BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Star of Kazan

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2007

    too cool a book!!!

    this book has become one of my best reads. it is so heart warming from the very beginning, that you can't leave it till you read it all. Annika is a foundling who has been brought up by two servants, Ellie and Sigrid. She dreams of her real mother arriving to claim her, which really happens in the due course. but liitle does she know that she is being cruelly robbed of her priceless possessions, which are left to her by an old lady.finally, the truth is uncovered and annika's well-wishers and friends save her life. it is a must- read for all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    Great Historical Fiction for 10-14 year olds

    Many of the reading suggestions for fifth- and sixth-graders at our school were written twenty or thirty years ago but Star of Kazan is recent, written in 2004. It takes place in Vienna, Austria at the end of the Austro-Hungarian empire. Young Annika, a foundling taken in by servants in a well-to-do home, dreams of the day that her true mother reclaims her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    Great Story for Middle School Kids (and their parents too)!!!

    This is one of my all-time favorite books. I wish I would have discovered Eva Ibbotson when I was in grade school! She weaves the most beautiful tales of friendship and family, with excellent doses of mystery and deceit thrown in to keep the reader guessing. Her tales remind me of A Little Princess and The Secret Garden, by Frances Hodgson Burnette. Before that last comment leads you to think Ibbotson only writes for girls, my boys both enjoyed Star of Kazan and Dragonfly Pool and wouldn't think of Ibbotson as only a "girls' author."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2010

    Outstanding!

    This book takes you to a whole different world, new levels, and fun twists and turns! This book is definitrly one of my favorites!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    It is a really good book for family, classroom reading or even more fun listenning in the car while commuting to/from school book.

    to start with, it was my daughter's class book club assigned book, library ran out ot the book but they offered CD instead. We started listening in the car and just hooked on it. It even made my chaotic morning easier. In mornings, she would just jump in car and wait for me to start car and put the book on. It was great. with no time we already at school. And we loved the story. the book well spoken.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Delightful reading- The Star of Kazan

    My sister-in -law is a librarian for a school and each summer reads hundreds of books, and she suggested reading this book and I found it delightful to read and hoped it would continue. C.S.Lewis said if a book is really good it will be enjoyed by both an adult and a child, well this one fits. I am in my 50s and my mom is in her 70s and I gave it to a friend who is 16 and we all enjoyed it. In the book Ellie is a cook and Sigrid as a housemaid and they find a baby in a small white church in the mountains with a note pinned on, and so begins the story of little Annika. Try it, you will like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2006

    Spectacular

    This book is very good. It has suspense, when you are waiting for Annika to relize that she is being lied to. I really think Mrs. Ibbotson did a great job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2005

    Awesome!(I read ten thick novels in 2 weeks)

    I love Eva Ibbotsons' books whether it be ghosts and witches, or a trip down the amazon she is a great writer and when I read The Star of Kazan I wanted to scream out my excitment! Over all this is one of her best books ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2005

    I liked it

    I didn't think I was going to like it when I read the back cover, but I was wrong. It was a pretty good book after all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2005

    Best orphan adventure book I've ever read

    This is the second Eva Ibbotson book I've read, and It just amazed me. I am a bookworm, and I've learnd that the ol' 'don't judge a book by it's cover' thing isn't always that true... but WOW! This really exceeded my expectations. I really recognized a lot of the characters as some of my own freinds and relatives, others as the voices inside me. I hung to the book, page by page, bareley stopping 'til I was through. At each new turn of the tale, I Held my breath, gasped, or let out a sigh of releif as the text required. O, how I love this book... may it be treasured for years to come!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2004

    A Glowing Triumph

    I have grown up reading children's books (I'm currently in college) and since working at B&N I have been introduced to some amazing new works in this genre. I firmly believe that some of the best fiction today is being written for children, and this particular book has handily affirmed that view. This is the beautifully written story of Annika, a girl who was abandoned as an infant in a Vienna church and adopted by two servants in the home of three kind professors. The story is essentially a mystery in which readers are presented with many beguiling and unsettling clues about Annika's new life when her mother comes to claim her. I was enraptured by the characters, the plot, and the descriptions of Vienna. Ibbotson perfectly describes the charm of this European cultural center, and I found myself wishing that I was there! It's a lovely book, and I reccomend it to children and adults alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1