Customer Reviews for

Starcraft II: Heaven's Devils

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great book if your a Sci Fi buff and Starcraft fanatic

If you already have some cash down on the "hopefully" late July release of Starcraft 2 then this book should hold you over and help you develop a since of how the characters stand in the game. The book focuses around Jim Raynor's early teen life and picks up slowly goin...
If you already have some cash down on the "hopefully" late July release of Starcraft 2 then this book should hold you over and help you develop a since of how the characters stand in the game. The book focuses around Jim Raynor's early teen life and picks up slowly going from farm boy to Confed Recruit to Marine. It's a good book and I feel if I say anything I maybe revealing too much. . but here's a something to perk your ears: There is a character by the name Tychus J. Findlay who is befriended by Raynor. . . well the Starcraft 2 video preview. . . that's him. . .how does he come by having chains on him?? Read the book. Cheers.

posted by Beans-n-Bullets on June 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Three and a half stars for a good book that had the potential to be a great one . . .

This book did not quite deliver. The second act was a bit slow, and I found myself bored at times. But the first and especially third acts more than make up for it. I was pleasantly surprised to find a few truly well-developed characters. The author could have expanded ...
This book did not quite deliver. The second act was a bit slow, and I found myself bored at times. But the first and especially third acts more than make up for it. I was pleasantly surprised to find a few truly well-developed characters. The author could have expanded on a few characters, and some plot points were also weak. But I did like the book, don't get me wrong, but I would go into it expecting little so you will be pleasantly surprised. Enjoy.

Devil's Due, here I come. :)

posted by JamesFincher on October 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book if your a Sci Fi buff and Starcraft fanatic

    If you already have some cash down on the "hopefully" late July release of Starcraft 2 then this book should hold you over and help you develop a since of how the characters stand in the game. The book focuses around Jim Raynor's early teen life and picks up slowly going from farm boy to Confed Recruit to Marine. It's a good book and I feel if I say anything I maybe revealing too much. . but here's a something to perk your ears: There is a character by the name Tychus J. Findlay who is befriended by Raynor. . . well the Starcraft 2 video preview. . . that's him. . .how does he come by having chains on him?? Read the book. Cheers.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Three and a half stars for a good book that had the potential to be a great one . . .

    This book did not quite deliver. The second act was a bit slow, and I found myself bored at times. But the first and especially third acts more than make up for it. I was pleasantly surprised to find a few truly well-developed characters. The author could have expanded on a few characters, and some plot points were also weak. But I did like the book, don't get me wrong, but I would go into it expecting little so you will be pleasantly surprised. Enjoy.

    Devil's Due, here I come. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Great Book

    Full of action, suspense, greed, revenge, and destruction. If you have played the any of the StarCrafts, this is a must have.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2012

    Not Highly Recommended

    This book, while it does provide insight into what presaged Jim Raynor and Tychus Findlay in the Starcraft series, is not a good stand-alone novel. I actually had to put the book down in mid sentence in some places because it was poorly written and the dialogue was just not believable. The characters did not blend well with each other, were 2D, and altogether uninteresting. The only reason I would recommend this book to someone is if they REALLY wanted to know the backstory behind the Starcraft characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    StarCraft fans must read!!

    wow i always wondered what made Jim Raynor tick and what got him started. Well in the Heaven's Devils lies the answer. This book really goes down deep to expose where one of the most iconic characters got his charisma, attitude, his experience. i could not put the book down from the moment i got it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    Can't wait!

    I just ordered the book online, and I can't wait to read it. I've read almost all of Blizzard's Starcraft franchise books, as well as a few of the Warcraft franchise books. It dissapoints me that there is no swearing in this, I like the whole rough and vulgar feeling of the marines in Starcraft. I've played Starcraft I and am in the Beta for Starcraft II, and I can't wait to get my hands on the story. This book is going to be great.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    STARCRAFT world is great

    Fast paced story that doesn't waste time in fluff details

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2013

    Epic

    Epic

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3