Customer Reviews for

StarMan (Wayfarer Redemption Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2004

    a book for all empathetic readers

    I think this book is the best from the whole trilogy. Sara Douglass has such a magnificent way of portraying characters in a human and realistic sense. All her characters are so beautifully written and Sara Douglass writes in a way that gets to your heart. Wonderful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2004

    Compelled despite myself!

    This was one of the first fantasy 'sets' that led me back into the store to buy again; I'm new to fantasy reading but I enjoy the depth. I've read disparaging comments about fantasy containing sex/romance -why? Life contains romantic entanglements, and a fantasy book with some hints of relationships (beyond honorary-chivalric warfare and blood-bond friendships) seems more unreal than one without them. Nevertheless, I closed Starman with a sense of ... resignation -and cursed at least one of said entanglements: Faraday! How long she waited, toiling, only to find her most hopeful future denied her and her work, though critical to the prophecy, eclipsed by the inexorable and all-encompassing prophetic design for a rather cowardly, indecisive Axis and the newly multi-faceted/blessed Azhure. For days i kept going back to that ending ...what was Ms. Douglass thinking? I loved Azhure as well, but as the story began with Faraday, my heart tended in her direction, hoping, alongside, for her eventual reward. How like life, though, her circumstances! We can't always predict outcomes, and rarely sense the breadth of realities sweeping about our existences. Nor are we as important or central to the plan as we -often- might wish; intergral others may be raised higher beyond what seems likely at any given time ... Despite misgivings, I confess being a convert to Ms. Douglass -I'll be looking for her works beyond this- for me these works have a kind of (fatalistic?) staying power- you end up carefully considering even the pain within. Ah, well- maudlin thoughts aside, these books'll go on a 'keeper's' shelf for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2004

    Not What I Hoped

    Well, I guess my title says it all. After the first book, I was riveted. I bought the other two, and slowly became disappointed. Ms. Douglass did a fantastic job, don't get me wrong, but I am a sucker for happy endings. And this is not what I call happy. Even with Axis' betrayal, Faraday could have went on. I think Ms. Douglass cut Faraday short and gave her the pitiful woman character. Azhure became this all powerful god, and I think that took away from what she was. She became this perfect woman in the span of a chapter. Overall, this series was ineresting and not that original, but okay. The final battle was anti-climatic. After three books, the battle lasts about two paragraphs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2003

    great

    good story but wish faraday didint get all the hard and painful stuff that she did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2003

    A fairly entertaining book

    Starman does what it sets out to do. It tells an interesting story and introduces the reader to some likeable characters. Is it the best of it's genre? No. It drags at points and presents the occasional passage that could have done with some better editing. But overall, it's a fun book to read and while it may not be worthy of a special place on your bookshelf, you will be glad you read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2003

    really good book, but the next is really good too!

    ok you know this was a REALLY good book, been a while since i read it so i can no longer remember where enchater begins, and starman starts, i just mainly rember skipping from the beginning of enchater to the last couple chapters of starman, it was so sad!!! I really just don't like azhure, and everyone else who read it at my class (quite a few actually) hates her. ok but this is just like lord of the rings, no actually not like thast asince it is way easier to read, being a page turner, a fantastic epic in great detial, yet not so much that it bores you to death. this is only the third of six books about the land tencendor(also known as achar), and I feel thos next three(sinner,pilgrim,and crusader) are even better , not having to stick to the prophecy and all, with my faveorite characters back! it also doesn't have a really sad ending! yay faraday! oh yeah and to you all things are explained in these three left unanswered in starman, not sure if you can get these in the u.s yet, mine came from canada.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2003

    Wheres the rest?

    I know theres 3 more books in this series that are already published in the UK, how come we can't get em? its a good series although it starts out atypical for a fantasy novel. but it ends up being pretty decent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2003

    Cliff Hanger. How long do I wait unfettered??

    Starman, Azhure, Faraday,three great characters that bring together a Sci-Fi Fantasy that brings back memories of 'Gone With The Wind'? I await what follows.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2003

    good, but not as good as the first two

    I loved the first two books in this series, but was a little disappointed in the last book. A lot of things were explained, but some of the explanations were a little vague. For example: why did Wolfstar train Gorgrael in the first place?? Well, according to the book, there were "mysteries" revealed to him beyond the stargate, and he had to train Gorgrael to fulfill the prophecy. I thought Wolfstar should've gone into more detail about what it was like beyond the stargate and what mysteries were revealed to him. Overall, the book was good, but not as good as the first two in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2002

    Great but needs more

    Axis the starman knows his destiny in the propechy but he doesn't know exactly what and how it will happen. The sentinels said they would be the most to sacrafice but how far will they go??? also who are the gods of song and moon? many unknowns are revealed in this book including what lover gorgarel choses (you'd never guess this one) The book is great but the ending needed a lot more detail and not to mention a better explantion. though i still got it. all through the book they talk about azhure but in the end what happened? she just vanish? all and all a good but sad book if you like thrillers this is the one. An outstanding book with a lot of twists and turns. P.S. beware of drago.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    solid epic fantasy

    Already bone wary from battle Axis SunSoar knows his destiny requires he fulfill Wolfstar¿s prophecy, but the Icarii patriarch¿s words are vague and it is hard to understand what must be done. Axis realizes he needs to fight WolfStar's malevolent half-brother, Gorgrael and sacrifice the evil one¿s lover. However who is this woman? Is it Axis¿ own wife, the niece of his enemy Gorgrael, a pregnant Azhure carrying sorcery killing twins? Or perhaps Axis¿ former lover Faraday is the intended victim? Or is some unknown other female? <P>At the same time Gorgrael creates deadly gryphons who have seemingly endless litters containing nine puppies and seem constantly pregnant or giving birth. At the rate they multiply, the world is endangered. <P>Battle is eminent between the forces of Axis and those of Gorgrael. Axis and Gorgrael, prepare for the epic confrontation in different ways. <P>STARMAN closes out the Wayfarer Redemption sub-trilogy with a solid epic fantasy but not quite on a par with THE WAYFARER REDEMPTION and ENCHANTER novels because the final confrontation seems too brief and Utopian. The story line for the most part is exciting and fast-paced as the forces of good and evil ready for war though mystical pregnancies abound in this plot playing with the hormones of strong individuals. Still fans of the series will relish Sara Douglass¿ latest tale and want to read the remaining Tencendor tales; for those who cannot wait for the American release, go to amazon.co.uk to obtain most if not all of the remaining novels not just this sub-trilogy. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1