Customer Reviews for

Star Wars The Old Republic #3: Revan

Average Rating 4
( 172 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Expected Ending, Great Book

Drew Karpyshyn is easily the best writer for the Star Wars Franchise. Revan is a great book that picks up from the end of Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic and ties in with Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic II: The Sith Lords. People give it flack for the ending...
Drew Karpyshyn is easily the best writer for the Star Wars Franchise. Revan is a great book that picks up from the end of Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic and ties in with Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic II: The Sith Lords. People give it flack for the ending not being what they wanted, however these people are vastly ignorant. This is a tie in book with the new MMORPG by Bioware and Lucas Arts, Star Wars The Old Republic. If you've played the original Knights of the Old Republic 1 and 2, as well as know anything about The Old Republic, then you can predict the ending. Anyone saying anything bad about the book because the ending isn't lollipops and unicorns should be ignored. If you don't like the ending it should be because it was poorly written, not because you wanted rainbows and mermaids.

This is a great book and a must read for any Star Wars fan, especially fans of Drew and the original Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic series.

posted by Vito_Haynes on December 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Ending was a Major let down.

Drew Karpshyn has a talent of writing incredible stories no doubt. The Knights of the Old Republic brand as well as Revan as easily my favorite Star Wars brands due to their stories. However, I felt as if the ending was a major let down in how you would want to see such...
Drew Karpshyn has a talent of writing incredible stories no doubt. The Knights of the Old Republic brand as well as Revan as easily my favorite Star Wars brands due to their stories. However, I felt as if the ending was a major let down in how you would want to see such an incredible figure such as Revan end his story.

posted by Ldcrs826 on November 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 172 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted December 10, 2011

    Expected Ending, Great Book

    Drew Karpyshyn is easily the best writer for the Star Wars Franchise. Revan is a great book that picks up from the end of Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic and ties in with Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic II: The Sith Lords. People give it flack for the ending not being what they wanted, however these people are vastly ignorant. This is a tie in book with the new MMORPG by Bioware and Lucas Arts, Star Wars The Old Republic. If you've played the original Knights of the Old Republic 1 and 2, as well as know anything about The Old Republic, then you can predict the ending. Anyone saying anything bad about the book because the ending isn't lollipops and unicorns should be ignored. If you don't like the ending it should be because it was poorly written, not because you wanted rainbows and mermaids.

    This is a great book and a must read for any Star Wars fan, especially fans of Drew and the original Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic series.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2011

    Ending was a Major let down.

    Drew Karpshyn has a talent of writing incredible stories no doubt. The Knights of the Old Republic brand as well as Revan as easily my favorite Star Wars brands due to their stories. However, I felt as if the ending was a major let down in how you would want to see such an incredible figure such as Revan end his story.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    PROs : Action packed. Lots of great info on Sith culture. Exc

    PROs : Action packed. Lots of great info on Sith culture. Excellent Mandalorian scenes. Interesting characters. Never boring. Quick read. Well written. I liked how each chapter it swapped back and forth between Scourge and Revan.

    CONs : Odd ending. I would have liked more scenes with Jedi knights. Not too many "good guys" in this story.

    CONCLUSION : Very entertaining. If you are at all interested in the ancient history of Star Wars, definitely pick this one up. Chronologically, this is one of the first Star Wars books you should be reading. 4 stars. 12/19/12

    (SIDE NOTE : It disgusts me how many spoilers are blatantly revealed in some of the reviews for this book. Be VERY careful reading some of the reviews here. )

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Let down

    I am sorry to those who enjoyed this novel, but for me this story seemed like a slap in the face. I've been aching for a novel or game that would continue the story for Revan, but this just felt rushed, and also seemed to disregard the value of these well established characters in favor of setting up a new mmo game.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Small story

    THe story ended without using the total book. It is like a short story. After Raven was finished, there are several short intro stories (star wars) that I have already read. this was a waste of gift card if I could get a credit for the book I would. don't buy.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    269 Pages of Pure Satisfaction.

    Revan is amazing from beginning to end, and fills in a lot of the gaps of the Old Republic storyline. It also brings Revan's saga to a conclusion. My only disappointment is that the copywrite page says that there is an excerpt from the new Darth Plageius novel included, which there is not. Maybe it is only found in the print edition, since all the ebooks have the "introduction to..." excerpts at the end. Worth the money and a MUST BUY!!!

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    this book is amazing its awesome from begining to the very end

    awesome way to end a amazing trilogy of books!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing book amazing charecters amazing storyline!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this book seriously is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    revan and malak is a great story. but when you take away the mys

    revan and malak is a great story. but when you take away the mystery it makes it intrusting and ruins the story. the old republic video game ruins star wars and the revan story it should stay the same way. revan is one of the best story's ever told but i think the story of revan is fun an many mysteries it really is great but this book na its just to get people to buy it when you stamp revan on it.(die hard revan fans keep revans story a mystery and make it up yourself much better that way)

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2012

    Overall I thought this story was decent but disappointing. Not

    Overall I thought this story was decent but disappointing. Not being a huge Revan fan, I found the way his story was handled to be pretty well done. They gave him some personality, delved into his relationship with Bastila and Canderous and told a decent story if a bit rushed in a lot of places.

    I am an Exile fan, though and I wish they had not bothered to include her. She was a prop. She lacked personality, motivation or ANY sort of non-generic Jedi cookie cutter crap. About the most we get out of her personality wise is that she feels a little jealous that Bastila and Revan have something that she could never have with him (eye-roll). I could have dealt with her fate a lot better had she or her story been fleshed out at all.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Where to begin? ***Spoiler advisory***

    Before I made this purchase I read a review that stated "Revan deserved better." I couldn't agree more. I loved Knights of the Old Republic. Now, I'm not one of those fans who demands perfection, and I try judge individual works upon there own merits.

    Here are my issues. Lord Scourge did not seem to be your typical Sith Lord. For someone of his status he was unsure of himself and his abilities, and at times even cowardly. I understand the writer's take on the character's thought of self-preservation but I expected more from Scourge.

    The untimely death of Meetra Surik, the Exile from KotoR II, seem undeserving as well. For her to be strucken down in the manner in which she was seemed unfair to fans and readers. With her abilities she should have sensed the attack on her coming. Even with the situation the were facing.

    Now finally to Revan. From what I understand he is making a appearance in the online game The Old Republic. Giving the time difference of this story and TOR this is an obvious way to get him there. I know the Emperor was more powerful than Revan, but it seemed unlikely that he would have let Revan alive or even in the state he did.

    I loved all three Darth Bane books written by the author, but it seems to me this book was written as filler. Many of us wondered what happen to Revan after KotoR and now we have an idea. I would have rather seen a third game. Over all I enjoyed it, but it could have been so much better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    AMAZING BOOK

    Revan is, by far, my favorite Star Wars charcter of all time and I thought that the book was, from beginning to end, AMAZING!!! It incoperated charaters from both Kights of the Old Republic 1 and 2 which made it better including The Exile, now named Meetra Surik. The ending was also very nerveraking and suspensful.

    The one and only reason someone would give it a 1 or 2 star rating is if they took no intrest in the video games. This book helped answer questions after KOTOR 1 and before and after KOTOR 2. Other than that it shouldn't be ratedless than 3 stars. Overall, AMAZING!!! Great job Drew!!!

    I really hope that Drew writes books on Revan before and during the Mandalorian wars and during his time as Darth Revan. Drew is the only author that I can see writing any books on either Revan or Darth Revan and I think he did an amazing job. I never wrote a review before, but this one was worthy of one. I also highly recommend Darth Plagueis by James Luceno, very good book goes right with the Darth Bane Trilogy.

    Biggest Revan/DarthRevan fan EVER,

    Andrew Jordan

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Doesnr Doesnt follow the game

    This was a very disapointing book. Yet another author that thinks good scifi involves killing everyone for the shock factor. It barely follows the games. Starts out ok but ends in the predictable "Ill kill everyone and shock the fans" way. These characters had soooo much potential and soo much more could have been done with them. How it got approved this way as a one book deal is a mystery.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    Cant wait. Always wanted to know his final fate.

    As for length, it will probably be close to around 350 pages like the other two books in this series.

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    Cant wait for it to come out.

    Ive been reading star wars books for a while and all the time ive heard stuff about hyperspace wars and darth revan. Its about time they did a book on darth revan.

    2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing book from begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    awesome from the very begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    This isn't the Revan you knew and loved.

    After spending so much time with Revan and Exile, we needed a fitting end - Either go down in a blaze of glory or save the day. This story did neither. To say the least, the ending was unsatisfying. The main conflict resolves with a fizzle, and many KOTOR fans will feel that they were better off not knowing.

    The book also suffers from, oddly enough, a lack of Revan. The book is about Revan. Sort of.

    All in all, it's an incredibly lackluster novel for what was a terrific character. I can only hope for a Jedi mind wipe so I can remember Revan as a force to be reckoned with. Not this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    This book has a much lower rating on amazon, the reviews here are Jaded

    Don't waste your time, the book ends in a gaint diablo ex machina (the force itself forces the good guys to all die for shock value)

    Then if you wanna know what happens next you gotta buy a $60 game which then costs $15 a month.

    Now you know why this book only has a three star rating on Amazon. Oh btw, it had a one star rating for the first week until the paid 'reviewers' showed up since the game you gotta buy cost $550 million dollars... so yeah their is money to make back so they overwhelmed the reviews with hundreds of fallacy reviews 'like best book ever' with no details or 'drew wrote other great star wars books and now these' clearly implying since the last where good these MUST be too. Anyways the fans of Revan who just had him rectonned in this book fought back those reviews on amazon with a passion and have kept the reviews there kinda in check but on BN less people did so... so the reviews here are mostly copy pastes of the 'great' fallacy reviews on amazon

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Everything a KOTOR Fan needs.

    The fans of Knights of the Old Republic will not be dissappointed with this beautiful novel as it continues the story they never wanted to end. It bridges the two games and shows the fate of the Savior of the Galaxy, Revan, and Republic hero, The Exile, of which finally gets an OFFICIAL name! T3, HK, Bastila, Canderous and many other classic characters are either mentioned and/or seen in this novel and all the nostalgia will send the reader into what feels like a KOTOR 3 adventure. Having played both KOTOR games, I finally feel closure in knowing exactly happens in their final chapter. This is a must-read, it is Revan's finest hour!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Drew does it again!!

    Drew Karpyshyn has never let me down from mass effect to star wars his books are so entertaining and so well written Darth Bane is a classic trilogy and this book is too the plot is so well thought out and extremely intricate I am excited about annihilation because all of his books are GREAT reads not to mention some of my favorite video games are bc of him would give it 6 stars if i could

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 172 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9