Customer Reviews for

Star of the Sea

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A movie yet to be made

    I love the historic detail O'Connor blended into the open yet secretly dark plot of Star of the Sea. His words and sentences enhances the human imagination which lures you more and more into each page turn.
    Highly recommended.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    Loved it.

    Im so sorry to see that someone thought this was 'predictable'. I LOVED this book. I loved the history, I loved the characters, and how they intertwined. Why this book is not on the best seller list, Ill not understand. I've told my boyfriend that if he reads it, and loves it too, then I'll know I should marry him!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2005

    Incredibly well-written

    One of the most remarkable books I've read. I learned so much about the Irish famine, but beyond that, I learned how a human can become a monster, and how very human monsters can be. It's a story of tragedy, certainly, of a defilement of an entire people as well as the corruption of a select few. The story is well-written, with beautiful prose and remarkable imagery that sometimes just broke my heart. Read it!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2004

    Star of the Sea -- to read and re-read -- it's a novel, it's history, it's a shocker.

    Star of the Sea By Joseph O¿Connor Once in a while we read a book, which is so gripping and interesting, that we are anxious to read it once again. After a trip to Ireland this year and visiting the many places of historical interest, I found it necessary to read more about the history of that enchanting country. My first step was to visit a good bookstore in Dublin, where I asked for more about the sad and alarming history of Ireland. The book most recommended was Star of the Sea by Joseph O¿ Connor. This book was written as a novel; however, it gives the reader of participating in the actual happenings. During and after reading the book, I spent a lot of time on the Internet, checking the facts. Mr. O¿Conner was meticulous about his writing. The story covers the 26-day sailing of the Star of the Sea ¿ an elderly ship, not in very safe conditioning, taking a large group of emigrants who escaped the cruel potato famine in the 1840¿s. There was the Monster (or murderer) Mulvey, who was on a mission to kill Lord Kingscourt, better known as David Merridith, who was on his way to a new life in New York. Mr. Dixon, who is having an affair with David Merridith¿s wife, Laura. Captain Lockwood was the very sympathetic captain of the Star of the Sea. We read quotes and chapters of his ship¿s log, bringing the story even more to life. Intertwined was the story of Mary Duane, a very sad and unlucky girl, whose life touched several of the characters. Each character is described so that after a while, the reader begins to recognize and feel with him or her. Star of the Sea is written so that the reader is taking the same frightening trip, leaving behind loved ones and their beloved land, in hopes of beginning a new life. Many of the emigrants did not survive the journey. There were outbreaks of illnesses, starvation, cold and unbelievable suffering. This is another story of the survival of the lucky and the fittest. Mr. O¿Connor wrote the story so that its author was actually Mr. G. Grantley Dixon. There are footnotes, which should be followed, throughout the book. The feeling is that Mr. Joseph O¿Connor took on the guise of Grantley Dixon. It is a must to read the Introduction and the Epilogue, so that we are not left hanging in the air, wondering what happened to the main characters. This is a page-turning read. Don¿t miss it! The pages will turn slowly, because we are always made to ponder what we have just read. Don¿t miss this fantastic piece of literature.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2003

    Wonderful.....

    gritty, compelling story with great cast of characters. Historic and memorable!! I highly recommend it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Highly Recommend - Mystery/History/Fiction/Characters

    I read a lot of Historical Fiction, and also enjoy Mystery/Thrillers, and Star of the Sea has it all. The backdrop is the mid-1800's when Ireland struggled with the great famine, the indifference of landowners and the government, and many Irish emigrated to America. The story is told through several different characters POV--snippets from the ship captain's log, news articles, etc. It is made clear immediately that the story is a murder mystery but the author takes his time unfolding the story. Beautiful prose, poignant social commentary, great storytelling. I look forward to a second reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2004

    It's not worth it.

    It seemed very intriguing at first, almost as if it were a knock off of Titanic, but the farther I read the drier and more predictable it got. There is a sort of historical aspect in the book that can be somewhat interesting to particular types of readers, but overall I say it's not worth it.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Cheaper on Amazon

    Cheaper on Amazon, d
    W

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    This novel was not at all what I had expected - in a good way. I

    This novel was not at all what I had expected - in a good way. I had the impression that this was going to be a depressing novel about
     the famine and to be fair, it is, but it is so much more than that - and that's testament to O'Connor's skills as a storyteller. From the first
    chapter I was gripped by the characters and engaged by the murder mystery that keeps up the suspense till the very end.

    By following the stories of the privileged landowners and the poor tenants, O'Connor challenges some of our long-held, polarised views
     of the famine in Ireland and shows things in a different light, which is the mark of great historical fiction. I really felt transported into
    another time whilst reading this book and engaged by the strong characters such as Pius Mulvey and Mary Duane.

    The journey of the Star of the Sea is a harrowing one and with every passing day there is an ominous feeling aboard the ship as they
    inevitably reach their destination. Stories of the famine can make for difficult reading, (and to be honest I would have been more inclined
    to read a non-fiction book on the subject) but I'm so glad I picked up this book. I would highly recommend this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1