Customer Reviews for

Star Wars X-Wing #8: Isard's Revenge

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    After the Thrawn Crisis...

    This book takes place after the Thrawn Crisis, but when Leia appears, there seems to be no mention of the twins.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Michael A. Stackpole should probably be well known for faking the deaths of the characters we love.

    If Joss Whedonand George R.R. Martin are well known for killing off characters we love, Michael A. Stackpole should probably be well known for faking the deaths of the characters we love.

    A previous villian from the X-Wing series returns from the dead to extract revenge on Rogue Squadron and attempt to return to power. And Stackpole takes the opportunity to make sure that every character he has ever written for this series of books gets to add the words "returned from the dead" to their resume. Well, except the usual red shirts that fill out the squadron roster for those that really didn't survive previous books (or did they?).


    Over all, I liked the plot. I felt the action sequence were well done. It's just that in moments where characters are having conversations about how they feel over the loss of a close friend or lover, they're starting to sound like they're giving line readings instead of expressing actual emotion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Very good

    Some people seem to think Corran's personality doesn't fit or is annoying. If you know the sarcastic Corran from NJO, you'll wish he was still like he is here. And I wouldn't call Corran the main character. The story does tend to focus on him, but no more than the Republic Commando books focus on Darman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    Good Book!

    Read it several years ago and enjoyed very much. I gave my paperback copy away to a relative and I decided to read it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Back to the Rogue Squadron

    After the events of the Wraith Squadron unfolded, the storyline returned to the characters of Wedge and Rogue Squadron. The writer brought back an old enemy for the group to deal with. This story does have its high points, but the Solo Command is still the best novel in the entire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2007

    isard is brought back to life in such great fashion

    isard now attacking rebel basesand is trying to track down rogue squadron and yes isard is not one of my favorite charecters in this series my favorite charecter is wedge antilles and corran horn and yes i like corran horn better than luke skywalker and i like wedge antilles better than luke skywalker and i think this is a very fun and very action packed series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2001

    Sweet

    I am so glad Corran and the others are back they rule so this is one sweet book u have to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2000

    Terrific! Rouge Squad. is back and better than ever!

    Isard is brought back to life in a suprising fashon. It has great detal and plenty of suprises. The book is just the right size and it has enough dogfights. Boster and Mirax Terrik, Iella Wesseri, and Corran Horn are fantastic. I reccomend you read the other books in the series before you read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2000

    Excellent

    An exceptional continutation of the X-Wing story. After the Wraith Squadron hiatus (which was very good), the Rouges are back and kicking Imperial tail with the same skill and humor we've come to expect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2000

    An unworthy continuation of Stackpole's series.

    A major disappointment. While I, as was every other Stackpole reader, was hoping for a continuation to the original Rogue Squadron series, and looking forward to Stackpole finishing the Lusankya predicament, Isard's Revenge was a disaster in comparison to the Bacta War. Corran's (the main character) moral compass, which had provided interesting insight in the earlier Starwars books, became an annoying liability to continued character development, his 'know it all, we must do the right thing' facade did a poor job of capturing what the true convictions of a fighter pilot fighting a war should be, as Stackpole so brilliantly portrayed in the earlier Rogue Squadron books. In addition, Stackpole did a poor job of portraying what characters would really do in situations they were put in, i.e. When Corran was shot down and went on to capture a heavily guarded facility single-handedly. Such notions were ridiculous, and a major disservice to the Rogue Squadron series. However, Stackpole is still a fine author, and I would highly recommend any other Starwars book he has written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2000

    Isard's Revenge: A true thriller in the X-Wing series

    This book is probably one of the best Star Wars novels I have ever read. The storyline was magnificently placed and the title fits the book extremely well. The personalities were so well defined that you could almost imagine what the characters look like, and you can almost tell what their reply will be in a situation! A superb choice if you want a book that will keep you reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2000

    AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME

    tHIS BOOK IS COMPLETELY AND UTTERLY AWESOME WHAT ELSE CAN I SAY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2000

    Isard's Revenge

    I am going to be short and to the point. I love Star Wars. Isard's Revenge is just one of the many great stories of the Star Wars stories. I give it 5 stars and I think anyone will agree even if you don't like Star Wars you will love this book. If you like the X-Wing series I think you should try Star Wars: Rogue Squaron for N64 and PC

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2000

    Highly Recommended

    Isard's Revenge is an exciting book with an intelligent storyline. While not among the very best of the X-wing series, it is a must-read for followers of the series and leaves you looking forward to the novels yet to come. Very much worth your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2