Customer Reviews for

Starcrossed

Average Rating 4.5
( 357 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(258)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Amazing love story and plot!

Oh heaven help me, not only is this kind of love story that fires me up, but there's sparks flying around the non-love interest guys, too! Angelini is an amazing writer. She sets up a beautiful love story that has spanned the ages combined with an intense plot that kee...
Oh heaven help me, not only is this kind of love story that fires me up, but there's sparks flying around the non-love interest guys, too! Angelini is an amazing writer. She sets up a beautiful love story that has spanned the ages combined with an intense plot that keeps you turning the pages. Her writing is clear, descriptive, passionate, and at times humorous. One scene I was holding my breath and the next I was laughing out loud. A writer soon becomes one of my faves when she/he can pull off the love/hate relationship between characters, and Angilini smoked it with Helen and Lucas. Helen can't seem to control the voice within herself urging her to kill Lucas, and finds herself chasing him down in the hallway at school, ready to pound his head in. But as the story progresses-no spoilers-Lucas and Helen overcome this, and fall in love. Beautifully written, the romance in this story is breathtaking. I loved all the twists and turns and heightened tension between Helen and Lucas as they struggled to be together, and decipher their connection to one another. The other characters are wonderful, too. Lucas's family (hot brothers, whoa-and cool sisters) are great at helping to build that tension. I have to admit that I did kind of see the twist near the end coming, and was praying it didn't go there, but. At least part of the story is written in third person, so we get another POV and the reader doesn't have to wait till the next book to breathe a little easier. I really liked Helen. I'm so happy she was not a whinny, pouty girl that isn't willing to accept her powers. She's tough, smart, and ready to fight for what she wants. I love the romance in this story. I love the action, the suspense, the plot, and. Just everything! It's a great addition to the YA market and I'm counting down the days till I can get my hands on the second book. Anyone who enjoys Greek mythology, smoldering, true love romance, and action-packed plots, will devour Starcrossed. I highly recommend it!

From my blog at YA Bound

posted by ParaBooks on March 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Very boring

Instead of this book go read... -THE HUNGER GAMES -Divergent -A million suns -Percy Jackson series -Gemma Doyle series AWESOME BOOKS!!!!!

posted by 10398940 on January 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    A Unique Twist on Greek Mythology

    I was really looking forward to this book. First of all, the cover is gorgeous, the synopsis sounded interesting, and I love mythology. However, Starcrossed didn't turn out to be everything that I was expecting.

    Helen Hamilton leads a fairly ordinary life. She goes through the motions of school and chores and tries to avoid attracting any unnecessary attention. But all of that changes when the Delos family moves to Nantucket. When Helen finally sees Lucas, she hates him instantly; so much, in fact, that she literally flies into a rage and attacks him. And that is only the beginning. She can't bear to be around any member of the Delos family, and the feeling is mutual. Yet with one near-death experience, everything changes. Soon Helen and Lucas don't know if they are destined to be mortal enemies or star-crossed lovers. Helen has a lot to learn from the Delos family, about herself and her history, but when she finally learns the truth, will it be too much to handle?

    I really wanted to love this book. After hearing some of my friends talk about it, I thought I would love this book. But I couldn't. The mythology was interesting, and I enjoyed learning the truth about Helen's heritage and abilities along with her. Similarly, I liked getting to know the Delos family and their talents. The book was certainly never dull; there was always something new to discover or another sweet moment to experience.

    Yet even though the book was good, but it didn't live up to my expectations. I rarely ever say this, because so many books have similar plots (and let's face it, I read similar stories because that's what I like), but this book reminded me of Twilight. It took me a long time to see past the similarities; it wasn't the overall story that had things in common, it was the details. I think I could have overlooked a lot of this if the mythology had been stronger, but instead I spent more time trying to figure out what was going on for the first part of the book than being drawn into the story.

    That being said, I did enjoy this book. The second half of the book was much more engaging than the first. Aside from one of the last revelations, I felt that some important questions were finally answered. However, there is not much of a sense of closure; instead, a lot of threads are left to be addressed in the sequel. Even though it took a while to get into this book, I do plan to read the next in the series and see where Angelini takes this story.

    In Starcrossed, Angelini gives a unique twist to Greek mythology and uses it as a backdrop to two teenagers caught in an ill-fated love. I'll be curious to see what happens next!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Recommended, but a terrible beginning...

    I could barely stand the first 50 or so pages of this book. It started out slow and boring and I thought about switching to another book. I was glad I stuck it out because before I knew it the storyline finally kicked in and I was reading till early hours of the morning. I just couldn't put it down. I recommend this book, but beware of the terrible beginning. I give it 3 stars because I feel that she could've wrote a better storyline at the start to make it more attention getting. Happy reading :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Clever Retelling of Greek Mythology

    The author's writing leaves something to be desired but the story is an intriguing retelling of Greek ythology as it might occur in present day. Definitely worth the few hours it took to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Modern Take of Greek Mythology for Teens

    Helen Hamilton has always tried her hardest to be normal and fit in with the rest of the crowd at school. This has never been easy for her, however, as she continues to grow abnormally tall and is super strong and extra fast. But when the mysteriously gorgeous Delos family moves into town, Helen's powers are magnified even more so. With slight reluctance, the Delos family helps Helen learn about who she is and where she came from. Still, as Helen grows and fine-tunes her powers, a darker, more sinister being awaits for the perfect opportunity to strike.

    As much as I loved the cover for this book, I wasn't at all sure I would actually like the story. Perhaps the low expectations made for a nice surprise, as I ended up liking this book well enough. It was refreshing to see that Helen always knew she was different, even if she wasn't quite sure how or why she wasn't normal. She is aware of her powers but finds them more confusing that those other characters that suddenly wake up and have unique abilities. Though one of her powers specifically (you will know which one when you read it!) seems very out of place compared to the others in the book. The writing sounded a bit amateur in places, as Angelini preferred to tell things rather than show them. But the overly alluring characters made up for the weaker writing. Many readers will see similarities to the Twilight Saga (especially with the beautiful new family coming to town), but really the similarities stop there. Angelini works hard to make this story her own, and it is obvious she loves her Greek mythology. The long chapters pull the story along, moving the reader through the action in large chunks. I am not yet sure if I will read the next book, but this was is worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Advanced Reader Edition Review

    This story is peppered with Greek mythology, names of gods, goddesses, hereos, cities, and kings of Greek mythology.

    This is a modern-day retelling classic tale of Helen of Troy, with it's own backstory. The fact is that almost every character in the novel can be traced through some event in Greek myhtology. The story is about Helen Hamilton a 17 yr old girl from the Island of Nantucket. She is differnt, she just doesn't realize how differnt. It is a stoy about being who you, and fate, and destiny.

    I belive many YR readers will be able to relate to. My only complaint is I felt some of the events in the book could have been sumed up rather than drawn out, the 496 page read seemed to lag on and on. However I think this novel will be appealing to its targetted aduiance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Will be better appreciated by actual YAs....

    Helen Hamilton has always felt different. She's too tall. Too beautiful. She can run too fast. Strange things tend to happen around her. When a new family comes to town, she suddenly is overcome with an uncontrollable desire to attack the unbelieveably gorgeous teenage son of the fsmily, Lucas. Why does she wake up at night more tired than when she lay down? Who are the three strange women who are haunting her both day and night? Why does the Delos family seem to know more about her than she does herself?

    The target audience (junior high and high school-aged girls) will probably really like this book. My students will probably really like this book. I wanted to really like this book--it's Greek mythology given a modern twist, it's got roots in the saga of the Trojan War, it has main characters with the names of some of my favorite family members--but I didn't. The three stars are more for the storyline and the idea behind the story than for the actual novel itself.

    Although it had a lot of promise, the way this novel was written just drove me crazy. The characters spend a lot of time yelling and screaming at each other ("yelled" and "screamed" being two of the very few subsitutes for "said" in the book), and much of their conversation is just too stilted to be believeable. There is way more "telling" in this book than "showing", and at times it was downright painful to read. Helen constantly jumps back and forth between knowing nothing about herself to understanding more than should be immediately possible for her to know, and it's almost dizzying. One glaring plot hole will drive me crazy for quite some time (how can a major lie not be detected by a Falsefinder, especially when it so closely involves him?), and I'll be looking for it to (hopefully) be resolved in the second book in the series. I will be looking for the second book, and hoping that the author will brush up her technique between now and then, because I really do think she has a lot of potential which clearly isn't realized in this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1