BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Star Wars The Truce at Bakura

Average Rating 4
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    The Truce at Bakura literally picks up where we left off with ou

    The Truce at Bakura literally picks up where we left off with our intrepid heros at the end of Return of the Jedi. Hours after the Second Death Star blows up, we find Luke, Leia, Han, Chewie, and the droids heading off to Bakura to answer a distress call.

    I found this a very entertaining novel and true to the characters from the films. The problems they deal with are very real and beleivable in the context of the films. The precarious status of the Alliance at this stage of the game is an important factor in this novel. They are not the New Republic yet. The realization that just because the Emperor is dead the war isn't over is a large one for our friends and it's a problem the Alliance will be dealing with for years to come.

    The regular cast is true to their characters, far more so than some of the SW universe books I have read. I happen to have a hard time with dialogue that I can't hear coming from the mouths of the characters from the films. Just me, I know some people are more lenient on that point than others. but if you feel the way I do, you will not be disapointed in this book as the characters are quite true to the ones we know from the films.

    The other characters in the book are equally well written. The Imperial commander who called for help in battling the aliens is very well portrayed. (Sorry I don't have the book in front of me and can't remember his name for the life of me.) You never can decide which way he is going to jump, because he doesn't know yet himself. I found him a very fascinating character. I did think the aliens were a bit cookie-cutter in their total evilness, there wasn't a lot of character development there.

    In other subplots, the Han-Leia romance is gently pushed ahead; meanwhile once again Luke loses the girl but this time she has some spunk behind her and seems to be destined for better things. I also found Leia's struggle to accept the news about Vader being her father to be very natural given that she just got this tidbit dumped on her a few hours ago.

    All in all the various narratives that wind through this novel are all good and keep you interested. I recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    A must read, for Star Wars fans

    A must read, for Star Wars fans

    This is how Star Wars moves forward after Return of the Jedi.
    This reveals much. For starter it shows that Palpatline's lightning hurt Luke more than was apparent in The Battle of Endor. Next this shows how the Alliance still has a war to fight, the destruction of the Sith didn't end the empire. It goes on to show how some imperial citizens believe they need the empire, that the Jedi were evil.

    Anakin visits Leah as a ghost. Leah starts to come to terms with Vader/Anakin being her father. Luke, Leah and Han stop an invasion and liberate a whole planet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    great book

    I believe this book is a great sequel to return of the jedi. It really makes you believe you are in the book watching the whole thing. I GIVE THIS BOOK 5 STARS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic way to continue a legacy!

    All characters are true to themselves. The writing is easy to understand and flows seamlessly from one scene to the next. Absolutely wonderful read for any Star Wars junky like myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not exactly the best Star Wars book I have ever read but not the worst either

    I thought that the characters in this novel were not developed very well, even the more familiar ones. I thought that it was a good idea to have a story that took place the day after the events in Return of the Jedi, but this one did not have the interesting characters like the ones introduced by Timothy Zahn, Christie Golden, or Troy Denning. If you want a good Kathy Tyers Star Wars novel, read "Balance Point".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2007

    one of the most important eu novels to read to date of the expended universe

    must read awesome book great battle sequences awesome dialogue love this book it is a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2006

    Pretty good book.

    I don t know how the rest of the book is, but I am on page 61, and this Ssi Ruuk battle droid human entechment thing, feels kinda satanic. I am going to skip alot of it, but I hope it s better at the end. Besides the Spirits of humans flying battle droids, it has been a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2007

    Good story

    Fits right in after Return of the Jedi. Good story to read before the X-wing series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2005

    Lame but okay at end

    This book is good around the last 150 pgs or so. Before then, its a complete bore. Not a must read, the encounter with the Fluties in the NJO is better and has more depth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2005

    Decent Star Wars book

    This is a good book for star wars fans. I enjoyed it and read the whole thing in a week it was hard to put down. Its recomended n my opinion!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2005

    An enjoyable adventure

    The Rebel Alliance has no time to regroup after the second Death Star's destruction. An alien invasion force bears down upon a fringe world called Bakura, and the Empire - reeling from the loss of its emperor - can't send help in time. The Alliance responds instead, with a task force commanded by Luke Skywalker and a diplomatic mission in the person of Leia Organa. Both Skywalker twins are reeling right along with the Empire, though. Luke suffers from the physical aftereffects of the Emperor's energy bolts, and Leia grapples with her horror at learning that Darth Vader - the man who tortured her, and who destroyed her adopted home-world of Alderaan - was also Anakin Skywalker. Her father. Although it doesn't seem to be part of 'canon' for the Star Wars universe, this book nevertheless offers readers an enjoyable adventure. Force-talented Dev Sibwarra's enslavement by the Ssi-ruuk, and the horror of how these cold-blooded aliens use their human captives, had me turning pages to find out what would happen next. Luke and Leia, Han and Chewie stayed in character throughout the story. Good reading if you're looking for an SF adventure featuring the Star Wars characters. But don't pick it up expecting a major installment in their saga.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2003

    Wonderful!

    Kathy Tyers did an excellent job expanding the Star Wars universe. This book is hard to put down. The concept of 'entechment' used by the reptillian Ssi-Ruuk is downright erie. I love the way she writes Luke and Han, but why is Leia so grouchy? She seemed really touchy, but then, I suppose I would be too. The sense of foreboding in this book is very well done. I would recommened any Star Wars fan to read this book. If you want to start reading into the EU, this is the place to start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2002

    Leia!Luke!Han!Are you helping the Empire!?

    The main character of this story changes from the beginning to the end by starting off against the empire and never even thinking about helping them but, soon changes his mind after he defeats the emperor and discovers that the planet of Bakura, currently controlled by the empire, is under attack by an almost unstopable army. The setting of this book is mostly in space, just outside of Bakura's atmosphere but, also takes place on Bakura, in spaceships, and at other planets, such as Corescant. The theme of the story is probably fantasy because of all the supernatural happenings, objects, and powers. The author is Timothy Zahn.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2001

    Must read it to appreciate several other books

    I encourage star wars fans to read this book not just because it's a good read but also because of the events that unfold are mentioned in several later books without detail. It is written well in a quasi-complex manner where several character's experiences and thoughts that are kept issolated until the conclusion. All in all worth the few hours time to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2001

    By far the worst Star Wars Novel ever

    I was very disapointed with this book. It was very boring and at times it did not make any sense. Skip if you do not want to be bored out of your mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2001

    One of the best SW books (Even though all of them are great!)

    This book was terrific! It had comedy, adventure, romance you name it. At first though I got a bit confused with the entechment but after it was well explained. If anyone has doubts about buying this book I recomend them to get. You won't regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2000

    Truce At Bakura

    'If you're looking for action and adventure after Return of the Jedi, this book is a must-read!'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2000

    The Most Detailed of the Series I Have Read

    This is one of the most intertwined books I have read. This author displays her capability of putting together many sides of a story and making them all link together to form a truly enthralling book. Truly one of the Greatest of the Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2000

    And the Award Goes to... The Truce at Bakura

    The story takes off one day after the fight and the destruction of the second deathstar. The rebels recieve a transmission from a group called BAKURANS to the empire in need of asistance. Ben tells Luke to go to Bakura to help them out... And from that point on the book is a stay in the edge of your seat page-turner that will keep you guessing and guessing.I would recommend this book to any of my friends. A must for Star Wars fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2000

    ONE OF THE GREATEST STAR WARS BOOK EVER

    one if the best books i ever read and the story was just amazing and it followed along with the star wars trilogy a great book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3