Customer Reviews for

Stardust

Average Rating 4
( 564 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(272)

4 Star

(169)

3 Star

(78)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Enthralling

I was given this book as a gift and had it for two years before I actually read it. I fell in love with it. The book is what spurred me on to see the movie. Although, I enjoyed the movie; had I not read the book first I would not have been able to follow the movie ne...
I was given this book as a gift and had it for two years before I actually read it. I fell in love with it. The book is what spurred me on to see the movie. Although, I enjoyed the movie; had I not read the book first I would not have been able to follow the movie nearly as well as I did. Even after seeing the movie, I have to say that I much prefer the book. I don't care to have a movie make my choices for me. I'd rather stretch my imagination. The book will take any one with an active and appreciative imagination on a wild ride. I find Neil Gaiman to be a top notch author who knows how to intrigue the discerning reader. There is no need for hot steamy sexual encounters to guage the romantic levels of a story - it's all in the mind. Mr. Gaiman knows how to engage the mind. Just as in real life, in this story; the romance is there if you as a reader know how to find it. This book was a refreshing change from the "in-your-face" blatant sexuality of today's romance novels and the bloody gore of today's murder mysteries. Don't get me wrong; in an entertainment venue I enjoy sex and violence just like the rest of the general populace. But sometimes it's fun to take a step back and enjoy some innocent fun. Mr. Gaiman delivers it all and more.

posted by An_Avid_Fan on September 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Fell Short :/

I saw the movie Stardust, starring Claire Danes and Robert De Niro before I realized this was a book. Once I discovered this movie came from a written story I decided I had to read it, because I loved the movie so much! Sadly, the story fell short for me. I managed to g...
I saw the movie Stardust, starring Claire Danes and Robert De Niro before I realized this was a book. Once I discovered this movie came from a written story I decided I had to read it, because I loved the movie so much! Sadly, the story fell short for me. I managed to get about 3/4 of the way through before I decided I already knew the ending and could bare to put it down to start something new. I have a hefty library, and I'm attempting to get through most of the books I have so it wasn't a hard decision. The book just seemed to drag on forever. I got about half-way through before Tristan ever found the star and from then on the story just seemed to move slower. I found it hard to concentrate on the book and managed to find many other things to distract myself with instead of finishing the story. It was almost as if I were forcing myself through a school required book. Don't get me wrong, the writing is beautiful, intelligent and almost poetic, but the pace of the plot does no justice to the writer's excellent vocabulary and descriptive nature. In the long run, watching the movie will do more justice to this story than reading the book.

posted by anna-b on August 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 565 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    Enthralling

    I was given this book as a gift and had it for two years before I actually read it. I fell in love with it. The book is what spurred me on to see the movie. Although, I enjoyed the movie; had I not read the book first I would not have been able to follow the movie nearly as well as I did. Even after seeing the movie, I have to say that I much prefer the book. I don't care to have a movie make my choices for me. I'd rather stretch my imagination. The book will take any one with an active and appreciative imagination on a wild ride. I find Neil Gaiman to be a top notch author who knows how to intrigue the discerning reader. There is no need for hot steamy sexual encounters to guage the romantic levels of a story - it's all in the mind. Mr. Gaiman knows how to engage the mind. Just as in real life, in this story; the romance is there if you as a reader know how to find it. This book was a refreshing change from the "in-your-face" blatant sexuality of today's romance novels and the bloody gore of today's murder mysteries. Don't get me wrong; in an entertainment venue I enjoy sex and violence just like the rest of the general populace. But sometimes it's fun to take a step back and enjoy some innocent fun. Mr. Gaiman delivers it all and more.

    33 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Probably one of the most accurate reviews here...

    You people are talking about the movie as if it was similar in any way to the book, when in fact, the two stories are just about as different as they could be. They might as well not even be related. I view the movie as a completely different tale from the book, both of them artistic and charming and adventurous. But they're both just too different to try and do what a disappointing amount of you people are doing. You can't hate the movie for not being close to the book because they made a completely different story out of it, and you can't hate the book for not having the same lighthearted feel as the movie because the book is, as it has always been, its own personal work of art. I love the book AND the movie as separate tales, because that's really the most logical way to look at it. Also, I notice people keep complaining about how boring they thought the book was. These are the type of people who sit in front of the TV for 24 hours each day because they feel the need to be constantly entertained. They probably wouldn't last an hour reading Lord of the Rings or the Hobbit, simply because they lack the brain power to stay attentive without their televised love triangles and sparkling vampires (Although with similar concepts, the two are meant to be unrelated here). So finally, the book can only be found dry if your imagination is.

    24 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fell Short :/

    I saw the movie Stardust, starring Claire Danes and Robert De Niro before I realized this was a book. Once I discovered this movie came from a written story I decided I had to read it, because I loved the movie so much! Sadly, the story fell short for me. I managed to get about 3/4 of the way through before I decided I already knew the ending and could bare to put it down to start something new. I have a hefty library, and I'm attempting to get through most of the books I have so it wasn't a hard decision. The book just seemed to drag on forever. I got about half-way through before Tristan ever found the star and from then on the story just seemed to move slower. I found it hard to concentrate on the book and managed to find many other things to distract myself with instead of finishing the story. It was almost as if I were forcing myself through a school required book. Don't get me wrong, the writing is beautiful, intelligent and almost poetic, but the pace of the plot does no justice to the writer's excellent vocabulary and descriptive nature. In the long run, watching the movie will do more justice to this story than reading the book.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Don't waste your time, just go see the film

    Personally, I not only think the movie was better than the book, but I think that the script writers for the film did Neil Gaiman a huge favor by taking such a horrible book and turning it into something good. On almost every page Gaiman cuts himself off mid-thought. There are incomplete sentences all over the place. The character development is horrible. You end up not caring one bit about anyone in the whole book. And Neil Gaiman seriously needs to take a class or something on how to write romantic moments. This books is a major waste of time and money. All of my friends keep telling me his other work is better, but after reading this novel, I don't really care to read any of his other work. Disappoint me once, shame on you; twice, shame on me.

    7 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by The Compulsive Reader for TeensReadToo.com

    Tristran Thorn would do absolutely anything to win pretty Victoria Forrester's heart. Even venture across The Wall into mysterious Faerie in search of a fallen star. <BR/><BR/>But once he enters Faerie, strange things begin to happen. <BR/><BR/>Tristran knows the location of every place in the land. He meets a strange, small man who gives him a candle that allows him to travel great distances. And when he finally finds the fallen star, Tristran discovers that it is not a lump of rock like he thought, but a young woman, who has quite the mind of her own. <BR/><BR/>Tristran, though, isn't the only one looking for the star. The witch queen and a group of three brothers all want something of it. For these brothers, it's the power she possesses. For the witch, it's her heart. <BR/><BR/>STARDUST was completely entrancing, charming, and a surprisingly quick read. The star's spunk and Tristran's humanity are both to be admired in this adventurous tale that will make you laugh out loud and break into tears. This is one book not to be missed.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2007

    great

    this was an amazing book, but i had one problem with it- the scene between Dunstan Thorn and the slave girl. it was inappropriate, in my opinion, but otherwise this was a truly wonderful book

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Leaves you wanting more

    As soon--as soon--as I finished Stardust, I went on line looking for more Neil Gaiman.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2009

    Just plain fun.

    The book was well written and I loved the characters. I read the book before I saw the movie. I liked the movie but the book was so much better. It was very entertaining. Sometimes I find that books that are fantasy seem to be written too juvenile. This book is enjoyable for all ages.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    BORING

    I found this book boring and dull. There was no charater development and the adult action in the begining almost made me return it!!

    3 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    Many moviegoers did not realize that the recently released movie Stardust was actually based on a story by Neil Gaiman and illustrated by Charles Vess. The book Stardust 'Being a Romance Within the Realm of Faerie' was originally released in 1997, but is now receiving more attention thanks to the film. The breezy 212-page book 'including illustrations' could be considered more a story than a true novel, but Stardust¿s brevity does not mean that it lacks a swiftly moving plot and creative characters. The romantic story is about the young love-struck Tristran Thorn who journeys to find a falling star to give to the beautiful, but haughty, Victoria Forester to win her love. To Tristran¿s surprise, however, the star turns out to be a woman named Yvaine. And Yvaine does not make for an easy traveling partner. Her powers attract power-hungry princes and evil witches, who pursue the duo throughout the novel. Neil Gaiman has written both science fiction and fantasy graphic novels, comics, and books. Among these works are the popular comic The Sandman and the novel American Gods. Gaiman also co-wrote the screenplay for the movie Beowulf, coming to theaters this year. His writing can be compared to the works of C.S. Lewis and Douglas Adams. Stardust is an engaging read because it is infused with compelling originality. Despite the reappearance of familiar fairytale motifs like wicked witches and magic emblems, the story still feels fresh and unique. The plot is mostly driven by Tristran and Yvaine¿s journey through the mystical land of Faerie, but there are also several subplots that keep the story moving and interesting. For example, in one chapter, Tristran and Yvaine are stranded on a cloud. There, they are rescued by Captain Alberic and his crew of lightning-harvesters on a flying ship. This scene, among others, gives the book a sense of wonder. In addition to the text, Charles Vess¿ beautiful illustrations and sketches are a supplement that completes the book¿s nostalgic fairytale feel, and make the story feel alive to the reader. Overall, Stardust is an original book that will easily satisfy any fans of the fantasy genre, romantics, or anyone who is looking for a light-hearted, enjoyable read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Great fantasy

    I loved both the book and the movie, but do not compare them, they are two very different fantasies. Gaiman takes the elements of an old fashion fairytale and brings it to a new light. Who would have thought falling stars, greedy princes, lovesick heroes, and wicked witches would be exciting again?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I liked the movie better

    Strange to say because i think the story was better in the book but i think that my reading style and Neil Gaimens writing style just dont seem to mesh.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2010

    It Made Me Smile

    I've been reading an unusually large amount of books lately (for me) most of which didn't have the happiest outcomes. This book is on the complete opposite end of the spectrum. It makes the readers feel good. It'd be really hard to hate the main character, too.
    It's a nice break from all the drama and psychological books that keep you thinking. This one lull's your mind and takes you for an enjoyable ride. Having everything fall together is a big relief, its nice not feeling tense the entire time worrying about what's going to happen next.

    There's really nothing more to say, it's hard to review a book that just gives you pure joy in reading it. I felt really good (still feeling good) after reading this. A definite read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Perfect Book.

    Neil Gaiman is an AMAZING author. If you liked the movie, you'll love the book! The characters are developed, and detailed. It doesn't take much to visualize the scenes of this well described, fabulously written book. I encourage individualls of all ages to read this book. It would make a great book for anyone that appreciates creativity or fairy tales.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    The movie was better

    I think this is THE first book where I enjoyed the movie better than the book. The chemistry of Yvaine and Tristran was dull, the witch's ambition barely moving, and the dialogue hardly witty. Kudos to whoever wrote the movie adaption. That this book ever made a good movie is the true magic here.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    Love it!

    One of the first Neil Gaiman I read, and years later still one of my favorites. Fantastic adventure, romance, fairy tale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    I saw the movie first, like some people, but went into the story

    I saw the movie first, like some people, but went into the story trying not to expect it to be like the movie. It would be different, but not necessarily worse or better. Keeping an open mind, I bought the book. What a regret! I don't mind that I read it, but I regret not spending that money on something better. I ended up giving the book away because I knew I'd never want to read it again.
    I gave the book 3 stars simply because it just didn't seem as well-written as other books I've read, and I felt bad giving it any less. I'm sure by seeing the movie first, I couldn't help holding some sort of bias.
    I've never read his other books, and I was curious about his style before ever starting this one. Unfortunately, I didn't feel moved to dig deeper into his other stories after reading this one.
    I guess I'm glad some people like it, though. Someone had to if they made a movie based on it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    What?

    I totally loved this book till the end. Then when i finished the book i was like is this the end? The end of the movie i thought did a better job on making it light hearted and sweet. The book was still good and a enjoyable read it just didnt have as strong as an end as the movie did. However it is hard to say one is better over another because they were so different from each other. By saying I like the movie better does not mean that I dont have creativity or need a TV to entertain me. I just thought the end could have been different.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    In world full of A.D.D.

    This is one of my all time favorite books by Neil Gaiman. I'm rather appalled at many of the reviews by people on here who compare the mediocre movie to the work of art it's based on. Don't believe what you read here as the book is superior in every way to the film adaptation. It is a wonderful adventure and one of Neil's best works. Anyone who tells you the movie is better has the attention span of a gnat. If you like great classic style fantasy this is worth every minute of your time!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Don't Waste Your Time

    I was absolutely excited to read this book. It was sitting in the back of my mind to read after the hype of the movie a year or 3 back. How this book made a movie that was that entertaining I have no idea. Let me explain this the best I can. I'm not saying that the book is horrible, it isn't. I was expecting the charm, witty humor, and grand sense of adventure that the movie had. This...........had really none of that. I hate to say i but save your money, save your time, and just rent/buy the movie, it's way more enjoyable.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 565 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29