Customer Reviews for

Star Wars X-Wing #2: Wedge's Gamble

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Who else wants in the squadron?

This second volume of the X-wing series is a departure from what I expected. Very little time was spent in the X-wings! The concentration on disguise and subterfuge on the ground was different. I really liked how the Emperor's propaganda was shown -- I never thought ...
This second volume of the X-wing series is a departure from what I expected. Very little time was spent in the X-wings! The concentration on disguise and subterfuge on the ground was different. I really liked how the Emperor's propaganda was shown -- I never thought about the spin he would put on his actions. Stackpole carries this series well with 'lesser' characters-- we don't have to have Luke or Han or any of the other 'heavyweights' come blazing in. These average Rebels get the job done. I'd love to join, but I guess I'll stick to the game.

posted by Anonymous on July 30, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

In some ways, this feels like the "Empire Strikes Back" of the book series

In my review of the previous title in the series, I said something about how I like the author's work better when he had his characters behind the controls of a piece of science ficiton hardware. I think I may need to adjust that opinion seeing as I liked this book as w...
In my review of the previous title in the series, I said something about how I like the author's work better when he had his characters behind the controls of a piece of science ficiton hardware. I think I may need to adjust that opinion seeing as I liked this book as well, although for most of it the characters spend very little of the story flying the spacecraft mentioned in the title.

In some ways, this feels like the "Empire Strikes Back" of the book series. The big air combat sequence is at the start of the story, the main characters are broken up into groups so there are a few different plot lines going on for each group, and it ends up with a cliffhanger to lead into the next work in the series.

If I had to point to any problems with this book, it's that the character flavor bits start to get a little repetative. One character should probably go see a doctor with how often he mentions that a previous injury hurts when in a stressful situation. Everyone from the same planet mentions that they don't care about the odds, and at least once it's said by two different characters back to back. And even little bits of business from the previous book start to get worn out, such as when a character reaches for his good luck charm. The character quirk was an interesting addition in the previous book. In this book, since the character doesn't have the charm on him for a good portion, we not only get the brief discription of the gesture, but then thought process of remembering he doesn't have it, why he doesn't have it, where it currently is, and how he hopes that it will still bring him luck.

posted by 10068023 on May 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    In some ways, this feels like the "Empire Strikes Back" of the book series

    In my review of the previous title in the series, I said something about how I like the author's work better when he had his characters behind the controls of a piece of science ficiton hardware. I think I may need to adjust that opinion seeing as I liked this book as well, although for most of it the characters spend very little of the story flying the spacecraft mentioned in the title.

    In some ways, this feels like the "Empire Strikes Back" of the book series. The big air combat sequence is at the start of the story, the main characters are broken up into groups so there are a few different plot lines going on for each group, and it ends up with a cliffhanger to lead into the next work in the series.

    If I had to point to any problems with this book, it's that the character flavor bits start to get a little repetative. One character should probably go see a doctor with how often he mentions that a previous injury hurts when in a stressful situation. Everyone from the same planet mentions that they don't care about the odds, and at least once it's said by two different characters back to back. And even little bits of business from the previous book start to get worn out, such as when a character reaches for his good luck charm. The character quirk was an interesting addition in the previous book. In this book, since the character doesn't have the charm on him for a good portion, we not only get the brief discription of the gesture, but then thought process of remembering he doesn't have it, why he doesn't have it, where it currently is, and how he hopes that it will still bring him luck.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2002

    An Awesome Book

    This book is awesome. It ties romance, danger adventure and suspence into one big knot. I highly recomend reading this book and all the other books in the series!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2001

    Who else wants in the squadron?

    This second volume of the X-wing series is a departure from what I expected. Very little time was spent in the X-wings! The concentration on disguise and subterfuge on the ground was different. I really liked how the Emperor's propaganda was shown -- I never thought about the spin he would put on his actions. Stackpole carries this series well with 'lesser' characters-- we don't have to have Luke or Han or any of the other 'heavyweights' come blazing in. These average Rebels get the job done. I'd love to join, but I guess I'll stick to the game.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2000

    A Great Addition to the Star Wars Saga

    A great book. It's going to be a hard act to follow for Micheal Stackpole. I read this book in 3 days it was so suspensful and action packed. Highly recommended.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The New Republic is taking Coruscant!

    The New Republic is taking Coruscant!It is not bad, even though it gets off-point sometimes. But I will still recomend this book to any Star Wars fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    I prefer a straight fight to all this sneaking around.

    Like i said above this book has very little fight sequences and more sneaking around. Although the end makes up for the rest of the book it's a very slow read. Some of the parts I laughed outloud and some parts I just wanted to throwup. The end of the book is a cliff hanger and sets up nicely for the next book. So only read this book if you are continuing the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2009

    Great but Selonians look like squirrels

    This book was awesome, however there was one part in which Corran Horn tells Mirax he slept with a Selonian...... THAT IS DISGUSTING. Does anyone know what a Selonian looks like??? If not check it out here: http://starwars.wikia.com/wiki/Selonian
    See what I mean? I enjoyed the book from start to finish, but this one thing bugged the hell out of me, and STILL bugs the hell out of me. Seriously that is sooooooo wrong on sooooooo many levels of wrongness...
    But otherwise a great read!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2006

    Rouge Spys

    Wedge and the rest of the gang[Rouge Squadron] do some major spying. In disguise they go to Coruscant and set up the path to capture the urban planet from Remnant Empire leader Ysanne Isard. Along the way the Rouges find themselves in some tight spots, which leads to Action and Adventures.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2003

    CORRENS NEW DAWN

    This book is good for the Star Wars fan. It is not typicaly what I would expect in a Rouge Squadren. The book is not what I would call a climatic thriller, yet it has a lot of action in the end

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2002

    just as obsessive as Lord of the Rings

    Great book. i read it in 4-6 days.. I had no problem envisioning the fight sequences (and they say TV and video games destroy imagination). There is only one thing wrong, with this book, and the whole series for that matter. IT HAS TO END!!! (also, these books are getting pretty hard to find.)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    Who is the traitor

    Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx-wing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Charmkit

    (Okie dokie artichokie)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Just another part of a slow start

    A good portion of this story is devoted to the planning phases of a military gamble. Now, many great novels can be described this way. However, this is not one of those novels. It took too much time to get to the action of the story. It is important to be patient with this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2007

    loved it as much as the first one

    i loved this book as much as the first one i suggest all trekkies read this book and the rest of the x wing series by michael stackpole and aaron allston

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2