BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

StarMan (Wayfarer Redemption Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Best Fantasy Series

    I first came upon this series 12 years ago thanks to the recommendation of a book store keeper, and since then I've read the first three books more times than i can count. They are easy to read, pull you in from the very beginning, and keep you interested until the very last word of Starman. Even though I know the outcome.of the story, my heart still pounds at the war scenes, and I have shed tears when it the time called for it.
    If you have read Lord of the Rings, or Game of Thrones, this series is right up your alley and is quite a bit easier to read too for the younger crowd who loves this genre. I could not recommend a better book to get lost in for a few hours.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2006

    WOW!!!!!!!

    Im a huge fantasy fan, and I would have to say that this is the best set of books i've ever read. Im almost done with starman, but im positive the last three are just as amazing. sara douglass is an amazingly talented writer and am sad that the last book has come out. I would definatly recomend this book to anyone who loves to read, theres no way it will let you down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2006

    Absolutely beautiful

    I found this series when I was twelve and have read the books so many times over the past five years I can't count. Starman is definitely a good read, whether or nor you're a Faraday or Azhure fan, you can enjoy the tale. (Though personally I'm an Azhure fan) Definitely a keeper.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2004

    The story goes on

    The Wayfarer Redemption series by Sara Douglass are the most amazing books I have ever read. Any true fantasy readers should check out these books. In this third and final chapter of the FIRST trilogy (it's 6 books altogether, see below) Axis has pledged his love to the beautiful Faraday whom he vowed to set free from the marriage of his human half brother Bornheld. While Faraday waited for her true love to save her, Axis met Azhure along his travels. After spending time with Azhure, Axis has realized that his heart is torn between the two. As a family begins to form between he and Azhure, Faraday turns to the Blessed Mother to fulfill her destiny and try to forget Axis. She sets out on a journey to replant the forests, once destroyed by the humans believing in the Way of the Plow. But as Axis prepares for his final battle with Gorgrael (his other half-brother,) Fate brings the three lovers together once more. Knowing from the Prophecy of the Destroyer that one woman must be given up, he must face this inner conflict once and for all. As he gets closer to Gorgrael's lair he learns more about his people, his past, his place in the world and his family line's dark secret (as well as WolfStar's contribution to this whole 'end-of-the-world' mess.) These books truly do have everything: Love, loss, betrayal, Prophecy, action, mystery, magic... you name it, these books have it! I can honestly say that I was attached to nearly every character (especially Faraday) and Sara Douglass has a real talent for making you really feel whatever is going on in her worlds. I often got emotional in both the joyful times and in the saddest times of the book. Now, I have read the reviews left by other customers and I noticed that many of you found the book's ending to be disappointing. Well, I wanted to stress the fact that the series is actually meant to be 6 books and not 3. The last 3 books have been released in the U.S. as of yet. They will be released between now (2004) and 2008. The last three books finished the story through Axis' children (though he is involved in the final trilogy) and I do not think the REAL ending is disappointing at all. If you would like more information on the final trilogy, you can visit Sara Douglass' website, which includes an online shop to purchase the books. I purchased them there myself because I couldn't wait until 2008 for the last 3 books. :) I read all 6 books within the span of 8 months or so. I could not put them down! I truly recommend them when read as a set of 6!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2004

    a book to change your life

    All three of the books are monumental and ground breaking. With each new book the plot grows bigger and more passionate. As the books progress Douglass weaves the plot thicker adding deception, love, and most importantly betrayal. It explores the inner workings of the human heart, it shows both the purest of selflessness and the worst of a man¿s ¿need for love.¿ Douglass created characters that we can hate and others we could devote our lives to. She has stirred both a simple read for those who don¿t wish to understand the true teachings, but she has also laced it with rich symbolism and parallels. Parallels that connect each character in a beautiful web that, in the end, tells a whole other story themselves. Personally, I find Faraday the finest character in the books. She alone goes through the worst of it all and still maintains her good nature. Even when her lover casts her to the side and only uses her as ¿a cool pool,¿ she bears no ill will to his lady or his children. Faraday, also the Christ figure, never once acts in her own defense or never picks herself over another. One of my favorite parts is around the ending of the third book when Axis realizes that Faraday has bore him a son. It seems that it is Faraday¿s way of getting the last word in. The way the last chapter was written is truly beautiful. The irony of Azhure having to raise Faraday¿s children when Azhure herself has feared that. More so in the ending of the book when Faraday¿s sacrifices got more costly, it brought tears to my eyes to see some one I had gotten to love so much over the three books end like that. The way Faraday-that-had-been looked at him with her hurt wild eyes and the way she ran away, unfretted. These books are the finest I have ever read, and will ever read. They have changed my life in so many ways. The only thing I am disappointed about is that Douglass isn¿t continuing with those books, yes I heard of the rumor that she MIGHT but she said Faraday wouldn¿t be in them (go to her web site).For me the main draw would be gone. I find it depressing that Douglass just lest it end. I knew the end was coming it was just hard to face. If you haven¿t experienced these books you haven¿t a clue what you have been missing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2004

    I love it!!!!!!!

    This book was AWESOME!!! I loved it. It is an awesome book and I hope she writes many more like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2003

    takes you away!

    The best book I've read in a long time! As soon as I finished the first I went the same day to buy the second and again the third. A trilogy worth holding on to. Thank you, Ms. Douglass!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2003

    One of the most enchanting books I have ever read!!!

    The writer is excelent and I couldnt put it down. This trilogy was the fastest reads I have ever had. I recomend that anyone that has ever read a fanticy book or ever read any book, for that matter, to pick this one up. The story carrys you from book to book and never lets you stop reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2003

    This book is a must read for anyone who likes mythical fiction

    i have read the first two Books in this saga and half way through the second i can hardly put the book down and for me that takes a lot keep up the good work Sara and please wright more about the next generation of the land of Tencendor please will be looking for them

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2003

    astonishing reading

    This book is an amazing read. All the characters are well-developed and the many different story plots going on pulls the book together and is a real page-turner. The cultures of the Acharites, Icarii, and Avar makes the realm of Tencendor seem like a real place. I think that it was wrong to start out with Faraday as the second main character and Azhure as a minor character and then to suddenly change Azhure into Faraday's place. That could have been more developed. I also think that Axis could have shown more compassion and sorrow towards Faraday, ecspecialy for all that she did for him, but at the end it really came together and Axis truely showed sorrow for what he did to Faraday. Overall, this is a great book full of prophecy, love, betrayal, hatred, magic, and lots of battles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2003

    AHH >:D

    I HATE YOU!!! your books make me wanna cry.....*runs an gets her tissues* want more!!! faraday was so wrongly betrayed!!! the other woman needs to die!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2003

    Awesome

    For a while I resented Axis for the way he treated Faraday, but I realized at the end of the book that he did feel deep remorse for his actions. I loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2