Customer Reviews for

Star Wars The Old Republic #3: Revan

Average Rating 4
( 172 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Expected Ending, Great Book

Drew Karpyshyn is easily the best writer for the Star Wars Franchise. Revan is a great book that picks up from the end of Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic and ties in with Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic II: The Sith Lords. People give it flack for the ending...
Drew Karpyshyn is easily the best writer for the Star Wars Franchise. Revan is a great book that picks up from the end of Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic and ties in with Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic II: The Sith Lords. People give it flack for the ending not being what they wanted, however these people are vastly ignorant. This is a tie in book with the new MMORPG by Bioware and Lucas Arts, Star Wars The Old Republic. If you've played the original Knights of the Old Republic 1 and 2, as well as know anything about The Old Republic, then you can predict the ending. Anyone saying anything bad about the book because the ending isn't lollipops and unicorns should be ignored. If you don't like the ending it should be because it was poorly written, not because you wanted rainbows and mermaids.

This is a great book and a must read for any Star Wars fan, especially fans of Drew and the original Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic series.

posted by Vito_Haynes on December 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Ending was a Major let down.

Drew Karpshyn has a talent of writing incredible stories no doubt. The Knights of the Old Republic brand as well as Revan as easily my favorite Star Wars brands due to their stories. However, I felt as if the ending was a major let down in how you would want to see such...
Drew Karpshyn has a talent of writing incredible stories no doubt. The Knights of the Old Republic brand as well as Revan as easily my favorite Star Wars brands due to their stories. However, I felt as if the ending was a major let down in how you would want to see such an incredible figure such as Revan end his story.

posted by Ldcrs826 on November 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Let down

    I am sorry to those who enjoyed this novel, but for me this story seemed like a slap in the face. I've been aching for a novel or game that would continue the story for Revan, but this just felt rushed, and also seemed to disregard the value of these well established characters in favor of setting up a new mmo game.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Small story

    THe story ended without using the total book. It is like a short story. After Raven was finished, there are several short intro stories (star wars) that I have already read. this was a waste of gift card if I could get a credit for the book I would. don't buy.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Doesnr Doesnt follow the game

    This was a very disapointing book. Yet another author that thinks good scifi involves killing everyone for the shock factor. It barely follows the games. Starts out ok but ends in the predictable "Ill kill everyone and shock the fans" way. These characters had soooo much potential and soo much more could have been done with them. How it got approved this way as a one book deal is a mystery.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    This isn't the Revan you knew and loved.

    After spending so much time with Revan and Exile, we needed a fitting end - Either go down in a blaze of glory or save the day. This story did neither. To say the least, the ending was unsatisfying. The main conflict resolves with a fizzle, and many KOTOR fans will feel that they were better off not knowing.

    The book also suffers from, oddly enough, a lack of Revan. The book is about Revan. Sort of.

    All in all, it's an incredibly lackluster novel for what was a terrific character. I can only hope for a Jedi mind wipe so I can remember Revan as a force to be reckoned with. Not this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    This book has a much lower rating on amazon, the reviews here are Jaded

    Don't waste your time, the book ends in a gaint diablo ex machina (the force itself forces the good guys to all die for shock value)

    Then if you wanna know what happens next you gotta buy a $60 game which then costs $15 a month.

    Now you know why this book only has a three star rating on Amazon. Oh btw, it had a one star rating for the first week until the paid 'reviewers' showed up since the game you gotta buy cost $550 million dollars... so yeah their is money to make back so they overwhelmed the reviews with hundreds of fallacy reviews 'like best book ever' with no details or 'drew wrote other great star wars books and now these' clearly implying since the last where good these MUST be too. Anyways the fans of Revan who just had him rectonned in this book fought back those reviews on amazon with a passion and have kept the reviews there kinda in check but on BN less people did so... so the reviews here are mostly copy pastes of the 'great' fallacy reviews on amazon

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    I was so disappointed in this story. You read about Revan in th

    I was so disappointed in this story. You read about Revan in the Darth Bane trilogy and you get this impression about him that was so not expressed in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    I kept waiting for the novel to start, but I only made it to the

    I kept waiting for the novel to start, but I only made it to the train wreck of an ending. It had so much potential but it fell short on all counts.
    Wish I would have saved my money and put it toward that damn revan action figure. That little turd is like a hundred bucks on ebay!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Lets take take two amazing adult characters and DERP them for 11 year olds playing MMOs

    This book gives next to no resolution and forces you to buy a game (that requires additional money to finish it) if you want the rest of the plot.

    Worse its akin to killing off every character from your favorite trilogy all to set up minor and boss characters in the video game and adapting their characters heavily prior to that. Next off this book often does the classic mistake of telling rather than showing (so you expect an awesome fight and instead get this character is so awesome they can use both the light and dark side of the force... without mentioning a single power they actually used).

    My advise, read the wookieepedia entry instead if you where a fan of KotOR I or II. If you read it, it will sucker punch you over and over with its horrible story telling of established characters. If your a fan of SW:TOR play KotOR I & 2 to get where Im coming from before just jumping to the defence of this book. If you work for Disney... please retcon this book and TOR the game when you eventually make KotOR into a trilogy in the future (its a) way too long to adapt and b) as upsetting to many as the prequal are to OT fans)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1