BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Thrawn Trilogy #1: Heir to the Empire: The 20th Anniversary Edition

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Best Star Wars book to date

This is, in my opinion, the best Star Wars book in the extended universe. From well defined characters to a variety of settings, this book really stands out from the crowd. I liked how Thrawn resembled Shirlock Holmes in a way and Talon Kard had a lot in common with Han...
This is, in my opinion, the best Star Wars book in the extended universe. From well defined characters to a variety of settings, this book really stands out from the crowd. I liked how Thrawn resembled Shirlock Holmes in a way and Talon Kard had a lot in common with Han Solo, except with a lot more luck. The cat and mouse chase between them was great. I highly recommend this book!

posted by 8039668 on June 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Haven't Read it!

I have no Idea what this is about!

posted by 6183780 on June 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Best Star Wars book to date

    This is, in my opinion, the best Star Wars book in the extended universe. From well defined characters to a variety of settings, this book really stands out from the crowd. I liked how Thrawn resembled Shirlock Holmes in a way and Talon Kard had a lot in common with Han Solo, except with a lot more luck. The cat and mouse chase between them was great. I highly recommend this book!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    A must for EU fans

    Timothy Zahn has done amazing things for the Star Wars Universe and this book started it all. The prequal trilogy may not have come out if Zahn had not done such a wonderful job on this book. The 40th anniversary intro and annotations give great insight into Zahn's mind while he was writing this; but you should be cautious if you are new to the EU because there are a few spoilers in the annotations. If you like the original trilogy you will love this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    Great Start to the third trilogy!

    The Star Wars story was told. There was an unwritten beginning in Episodes 1-3. Then there was Timothy Zahn's trilogy that started right here with Heir to the Empire. This book was written the way the original trilogy should have been produced. The character design is fantastic, and it carries the original story into a great new depth. There have been MANY Star Wars books written over the years, and some are hit and miss. This is definitely a hit. If you like the original trilogy, you must read this series as well. Start here, and I promise you will not want to stop at the end. You will need to go until you get through book 3.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Timothy Zahn is outstanding

    I had this book since its release that very Christmas, but I was in High School. Read for fun? Yeah right After reading Darth Maul in 15 hours after taking a college graduation trip to Europe and getting the Star Wars Expanded Universe bug. Heir for the Empire grounded me in the Ex Uni. A book that explains what happened five years later - I was hooked. Zahn can write an epic story, with the two sequel book, this story should be a movie.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Great

    This is a great book, and is really descriptive, detailed, and entertianing

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Highly recommend

    I read this when it first came out 25 years ago. What is neat about this book is the author's comments in the margins. He explains tie-ins to the movie, other novels, inconsistencies & why they occurred as well as some of the thought process behind the characters and plot. Plus the story itself is just as good as the first time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    The book that re-started it all!!

    This is the book that launched the Star Wars expanded universe 20 years ago already. If they were ever to do new Star Wars movies, "Heir to the Empire" along with "Dark Force Rising" and "The Last Command" could easily be turned into movies. Out of all the Star Wars books, this along with its other two books, read excellent and are in my opinion, the best Star Wars books to be written.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    A true extension of the Star Wars universe

    I read this book and the other two in the trilogy, and loved all three. The character design and elaboration were both amazing, as was the depth to the story. Timothy Zahn does a great job of writing the first (and, in my opinion, one of the best) expansion of the Star Wars story. I highly recommend the entire trilogy (and the extension to the trilogy) to all science fiction fans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    this book is indeed episode 7 this is best book ever written sin

    this book is indeed episode 7 this is best book ever written since the harry potter book series!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    This is a must have book for any star wars fan. This is the book

    This is a must have book for any star wars fan. This is the book that started the entire EU and is by far the best star wars book out there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    AN ABSOLUTE MUST HAVE FOR ANY STAR WARS FAN!

    Heir To The Empire by Timothy Zahn is the book that started it all, and introduced the Expanded Universe of Star Wars. When I first read this book I was blown away and could not wait to read the rest of the trilogy. I read them all in 3 days. The 20th Anniversary Edition includes footnotes by Zahn describing what he was thinking when he wrote the book and further describing important events in the story. This Special Edition also includes an exclusive story about Grand Admiral Thrawn and his victory over a rival warlord. Star Wars fans absolutely have to have this book in their collection. The bonus of having the original cover printed on the Hardback cover itself under the dust jacket is a bonus as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    A Great audiobook- worthy of Star Wars

    I have to admit that I have read both the original novel, the anniversary edition, and both audio versions of this book. The original version of this book was only three hours long and did not capture all of the story. However, the original version of the story did have a member of the cast reading the story, Dennis Lawson (Wedge), but this version of the story was very well narrated as well. I really hope the publisher decides to put out unabridged versions of the other two books in this trilogy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the best Star Wars books ever- and it has a few new additions to it.

    This is one of my favorite books of all time. What makes this addition so special is the author's notes throughout the text. He goes into his reasoning behind things that happened in the book and even noted parts that George Lucas did not approve and he had to change things around. If you looved reading the Thrawn trilogy the first time around, pick up this book and start reading it again. It also has a short story that fits in with the novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Review of the 20th anniversary edition. 4 1/2 stars. I absolute

    Review of the 20th anniversary edition.
    4 1/2 stars.

    I absolutely love it when authors and publishers decide to re-release books with annotations or other extras. For me, this commemorative edition was a wonderful addition to my Star Wars collection, perhaps because I previously had a used paperback copy, so I didn't mind buying a better copy. I found the annotations a neat "behind the scenes" look into the writing and publishing of the novel and wish that they annotated the rest of the trilogy ...

    Story:
    3 1/2 stars.

    I actually read this book last out of the Thrawn Trilogy and I remember thinking "I like the order I read it in better." I guess after reading books 2 and 3, I had high expectations and was expecting more from the beginning. However I still enjoy the trilogy as a whole (Zahn introduced one of the most memorable Star Wars villains in Grand Admiral Thrawn) and it does have the distinction of being the books that jump started Star Wars expanded universe publishing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book Made Even Better

    Star Wars Heir To The Empire is a nice, classic Star Wars novel. I enjoyed the originality of it and the way it ended.

    The book is made even better by the new forward and annotations by the author. The new Thrawn novella is what sold it for me.

    Although it's great in hardcover format, I'd suggest buying it on Kindle if you have one, it's a lot cheaper in e-book format.

    All in all it's a fun classic Star Wars book that you can't put down and leaves you exited to see what happens in it's sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    The book that started it all

    Like many, this book was my first foray into the Star Wars book universe, and I was thrilled to read this special edition. The notes fromt he author and various others were insightful and truly brought home how special this book was in the first place. Thank you Timothy Zahn for this Anniversary Edition. As a side note, the Nook version of this book works perfectly. The notes are not obtrusive (though you WILL click them as soon as you see them, simply because they are intriguing). I truly hope that Dark Force Rising also gets the Anniversary treatment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Read the comic

    I have read the comic of this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Awsome

    Starwars is graet but waht dus this mean ( complex)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2