Customer Reviews for

Stardust

Average Rating 4
( 579 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(278)

4 Star

(171)

3 Star

(84)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Enthralling

I was given this book as a gift and had it for two years before I actually read it. I fell in love with it. The book is what spurred me on to see the movie. Although, I enjoyed the movie; had I not read the book first I would not have been able to follow the movie ne...
I was given this book as a gift and had it for two years before I actually read it. I fell in love with it. The book is what spurred me on to see the movie. Although, I enjoyed the movie; had I not read the book first I would not have been able to follow the movie nearly as well as I did. Even after seeing the movie, I have to say that I much prefer the book. I don't care to have a movie make my choices for me. I'd rather stretch my imagination. The book will take any one with an active and appreciative imagination on a wild ride. I find Neil Gaiman to be a top notch author who knows how to intrigue the discerning reader. There is no need for hot steamy sexual encounters to guage the romantic levels of a story - it's all in the mind. Mr. Gaiman knows how to engage the mind. Just as in real life, in this story; the romance is there if you as a reader know how to find it. This book was a refreshing change from the "in-your-face" blatant sexuality of today's romance novels and the bloody gore of today's murder mysteries. Don't get me wrong; in an entertainment venue I enjoy sex and violence just like the rest of the general populace. But sometimes it's fun to take a step back and enjoy some innocent fun. Mr. Gaiman delivers it all and more.

posted by An_Avid_Fan on September 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Fell Short :/

I saw the movie Stardust, starring Claire Danes and Robert De Niro before I realized this was a book. Once I discovered this movie came from a written story I decided I had to read it, because I loved the movie so much! Sadly, the story fell short for me. I managed to g...
I saw the movie Stardust, starring Claire Danes and Robert De Niro before I realized this was a book. Once I discovered this movie came from a written story I decided I had to read it, because I loved the movie so much! Sadly, the story fell short for me. I managed to get about 3/4 of the way through before I decided I already knew the ending and could bare to put it down to start something new. I have a hefty library, and I'm attempting to get through most of the books I have so it wasn't a hard decision. The book just seemed to drag on forever. I got about half-way through before Tristan ever found the star and from then on the story just seemed to move slower. I found it hard to concentrate on the book and managed to find many other things to distract myself with instead of finishing the story. It was almost as if I were forcing myself through a school required book. Don't get me wrong, the writing is beautiful, intelligent and almost poetic, but the pace of the plot does no justice to the writer's excellent vocabulary and descriptive nature. In the long run, watching the movie will do more justice to this story than reading the book.

posted by anna-b on August 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 580 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 29
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    I saw the movie first, like some people, but went into the story

    I saw the movie first, like some people, but went into the story trying not to expect it to be like the movie. It would be different, but not necessarily worse or better. Keeping an open mind, I bought the book. What a regret! I don't mind that I read it, but I regret not spending that money on something better. I ended up giving the book away because I knew I'd never want to read it again.
    I gave the book 3 stars simply because it just didn't seem as well-written as other books I've read, and I felt bad giving it any less. I'm sure by seeing the movie first, I couldn't help holding some sort of bias.
    I've never read his other books, and I was curious about his style before ever starting this one. Unfortunately, I didn't feel moved to dig deeper into his other stories after reading this one.
    I guess I'm glad some people like it, though. Someone had to if they made a movie based on it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    What?

    I totally loved this book till the end. Then when i finished the book i was like is this the end? The end of the movie i thought did a better job on making it light hearted and sweet. The book was still good and a enjoyable read it just didnt have as strong as an end as the movie did. However it is hard to say one is better over another because they were so different from each other. By saying I like the movie better does not mean that I dont have creativity or need a TV to entertain me. I just thought the end could have been different.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    In world full of A.D.D.

    This is one of my all time favorite books by Neil Gaiman. I'm rather appalled at many of the reviews by people on here who compare the mediocre movie to the work of art it's based on. Don't believe what you read here as the book is superior in every way to the film adaptation. It is a wonderful adventure and one of Neil's best works. Anyone who tells you the movie is better has the attention span of a gnat. If you like great classic style fantasy this is worth every minute of your time!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Don't Waste Your Time

    I was absolutely excited to read this book. It was sitting in the back of my mind to read after the hype of the movie a year or 3 back. How this book made a movie that was that entertaining I have no idea. Let me explain this the best I can. I'm not saying that the book is horrible, it isn't. I was expecting the charm, witty humor, and grand sense of adventure that the movie had. This...........had really none of that. I hate to say i but save your money, save your time, and just rent/buy the movie, it's way more enjoyable.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fantasty at it's best...

    Neil Gaiman is by my definition a modern-day renaissance man.He writes books for adults, books for children, writes songs, graphic novels, comic books, and much much more.He truly is a writer capable of many things and writes with an imagination unparalleled.

    Tristran Thorn is completely head over heels in love with Victoria Forester.While walking in their hometown of Wall one evening Tristran decides to tell Victoria of his eternal love for her.A star begins to fall as Tristran tells Victoria, prompting her to say to him that if he goes and captures the star she will let him have his hearts desires. Knowing that the star is the way to Victoria's heart he sets off across the wall (the wall is what gives the town its name) and begins his journey for the star in the land of Faerie.Along the journey he meets a cast of characters that are all a bit strange: witches, stars, flying lightning catchers, little hairy men, a unicorn, talking trees, and many more.Each play an integral part in his journey to the star and also make him question his heritage.Is he really the son of the Thorns from Wall, or is there more about him that meets the eye.Is his love for Victoria really as eternal as he thinks it is? The star on the other hand has a journey of her own, trying to escape an evil witch that is trying to eat her heart for eternal youth.The star must also be found by the next leader of Stormhold so that they may lay claim on the topaz jewel that she wears around her waist.Will Tristran and the star make it through the perilous journey and back to Wall in time for Tristran to present the star to Victoria?You must read Stardust to find out!

    The first thing I have to say about this novel is the detail in which Gaiman writes.He has literally created an entire world for his readers.I really wish that the world he created was real because it is amazing. The detail that is put into describing places that don't really get visited in the novel is just exquisite. Gaiman's entire novel is filled with these descriptive passages. It's absolutely amazing to read and be able to picture what you are reading in your entire head. Even though the above paragraph is one sentence, it doesn't read as one sentence. My brain would take pauses as I was reading to create the images I was reading about.It certainly made the novel more enjoyable for me. (I'm guessing it would for other readers as well)
    There are so many enjoyable characters in Stardust. Tristran has an amazing "coming of age" story that is written so well.For me I've sometimes read novels that the character just becomes an adult without anything really driving their maturity.In Stardust Tristran must take his childhood and his childhood learnings and use them as instruments that drive his march into adulthood.He must come to terms with his lineage and his emotions and use them all on his journey both from Wall to Faerie and from child to adult.On the other hand Yvaine, the star, must learn to deal with her new surroundings.As a fallen star she will never be allowed back into the sky and so must learn to live among the creatures/people of Faerie.While she starts off as a proud and angry star, she learns that not everyone "below" is after her; there are some that do have her best interests at heart.It's Gaiman's characterizations of these characters that make them so likeable and so enjoyable to read about.

    Kimberly (Reflections of a Book Addict)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    Coming of Age in Fairyland

    This was a charming, quick story of self-growth and achieving adulthood, all done up in a nifty magical world. There's humor there, too, and it's quite engaging. Fun.

    I read this book almost immediately after seeing the movie; it's not clear to me how much of my good feeling is from attaching the words to the movie. There were few differences between the two; you can either take that to mean that the movie did a good job of following the book, or that the book adds damn little to what the movie presents. It is clear that Gaiman has the knack for writing short novels (or novellas) that can easily be transformed into screenplays, and this is one of those.

    4 of 5 stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    STARDUST

    In this fairy tale for adults, Tristran Thorn goes into Faerie to get a fallen star for the girl of his dreams. He goes into Faerie thinking he'd find a rock, but finds out the star is a girl. On the journey back Tristran has to ask himself if Victoria really is his true love. A witch and the sons of Stormhold are after the star. STARDUST is a beautiful original fairy tale. Loved the book just as much as the movie. STARDUST is like a longer version of a Grimm tale. This is a story that can be read and enjoyed over and over again and passed down generations.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great, Simple Story

    Stardust is a lovely, sweet, unpretentious book. Neil Gaiman doesn't try to grapple with huge metaphysical problems or feel it necessary to philosophize solemnly on life and death as so many other fantasy authors do. He just tells his story straight: this is a book that will calm your frazzled nerves and transport you into a wonderful world. The romance is, to be sure, a rip-off of Tolkien, and occasionally the light tone does seem out of place while the characters deal with the fate of a kingdom, but these are problems you'll only notice hours later. And the writing is typically gorgeous. Highly recommended for everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Neil Gaiman at his best

    I had just read "The Graveyard Book" by Neil Gaiman on a whim and was totally captivated by that book. So, here I go trying a book by the same author but not in the juvenile section.
    The story is wonderfully written and the characters are drawn in a way that makes you understand their actions, good and bad, and keeps you on your toes as the story unfolds.
    I enjoy the way the author uses wit and whimsy in the story. It almost makes it seem like a true story. That, to me, is a wonderful feeling when I read a book. I can just hear the characters talking in my mind.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Surprisingly Mediocre

    I wanted to like it, I really did. I loved the movie and this was my introduction to Gaiman's writing. I was a little disappointed by how much I didn't. This is, I think, a lesson in "read the book before you see the movie" because I went into the book expecting something vastly different than what was there.

    Still, I appreciated his style and I'll give him another go.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good book, but the movie was better

    I decided to read the book after watching the movie. While there are a small number of things that I preferred in the book the finale in the movie was much more entertaining. It may have been trite, but the ending in the book is what is commonly referred to as "Anti-climax". You expect a monumental ending and it never arrives.

    That said it was still an entertaining read and you may not be as disappointed in the ending if you haven't seen the movie.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Book is good, but see the movie instead

    The book is good, but the movie is better. I was disappointed that it seemed to gloss over whole parts of the journey (such as the time on board the ship capturing lightning). By the end it didn't seem reasonable that Tristan and the Star might actually like each other. The overall ending of the book wasn't as satisfying as the movie.

    If you're only going to do one, see the movie.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Movie version is slightly better...

    and a little more fulfilling, in the "typical" romantic fairytail ending sort of way. Book is good and I would/have recommend/ed it to my friends. It will remain part of my permanent library.
    What I found most enjoyable about the book was the writing style... Imaginitive, simple yet eloquent.
    I look forward to reading some of his other works.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    adult fairy tale

    this book was described as an adult fairy tale, and i totally agree. watched the movie first - it may have affected how i enjoyed the book. the book alone is great though, i love the style of writing. i suggest you watch the movie afterwards, it shows great visuals, and would be interesting to compare to your imagination.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    very orginal

    This book was probably one of the most creative books i have ever read. How orginal is a star that falls out of the sky and is in the form of a humman girl or more should i say women. It was predictable in the sense that while reading you knew that they would be togather. It was totally worth buying and i might read this book again in the future.
    Neil Gaiman is really hot author but that is not why i like him but yeah hottest author i have seen yet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Stardust, a Traditional Fairy Tale for the Modern Age

    First off, for those of you who saw the movie and now want to read the book, you should know that this book is not the movie. A lot of changes were made made to make it fit on the screen, and to be entertaining because of the time compression.

    However, that being said, this book is still quite delightful in its own way. If you have read a lot of fantasy in your life, then you will certainly recognize many of the fairy tale tropes that are played straight in this book. There are the usual coincidences, good deeds done to people who become unexpected allies, evil witches, and romance, with all of the good people getting a happy ending (of course).

    But this book does it in a very entertaining way. Everything is well paced, and many of the characters are given good development as we learn more about them. As time goes on, we honestly begin to feel that these are believable people, and that the fantastical land that they travel and live in could be real, even if this is just fairy tale. And for the icing on the cake, occasionally there are times when the author manages to add quite a nice touch of humor and entertainment by subverting the usual format (I wish I could list some examples, but I really don't want to spoil it).

    All in all, this is a good read that will easily keep your attention, and I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Really liked it.

    I picked it this book up because it's by Neil Gaiman and I loved Coraline, so I thought I would love this book too. Turns out I did, even though I didn't love it nearly as much as I loved Coraline. I didn't even know it was a movie until after I read it, so I guess I might like it a little bit less if I had something to compare it to. This book inspired me to write some of my own stories again, because it was just so cute and imaginative.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    The movie is better...

    After watching the movie (and LOVING it), I decided to buy the book to read. They are similar as far as plot an characters go, but I thought the characters in the movie are much more charming and lovable. I found myself somewhat apathetic towards the plight of the characters in the book. It is a quick enjoyable read, though, and is great for days where you want to just sit somewhere and read something that you won't have to think about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love Story

    Other than The Princess Bride, this is the best love story I know. It is an adventure, a comedy, a thriller and a drama. Most of all though, it is a beautiful love story. A lot happens, and sometimes keeping track of the jumping back and forth of the story is a little tiring. But it is just so wonderful!
    Neil Gaiman is a writing master. Every one of his books are totally different from one another. Stardust is worth the read, even if you have seen the movie. The movie, while still good, is a lot different than the book. The book is better.
    This is a perfect love story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    lively and enjoyable...

    Rating: 4.5<BR/><BR/>Stardust is a lively and enjoyable fantasy adventure. Tristran travels to the Faerie land across the wall and meets all kinds of fantastical characters and gets into all kinds of dangerous situations, all for the love of a girl. He promises to find the star that they watched fall and bring it back to her. What he doesn't count on is that things in Faerie are not always what they seem, and the star that fell is in fact a beautiful girl, and she'll not be retrieved willingly. This book has witches, flying pirates, magical spells and lots and lots of excitement. Stardust is an enchanting book which was made into an awesome movie. I highly recommend both the book and the movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 580 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 29