Customer Reviews for

Star Wars X-Wing #1: Rogue Squadron

Average Rating 4.5
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2001

    Stunning Book

    This book is good for Star Wars lovers. It has lots of action and continues the saga of the Star Wars trilogy. It has lots of daring characters, including the legendary Commander Wedge Antilles and a new pilot Corran Horn. So read this book and the rest in this series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2001

    I love this book.

    I like this book because it has suspense, comedy, and action. I also like it because it focuses on one person, it doesn't jump around.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2006

    Star Wars X-Wing Rogue Squadron

    This book is a story about Corren Horn making his way to the top as a hero star fighter. The rebellion has already destroyed both death stars and gathered the best of the best star fighters for these missions to attack on the Empire. As the Rebellion fights for glory, the two Universal powers fight till the end. The chances are slim for the Rebellion seeing that their minimal forces have to wipe out an entire legion. There is little hope for the Rebellion, but in these series of fights they will have to be guided by the force. The characters of this story have destructive backgrounds. Most of the star fighters in the legion have been trialed for murder or were past smugglers when they learned to fly. Corren Horn is a past smuggler where he became a top flyer in his class. Other people in this squadron have to work to earn their way into this squadron, strongfully fighting for what they believe in. These fighters have strong hate for the Empire because they killed all of their fighter¿s families and others they love. Most of the fighters want revenge to destroy the Empire for good. The rebellion will not take anything but peace between the powers, seeing that they have been fighting for over two decades. As the Rebellion in the past hasn¿t failed, these fighters aren¿t Luke Skywalker. The last encounters with the Empire were lucky victories and the Empire will not accept defeat this time. As the Rebellion continues this war, even the force is dim and even shadowed because they know without a miracle, they can¿t beat an army or legion of this capacity. Most of the fighters don¿t think they deserve Rogue Squadron because of their hurtful backgrounds, but the Rebellion will take what they can get. The Rebellion wins on the tip of a needle, but the battle isn¿t over. Most are troubled because all the rebellion can do is sit and wait for the Empire to make their next move. The Rebellion pulls it off this time but will have to fight even harder when the next battle comes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 1999

    The greatest book ever

    StarWars X-wing Rogue Squadron is an action and adventure packed story. Imagine flying through space risking your own life and helping the poor, weak, and helpless. If you imagined that you are flying through space in an X-wing. StarWars X-wing Rogue Squadron is the first book in the new series X-wing. It is really great! This is one of those books you shouldn't pass up! StarWars X-wing Rogue Squadron is when a rebel hero Wedge Antilles tries to rebuild the Rogue Squadron. He searches throughout the universe to find the best rebel hero to join his squadron. Joining may be the biggest risk of your life. Have you ever flown an X-wing? If so this would be the best choice of books. I would recommend this book to people who take r

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    My grandson loved it

    My second grade grandson had to struggle with the advanced vocabulary but persevered because he LOVES Star Wars stories and this one was no exception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    A great start to the series.

    I think I've decided that I prefer Stackpole's characters behind the controls of a piece of science fiction hardware than wandering around in a fantasy world.

    I originally read this book on a family vacation over a decade ago, and decided to reread it after trying Talion: Revenant. I still enjoyed the book, although I think when I first added it to my goodreads list that I was remembering it through rose colored glasses. It does have a few problems, in my opinion due to the number of characters involved in the story. A cheat sheet is included at the start to help keep track of character names and where they're from. But it really breaks a person out of the moment when they need to go remind themselves about who just did what. I also forgot that the main character starts off as a little bit of a jerk.

    Over all, I still really enjoyed the book. Even if I'm having a harder time these days picturing the manuvers the starfighters are pulling off in my head.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2000

    Great Book

    Rogue Squadron is a great start to a wonderful series of books. I don't think it's quite as good as some of the later books in the series, but it's deffinately up there. Great plot and character development, and it's full of action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2000

    Great Book!

    This Book is one of the best in the star wars universe! I could not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1