Customer Reviews for

Star Wars Thrawn Trilogy #2: Dark Force Rising (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Great Book!!!

This book is truly one of the best novels I have ever read. I have yet to read a bad Star Wars Novel, and this book sure isn't a disappointment. Timothy Zahn does a wonderful job bringing to Star Wars universe into your home through the pages in this book!!

posted by Anonymous on August 2, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The middle drag

I loved Heir and Last Command (5 stars) but this book bored me to death, however, it is a must read in the series cause a ton of info in the universe is in the book. This is the book the Noghri really strangle on. They are also the most boring race or the exciting rac...
I loved Heir and Last Command (5 stars) but this book bored me to death, however, it is a must read in the series cause a ton of info in the universe is in the book. This is the book the Noghri really strangle on. They are also the most boring race or the exciting races in the Star Wars Universe in my opinion. Their strong and hardened combatants...Where haven't i heard this before.

posted by Anonymous on December 29, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2005

    The middle drag

    I loved Heir and Last Command (5 stars) but this book bored me to death, however, it is a must read in the series cause a ton of info in the universe is in the book. This is the book the Noghri really strangle on. They are also the most boring race or the exciting races in the Star Wars Universe in my opinion. Their strong and hardened combatants...Where haven't i heard this before.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    Great book...

    But the nook version is filled with typos, presumambly from when the book was scanned and transferred to text. The word "land" is written often where the author meant "kind." I've also noticed "die" instead of "the" and "(ace" instead of "face." I don't mean to nitpick, but it is distracting and one of the few times I would reccommend buying a paper copy over the e-book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Zahn wights some of the best books

    Zahn is one of the best wrighters, his sw books are amazing. Can't find a sw book as good as his!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Dark Force Rising by Timothy Zahn is a great example of how the Star Wars universe continues to unravel. And Zahn does just that! Part 2 of 3 in the Thrawn Trilogy dives deeper into what it is all about! I completely recommend this book to any Star Wars fan out there!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Great book, essentisl to the series

    I loved this whole series. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I builds the story in an interesting and thrilling manner.

    This part of the series has great plot twists. It is science fiction, but reads like a political thriller. It is like a Tom Clancy novel set in the Star Wars Universe.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    this is episode 8 in the thrawn trilogy

    yup this book is episode 8 in the star wars saga zahn knows how to change things around joruus is trying to kill luke skywalker but thrawn and joruus have speacil plans for skywalker and the rest of the star wars charecters i did not know what to expect when i got into this book i simply could not put it down zahn is the best of the best just read these books by timothy zahn hes one of the best star wars authors around karen travis is just as good as zahn

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    Swift and Exciting

    What would you do if all you had worked for was about to be destroyed? In Timothy Zhan¿s Dark Force Rising, Grand Admiral Thrawn is about to get his hands on the Dark Force, a fleet of over two hundred slave rigged dreadnoughts, and destroy the fragile new republic and all the rebellion has worked for. Meanwhile in a desperate effort to get Admiral Ackabar cleared of supposedly being a traitor, Han and Lando go out to get Fel¿ya back. They planned meet up with Luke to find out what Fel¿ya is doing in the outer systems. Instead all they find trouble. They have to find the captain who knows the location of the fleet before Thrawn does, otherwise it could be the end of the rebellion. This was one of the best books I¿ve ever read. I couldn¿t put it down. I recommend it to anyone who likes adventure or is a Star Wars fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2007

    Great story by Zahn!

    There's no doubt -- Timothy Zahn is the best writer of Star Wars stories. His portrayal of the original Star Wars characters is great, especially Princess Leia.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2007

    this is episode 8 in the star wars saga

    this is not a weak book nor does it have a weak storyline it is one of the greatest star wars books ever written

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2002

    Great Science Fiction Book

    I think that Star Wars-Dark Force Rising is outstanding because Timothy Zahn is very descriptive. He lets you know every detail of the book to let someone feel like their in the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2002

    Once Again........

    Once again, Timothy Zahn has written a great book. I was reading it every chance I got. My favorite characters were Thrawn and Mara Jade. This book is great!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2001

    I can't tell you how good this is!!!!!!!!!!!

    This was an excelent book. And like that reveiwer said if only there were 6 stars. ALL the way Man!!!!!!!! Please read this and all other SW books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2000

    A Great Book!!!

    This book is truly one of the best novels I have ever read. I have yet to read a bad Star Wars Novel, and this book sure isn't a disappointment. Timothy Zahn does a wonderful job bringing to Star Wars universe into your home through the pages in this book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2000

    Dark Force rises to the challenge.

    What can I say? This book is every bit as great as Heir to the Empire. This book could easily be Episode VIII in the movie series. Non-stop action, beautiful descriptions of people, places and things and unforgettable characters. I rarely give out five stars to a Star Wars novel and this is one of the few that truly deserves it. Timothy Zahn is absolutely brilliant. How much more praise can I heap onto this book? It was just that good. If you haven't read this book yet, why not? Read it and enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2000

    dark force rising

    Excellent to say the least. timothy zahn just great. puts to life not only the technology and alien life forms in these trilogies, but also makes the plots believable and noteworthy. truly a great series and a great writer. overall, a full score of five stars.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2000

    The empire rules

    Now, only if the origional star wars movies were this imperial friendly, it would been a better set of movies. This has been a great series so far

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    Nnff

    Hxhgbbccbbbfhfhfffchfcfdhhdhjhhfvc fcdffrdrffhghghyghggggghxggggggghhgggggghhvggggggghhhhggvbbvvghloiikkjjjjhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhuhjhhgjhtygjhjhhghjjtuhhhyyyyuyughhhhgjgjvbvhhvkgjgjgjgjjghghfyfgxxxxxxccccccpoooooooooooiiuuijhgffghfgghghhytttgghhhjhjjjytrghjiiutkyjlhvgyfjgjghggjgtgjhchghvvhgghghghghgjvbvhghhhhhhhgghhhhgvgvv.
    -Hameh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2014

    Where you get your mentor

    trgcfdffefuhkvgtrgreeiegerrgHdhdhhbhdvxveeddhyv n byhhwhshyfhfhfbfgfhfhcxmdjddddddhfcfbdhfhfhdbdbdbbd dnbdhdbfbdbdbdhgdbfvbudjeduhfudhfhfdyhhhffdhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhghhghggggggggfgvvvghgghjejfjhvjcjfhffjfjdhdhdbdbddhdhdjddcdchcjchfjfjffffhcjdhcchfhfjchfhchhfhchfbfjfjffbcjwjxjdjejfjfbshfbghdhhfdhdbbbbbbbbbjfhfbchxjdjhhfhfyfjfjcjffufhxhfugfxhsdhdhxhzhzhzzdffhdw 214

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    Where u get your mentor

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 115 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6