!

I have been a Star Wars fan for 20 years. Timothy Zahn sucked me in and got me reading. For years the only books I would read were SW books. This book I am sad to say reminds me of much of the bad years of the Bantam era - think Darksaber, Planet of Twilight, and Crys...
I have been a Star Wars fan for 20 years. Timothy Zahn sucked me in and got me reading. For years the only books I would read were SW books. This book I am sad to say reminds me of much of the bad years of the Bantam era - think Darksaber, Planet of Twilight, and Crystal Star bad. There is no character development and no original thought. The one thing it has is some pretty good fight scenes. This book reads like an RPG - lame dialogue, weak characters, and awkward scene transitions. If you are not a die-hard like me, do not read this book. There are many many others in the SW Universe that will capture your attention, your heart, and your budding obsession.

posted by Kyp_Constance on June 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Pretty decent book

    If you like star wars you will enjoy this book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Great Book!

    I do not understand why people dislike this book. It has plenty of action, politics and great characters. It ties into SWTOR and is a fun read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Great scope, but a little slow moving

    Star Wars The Old Republic: Fatal Alliance is a good Old Republic novel over all. The story is a little slow getting started but once it does, look out! There is plenty of action like most Star Wars novels, but it's the suspense that keeps this story enticing. The plot centers around a mystery that turns out to be something new and unexpected that's a threat to the whole galaxy.That's where the Jedi come in. And the Sith. And lots of other characters all racing each other to determine the fate of the galaxy. Filled with action, intrigue, suspense, new locations, and of course great new characters, Fatal Alliance has all sorts of surprises that keep you turning the page. It's another wonderful addition to the Old Republic books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    Honest Review

    I have been a huge fan of Star Wars for a very long time. I am a big fan of Episodes 1-3 the most. I love to read star wars book that uses force powers more than a lightsaber and I believe Sean Williams did a great job of balancing them both out. He captures the characters very well and if you think that it follows the video game 100$ then you are wrong. That was the best part, Williams never really followed the video game closely and I enjoyed it more. There is a nice balance of good and evil as well. The plot had a great idea. However, I did get a bit confused at time of what was going on exactly and there was times when I didn't want to read the book anymore because there was some boring parts but it was needed for the plot to work correctly. Overall, I give this book 4 stars out of 5. It is a great book for a newer star wars fan.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    If you're a player of the MMO, the book is a good read. You're

    If you're a player of the MMO, the book is a good read. You're already familiar with the classes, and with some of the main characters, so no real development of the characters is really needed. More of a supplement to the MMO than the earlier books. I will agree with some of the others that there are far better written books with extremely better storylines, but for what, i believe, this is supposed to do, it does well. Fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    4 out of 5

    4 out of 5

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Love TOR

    This novel provided good histories for the old republuc era. The novel was a slow starter but picked up quite quickly and ended left you wanting more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2012

    a worthy entry in the star wars universe

    I'm still reading this as i write this review, thus far though the Worgle finds it very interesting. The fight scenes are something you might see in a R.L. Salvatore book. the characterization is a little shallow thus far I'm hoping its expanded on the further you get into the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Sample reading

    As I reading up to this point of the free sample, I was enjoying the stoty very much. The next page had me lost. The story is great the free sample could have been better.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Star Wars: The Old Republic Fatal Alliance was great!

    Star Wars Fatal Alliance was a great read with many good characters in it, ones that i got to know about the more i read. Mostly what happened in this book is there are many people going after one device and and the Republic is trying to get it first so the Empire won't have an upperhand. I like this book alot and maybe it is just because i am a diehard Star Wars fan but i strongly recommend this book to anyone who loves action, adventure, or just Star Wars. Some things that i didn't like in this book was that it got a little slow in the middle, but a good thing is that it would pick righ tback up after it got a little bit boring. I would give this book an overall reating of 4.5 and i recommend the other books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    Picking it up tonight!

    I love star wars and from reading the reviews, I will probably like this one too. I am really confused as to how so many people are giving bad ratings to a book that wasn't even released when they posted....are you all phsycic?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    Great book!

    I didnt really like the novelization of TFU... but the author weaves together some great story telling with some awesome characters. The epilogue surprised me a little. Hoping to see more of Jet Nebula too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2