Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Thrawn Trilogy #1: Heir to the Empire

Average Rating 4.5
( 201 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(144)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

A must have for any Star Wars fan (Especially original trilogy!!!)

The very first book in the Extended Star Wars Universe. And definitely worthy of praise. Takes place 5 years after Return of the Jedi and plunges readers into the aftermath of the Battle of Endor. Strongly recommend reading this and the other 2 that follow it (Dark Forc...
The very first book in the Extended Star Wars Universe. And definitely worthy of praise. Takes place 5 years after Return of the Jedi and plunges readers into the aftermath of the Battle of Endor. Strongly recommend reading this and the other 2 that follow it (Dark Force Rising and The Last Command) for the best trilogy in the Extended Universe to date.

posted by AngelofLight on July 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A little disappointing

It was fun to continue the story that we love so much, but the ending was disappointing. Easy read and great for Jr. High aged kids.

posted by BettyWalker on December 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 201 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted July 13, 2009

    A must have for any Star Wars fan (Especially original trilogy!!!)

    The very first book in the Extended Star Wars Universe. And definitely worthy of praise. Takes place 5 years after Return of the Jedi and plunges readers into the aftermath of the Battle of Endor. Strongly recommend reading this and the other 2 that follow it (Dark Force Rising and The Last Command) for the best trilogy in the Extended Universe to date.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2008

    The Adventure Continues

    I read this when it first came out and this spoiled me for every other Star Wars story or movie because of the depth of character and plot. Read it. Enjoy it. Relish it. We also get introduced to one of the best of the post-movie characters, Mara Jade, Luke's complex, haunted, beautiful soul mate-in-training.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Amazing!!!!!!!

    This review is coming from a starwars fanatic and i have to say that thos triolgy is one of te best starwars collections of all time. It gives insoght on the past of Luke Skywalkers wife,Mara Jade, explains one of the toughest times in new rep. History and explains many thimgs that come later in the era. Wish i culd give morethan 5 stars

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    A little disappointing

    It was fun to continue the story that we love so much, but the ending was disappointing. Easy read and great for Jr. High aged kids.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    We need this one to be turned into a spinoff movie

    If there was any Star Wars book series, post Return of the Jedi, that deserved a movie this trilogy is it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2003

    Zahn is a Star Wars author God (Besides Lucas)

    This book not only has the traditional characters from the Star Wars Saga but also introduces some new, vital characters to the Expanded Universe. This book is great to those that want to see action but that is not what Zahn's strong point is. He is a mastermind in the political side of the Star Wars universe. Overall Zahn has made a great book and a great Triliogy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Lord of the rings(I'm a HUGE fan)

    ;);););););););););););););););););););););)

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Awesome

    The Thrawm trilogy is better than the prequels were or the sequel trilogy will be. Read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    make this episode 7

    Immense enjoyment of all three of these books in the series. Zahn is an excellent writer, one of the best that pens for the Star Wars extended universe.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Anonymous

    Wow. Just amazing

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    The Saga Continues

    I am glad George Lucas let the universe expand the way he did! I don't kniw if I will ever get to read all of the books, but it is fun trying too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    This should've been the new trilogy

    Read this when I was in high school, and was entranced. Highly recommended for any true Star Wars fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Great

    Great

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Great book, great series, great author

    These three books making the trilogy should be the next three movies to come out. Thrawn is one of my favorite enemies to exist, and this series was my first to be introduced to him.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Star Wars, Reborn!

    Heir to the Empire is the book that totally brought Star Wars back to life in the years since the final Original Trilogy movie, Return of the Jedi! Even all these years later, the Thrawn Trilogy remains the gold standard by which all Star Wars novels since have been judged.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must read for any Star Wars Fan

    This is the book I could not put down. It was so exciting that I finished it in two days. It introduces two first class villians into the Star Wars universe- Grand Admiral Thrawn and Jorus C'Boath. Their motives are unique, mysterious, and very challenging to those who oppose them. This is Timothy Zahn at his best.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2002

    Star wars at its best

    I found this book stuffed up in my bookshelf gathering dust in late May, and didn't put it down for a week. Since then I have read 12 other Star Wars books and have made at least two new friends all because of this book. The way Zahn writes is incredible, and I wish Lucas would consider making at least this trilogy into a movie series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    To starwarsguy

    Skye Fragor is a sixteen year old girl. Skye has raven black straight hair and black eyes. She is a Jedi, daughter of a Sith Lord and a Sith Lady. Anything else you make up. -Skye

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2014

    Starwarsguy

    Skye turned to the good side

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 201 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11