Customer Reviews for

Star Wars The Old Republic #3: Revan

Average Rating 4
( 177 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(103)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Expected Ending, Great Book

Drew Karpyshyn is easily the best writer for the Star Wars Franchise. Revan is a great book that picks up from the end of Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic and ties in with Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic II: The Sith Lords. People give it flack for the ending...
Drew Karpyshyn is easily the best writer for the Star Wars Franchise. Revan is a great book that picks up from the end of Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic and ties in with Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic II: The Sith Lords. People give it flack for the ending not being what they wanted, however these people are vastly ignorant. This is a tie in book with the new MMORPG by Bioware and Lucas Arts, Star Wars The Old Republic. If you've played the original Knights of the Old Republic 1 and 2, as well as know anything about The Old Republic, then you can predict the ending. Anyone saying anything bad about the book because the ending isn't lollipops and unicorns should be ignored. If you don't like the ending it should be because it was poorly written, not because you wanted rainbows and mermaids.

This is a great book and a must read for any Star Wars fan, especially fans of Drew and the original Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic series.

posted by Vito_Haynes on December 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Ending was a Major let down.

Drew Karpshyn has a talent of writing incredible stories no doubt. The Knights of the Old Republic brand as well as Revan as easily my favorite Star Wars brands due to their stories. However, I felt as if the ending was a major let down in how you would want to see such...
Drew Karpshyn has a talent of writing incredible stories no doubt. The Knights of the Old Republic brand as well as Revan as easily my favorite Star Wars brands due to their stories. However, I felt as if the ending was a major let down in how you would want to see such an incredible figure such as Revan end his story.

posted by Ldcrs826 on November 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted December 10, 2011

    Expected Ending, Great Book

    Drew Karpyshyn is easily the best writer for the Star Wars Franchise. Revan is a great book that picks up from the end of Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic and ties in with Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic II: The Sith Lords. People give it flack for the ending not being what they wanted, however these people are vastly ignorant. This is a tie in book with the new MMORPG by Bioware and Lucas Arts, Star Wars The Old Republic. If you've played the original Knights of the Old Republic 1 and 2, as well as know anything about The Old Republic, then you can predict the ending. Anyone saying anything bad about the book because the ending isn't lollipops and unicorns should be ignored. If you don't like the ending it should be because it was poorly written, not because you wanted rainbows and mermaids.

    This is a great book and a must read for any Star Wars fan, especially fans of Drew and the original Star Wars Knights of the Old Republic series.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    269 Pages of Pure Satisfaction.

    Revan is amazing from beginning to end, and fills in a lot of the gaps of the Old Republic storyline. It also brings Revan's saga to a conclusion. My only disappointment is that the copywrite page says that there is an excerpt from the new Darth Plageius novel included, which there is not. Maybe it is only found in the print edition, since all the ebooks have the "introduction to..." excerpts at the end. Worth the money and a MUST BUY!!!

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    this book is amazing its awesome from begining to the very end

    awesome way to end a amazing trilogy of books!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing book amazing charecters amazing storyline!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this book seriously is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    AMAZING BOOK

    Revan is, by far, my favorite Star Wars charcter of all time and I thought that the book was, from beginning to end, AMAZING!!! It incoperated charaters from both Kights of the Old Republic 1 and 2 which made it better including The Exile, now named Meetra Surik. The ending was also very nerveraking and suspensful.

    The one and only reason someone would give it a 1 or 2 star rating is if they took no intrest in the video games. This book helped answer questions after KOTOR 1 and before and after KOTOR 2. Other than that it shouldn't be ratedless than 3 stars. Overall, AMAZING!!! Great job Drew!!!

    I really hope that Drew writes books on Revan before and during the Mandalorian wars and during his time as Darth Revan. Drew is the only author that I can see writing any books on either Revan or Darth Revan and I think he did an amazing job. I never wrote a review before, but this one was worthy of one. I also highly recommend Darth Plagueis by James Luceno, very good book goes right with the Darth Bane Trilogy.

    Biggest Revan/DarthRevan fan EVER,

    Andrew Jordan

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2011

    Cant wait. Always wanted to know his final fate.

    As for length, it will probably be close to around 350 pages like the other two books in this series.

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    Cant wait for it to come out.

    Ive been reading star wars books for a while and all the time ive heard stuff about hyperspace wars and darth revan. Its about time they did a book on darth revan.

    2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing book from begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    awesome from the very begining to the very end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    Everything a KOTOR Fan needs.

    The fans of Knights of the Old Republic will not be dissappointed with this beautiful novel as it continues the story they never wanted to end. It bridges the two games and shows the fate of the Savior of the Galaxy, Revan, and Republic hero, The Exile, of which finally gets an OFFICIAL name! T3, HK, Bastila, Canderous and many other classic characters are either mentioned and/or seen in this novel and all the nostalgia will send the reader into what feels like a KOTOR 3 adventure. Having played both KOTOR games, I finally feel closure in knowing exactly happens in their final chapter. This is a must-read, it is Revan's finest hour!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    Drew does it again!!

    Drew Karpyshyn has never let me down from mass effect to star wars his books are so entertaining and so well written Darth Bane is a classic trilogy and this book is too the plot is so well thought out and extremely intricate I am excited about annihilation because all of his books are GREAT reads not to mention some of my favorite video games are bc of him would give it 6 stars if i could

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Really great story

    Any fan of the knights of the old republic games will enjoy this book, it is fantastic

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    If you want know more about the Emperor this book is a must read

    this book gives you insight in the emperor's past and what happen before the second hyperspace war. if in you're into star wars history read this book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Great Story, Finally More About Revan

    This was a great story, and an awesome continuation of the stories of KotoR and KotoR 2. The fact that the Exile from KotoR 2 actually plays a big part is great. And for those complaining that the ending is too open, it's supposed to be. This novel is also supposed to be a prequel to The Old Republic MMO. There's a mission in the game devoted to Revan's final fate. So if you loved the Knights of the Old Republic Games, you should read this.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Revan

    I loved the book. However i never understood the ending. So its just over like that? Atleast make a malak one.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing book to end a amazing book trilogy based off a amazing video game

    awesome book trilogy also check out the lewgacy of the force series!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    Heck Yes!! Boo-Yah!! For The Win!! =D

    Yayyy!! It's about time they wrote a book about me!, Lord Revan! This book is going to be Amazing! I've never read anything by the author but I've heard he's good and since it's a story about me that automatically makes it 3PIC status. =D I'm SO excited for this bookkkkk!! =) =) =)

    1 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2014

    Revan

    I was a little bit bummed of how in other books revan is known as a sith symbol (which led me to this book) but in this book there was a lack of the awesome badass revan i expected to see. But what really impressed me was how it perfectly linked to swotr series. You should definitly buy the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2014

    If you are a fan of KOTOR, you will love this!

    The Knights of the Old Republic was one of my favorite games, and if you enjoyed those games (KOTOR 1&2), then you will love this book. If you did not play the games, you will need to look up the storylines of the two games, cause otherwise this book makes no sense. The first half of the book fills in some of the gaps between KOTOR 1 and 2. The second half of the book takes place after KOTOR 2 and sets up the backstory to The Old Republic (TOR), the new MMORPG. You get some neat perspective on Sith philosophy as well as the mind of Revan is someone who has seen both sides and chosen to simply be a force user.
    I don't want to spoil this book for you, but I loved it so much I finished it in a day, and I want to share with you one of the most powerful and chill giving lines I read in the book. There is a scene where some characters are battling a sith, and the sith shoots force lightning at them, and Revan jumps in front of the lightning and catches it in his hands (much to the surprise of the sith), and Revan is wearing his mask just like the book cover shows, and Revan says to the Sith "I am Revan Reborn. Beneath me, you are nothing". He then proceeds to shoot back the lightning. Anyway, Revan is a boss, and not to be messed with. There are plenty of awesome moments in the book, and as fans of the game characters you will enjoy reading about Canderous's transformation to Mandalore, Bastilla with her kid, Meetra Surik (the Exile from KOTOR 2), and T3-M4. The book is great, so hurry up and read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    As a huge fan of the KOTR games, it was really great to see a ca

    As a huge fan of the KOTR games, it was really great to see a canon continuation of Revan's story. I did not play the Old Republic MMORPG but I still found this to be an enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Wcsdrghyf

    Fjef

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6