Customer Reviews for

Star Wars X-Wing #1: Rogue Squadron

Average Rating 4.5
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2001

    Stunning Book

    This book is good for Star Wars lovers. It has lots of action and continues the saga of the Star Wars trilogy. It has lots of daring characters, including the legendary Commander Wedge Antilles and a new pilot Corran Horn. So read this book and the rest in this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2001

    I love this book.

    I like this book because it has suspense, comedy, and action. I also like it because it focuses on one person, it doesn't jump around.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Its great Its great

    And funny

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    A must read for anyone wanting deep Characters and Great Storyline

    Great intro to the X-Wing Series! Great detail in the space fights w/o bogging you down with too much detail. Had difficulty putting this one down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    sweeeeeeeeeet star wars flight book

    Awesome star wars book. Has all the excitement of a movie and you take it anywhere. I was glued to the pages and never put it down. I think that the best character was corran horn and yes he is cooler than luke and wedge and he has a determined attitude. I like him cuz you know him better than the main character of every first person book you've ever read. If you like the space battles in the movies, you'll find these just as exiting only with more detail and from the front line soldiers point of view. Adios empire!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2007

    another winner from stackpole

    i loved this book thuis has got to be one of the greatest star waes novels iv ever read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2006

    Star Wars X-Wing Rogue Squadron

    This book is a story about Corren Horn making his way to the top as a hero star fighter. The rebellion has already destroyed both death stars and gathered the best of the best star fighters for these missions to attack on the Empire. As the Rebellion fights for glory, the two Universal powers fight till the end. The chances are slim for the Rebellion seeing that their minimal forces have to wipe out an entire legion. There is little hope for the Rebellion, but in these series of fights they will have to be guided by the force. The characters of this story have destructive backgrounds. Most of the star fighters in the legion have been trialed for murder or were past smugglers when they learned to fly. Corren Horn is a past smuggler where he became a top flyer in his class. Other people in this squadron have to work to earn their way into this squadron, strongfully fighting for what they believe in. These fighters have strong hate for the Empire because they killed all of their fighter¿s families and others they love. Most of the fighters want revenge to destroy the Empire for good. The rebellion will not take anything but peace between the powers, seeing that they have been fighting for over two decades. As the Rebellion in the past hasn¿t failed, these fighters aren¿t Luke Skywalker. The last encounters with the Empire were lucky victories and the Empire will not accept defeat this time. As the Rebellion continues this war, even the force is dim and even shadowed because they know without a miracle, they can¿t beat an army or legion of this capacity. Most of the fighters don¿t think they deserve Rogue Squadron because of their hurtful backgrounds, but the Rebellion will take what they can get. The Rebellion wins on the tip of a needle, but the battle isn¿t over. Most are troubled because all the rebellion can do is sit and wait for the Empire to make their next move. The Rebellion pulls it off this time but will have to fight even harder when the next battle comes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2006

    Is there a 6 star rating?

    I must say I didn't think they could make a book on a character that has little to no backstory let alone a whole series on him. This book is right up there on my top 10 favorite star wars books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2006

    New Rouge Squad

    Wedge the famous X-Wing piolet who helped the Rebellion greatly, oraganizes a new Rouge Squadron for use against the remnants of The Empire. Along the way there is the expected action/adeventure. There is also friendship and romance, and once you finsish you will want to move onto the next book in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2001

    This book rules

    This is deffinitly the best book about star wars, it got alot of space battles and stuff that makes it good, this is the best book i ever read, and the characters are cool to.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2000

    Once a great book, always agreat book.

    When I started reading this book when I was nine year old I didn't understand it. The sentances were put togather in a difficult way(thats what it seemed like back then). Now I am eleven years old and have read the book without any complications. It has 384 page in it(388 if you count the Epologue at the end). If you are a Star Wars Rougue Squadron fan like I am than I highly recommend this book too you. Reviewed by Robb Torseth

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 1999

    The greatest book ever

    StarWars X-wing Rogue Squadron is an action and adventure packed story. Imagine flying through space risking your own life and helping the poor, weak, and helpless. If you imagined that you are flying through space in an X-wing. StarWars X-wing Rogue Squadron is the first book in the new series X-wing. It is really great! This is one of those books you shouldn't pass up! StarWars X-wing Rogue Squadron is when a rebel hero Wedge Antilles tries to rebuild the Rogue Squadron. He searches throughout the universe to find the best rebel hero to join his squadron. Joining may be the biggest risk of your life. Have you ever flown an X-wing? If so this would be the best choice of books. I would recommend this book to people who take r

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2014

    i havn't read this book yet, orederd it to the store very excite

    i havn't read this book yet, orederd it to the store very excited to read this novel tell you how it was when im finished reading it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Very good book!

    Couldn't put it down. As soon as i finished this one i dove into the next rogue squadron book. Had good action and did an awesome job describing the battles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    My grandson loved it

    My second grade grandson had to struggle with the advanced vocabulary but persevered because he LOVES Star Wars stories and this one was no exception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    A great start to the series.

    I think I've decided that I prefer Stackpole's characters behind the controls of a piece of science fiction hardware than wandering around in a fantasy world.

    I originally read this book on a family vacation over a decade ago, and decided to reread it after trying Talion: Revenant. I still enjoyed the book, although I think when I first added it to my goodreads list that I was remembering it through rose colored glasses. It does have a few problems, in my opinion due to the number of characters involved in the story. A cheat sheet is included at the start to help keep track of character names and where they're from. But it really breaks a person out of the moment when they need to go remind themselves about who just did what. I also forgot that the main character starts off as a little bit of a jerk.

    Over all, I still really enjoyed the book. Even if I'm having a harder time these days picturing the manuvers the starfighters are pulling off in my head.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    X wing

    This book is so good i really liked it that i went ahead and got the whole series

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2004

    Excellent Book

    Who thought you could devote an entire series to a character who appears a handful of times in the movie? I didn't - but I love it that they have. A wonderful blend of comedy, romance, and plenty of action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2004

    amazing

    Rouge spaudron is back. who can forget this good of a book. and just imagine it's the first of the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2001

    THE best SW novel

    No other Star Wars single novel or series touches these written by Michael Stackpole. Timothy Zahn's novels are good...but not as great as these. Books 1 thru 4 will keep your imagination and heart to the end. Alot of other things should be like that...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4