Customer Reviews for

Stardust

Average Rating 4
( 568 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(274)

4 Star

(169)

3 Star

(80)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Enthralling

I was given this book as a gift and had it for two years before I actually read it. I fell in love with it. The book is what spurred me on to see the movie. Although, I enjoyed the movie; had I not read the book first I would not have been able to follow the movie ne...
I was given this book as a gift and had it for two years before I actually read it. I fell in love with it. The book is what spurred me on to see the movie. Although, I enjoyed the movie; had I not read the book first I would not have been able to follow the movie nearly as well as I did. Even after seeing the movie, I have to say that I much prefer the book. I don't care to have a movie make my choices for me. I'd rather stretch my imagination. The book will take any one with an active and appreciative imagination on a wild ride. I find Neil Gaiman to be a top notch author who knows how to intrigue the discerning reader. There is no need for hot steamy sexual encounters to guage the romantic levels of a story - it's all in the mind. Mr. Gaiman knows how to engage the mind. Just as in real life, in this story; the romance is there if you as a reader know how to find it. This book was a refreshing change from the "in-your-face" blatant sexuality of today's romance novels and the bloody gore of today's murder mysteries. Don't get me wrong; in an entertainment venue I enjoy sex and violence just like the rest of the general populace. But sometimes it's fun to take a step back and enjoy some innocent fun. Mr. Gaiman delivers it all and more.

posted by An_Avid_Fan on September 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Fell Short :/

I saw the movie Stardust, starring Claire Danes and Robert De Niro before I realized this was a book. Once I discovered this movie came from a written story I decided I had to read it, because I loved the movie so much! Sadly, the story fell short for me. I managed to g...
I saw the movie Stardust, starring Claire Danes and Robert De Niro before I realized this was a book. Once I discovered this movie came from a written story I decided I had to read it, because I loved the movie so much! Sadly, the story fell short for me. I managed to get about 3/4 of the way through before I decided I already knew the ending and could bare to put it down to start something new. I have a hefty library, and I'm attempting to get through most of the books I have so it wasn't a hard decision. The book just seemed to drag on forever. I got about half-way through before Tristan ever found the star and from then on the story just seemed to move slower. I found it hard to concentrate on the book and managed to find many other things to distract myself with instead of finishing the story. It was almost as if I were forcing myself through a school required book. Don't get me wrong, the writing is beautiful, intelligent and almost poetic, but the pace of the plot does no justice to the writer's excellent vocabulary and descriptive nature. In the long run, watching the movie will do more justice to this story than reading the book.

posted by anna-b on August 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fell Short :/

    I saw the movie Stardust, starring Claire Danes and Robert De Niro before I realized this was a book. Once I discovered this movie came from a written story I decided I had to read it, because I loved the movie so much! Sadly, the story fell short for me. I managed to get about 3/4 of the way through before I decided I already knew the ending and could bare to put it down to start something new. I have a hefty library, and I'm attempting to get through most of the books I have so it wasn't a hard decision. The book just seemed to drag on forever. I got about half-way through before Tristan ever found the star and from then on the story just seemed to move slower. I found it hard to concentrate on the book and managed to find many other things to distract myself with instead of finishing the story. It was almost as if I were forcing myself through a school required book. Don't get me wrong, the writing is beautiful, intelligent and almost poetic, but the pace of the plot does no justice to the writer's excellent vocabulary and descriptive nature. In the long run, watching the movie will do more justice to this story than reading the book.

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Leaves you wanting more

    As soon--as soon--as I finished Stardust, I went on line looking for more Neil Gaiman.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    I saw the movie first, like some people, but went into the story

    I saw the movie first, like some people, but went into the story trying not to expect it to be like the movie. It would be different, but not necessarily worse or better. Keeping an open mind, I bought the book. What a regret! I don't mind that I read it, but I regret not spending that money on something better. I ended up giving the book away because I knew I'd never want to read it again.
    I gave the book 3 stars simply because it just didn't seem as well-written as other books I've read, and I felt bad giving it any less. I'm sure by seeing the movie first, I couldn't help holding some sort of bias.
    I've never read his other books, and I was curious about his style before ever starting this one. Unfortunately, I didn't feel moved to dig deeper into his other stories after reading this one.
    I guess I'm glad some people like it, though. Someone had to if they made a movie based on it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    What?

    I totally loved this book till the end. Then when i finished the book i was like is this the end? The end of the movie i thought did a better job on making it light hearted and sweet. The book was still good and a enjoyable read it just didnt have as strong as an end as the movie did. However it is hard to say one is better over another because they were so different from each other. By saying I like the movie better does not mean that I dont have creativity or need a TV to entertain me. I just thought the end could have been different.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I have mixed feelings...

    *I will not spoil anything for those that have not seen the movie or don't know anything about this book.* I've read a bit of Neil Gaiman's writing from the Sand Man comics and enjoyed them very much. I had been wanting to see Stardust and when I finally watched it I fell in love with it. Then later I was told that the movie was based on the book he had written which made me very interested. I enjoy fairy tales and I was curios about how closely the book related to the movie as most movies based on books tend to leave out or add details. So, I picked it up a couple of months ago.
    I would like to say that I liked it as much as the movie but I didn't. I enjoyed the flow of the book and the writing itself made you want to read more. The characters, which were already familiar, seemed just as lively as they were in the movie. I enjoyed discovering the differences in the book compared to the movie as it explained situations in more detail and new experiences were introduced. However, even though it was easy to keep reading it was very bland for me. Nothing extremely exciting happened and most of the time everyone was pretty calm. Even the romance wasn't exactly what I would call romance. If you didn't already know it was going to happen you would think, 'They don't really seem to like each other that much from what I'm reading. They just seem to be good friends.' I was very, very disappointed with the ending which was even more bland than the rest of the story. I don't wish that I had not read the book because my goal for discovering the differences was accomplished, but the book just wasn't what I expected it to be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Surprisingly Mediocre

    I wanted to like it, I really did. I loved the movie and this was my introduction to Gaiman's writing. I was a little disappointed by how much I didn't. This is, I think, a lesson in "read the book before you see the movie" because I went into the book expecting something vastly different than what was there.

    Still, I appreciated his style and I'll give him another go.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Book is good, but see the movie instead

    The book is good, but the movie is better. I was disappointed that it seemed to gloss over whole parts of the journey (such as the time on board the ship capturing lightning). By the end it didn't seem reasonable that Tristan and the Star might actually like each other. The overall ending of the book wasn't as satisfying as the movie.

    If you're only going to do one, see the movie.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    The movie is better...

    After watching the movie (and LOVING it), I decided to buy the book to read. They are similar as far as plot an characters go, but I thought the characters in the movie are much more charming and lovable. I found myself somewhat apathetic towards the plight of the characters in the book. It is a quick enjoyable read, though, and is great for days where you want to just sit somewhere and read something that you won't have to think about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2007

    wasn't what i thought it would be.

    I don't know if my expectations where to high or what, but I didn't really like the book. I did like certain aspects of it, don't get me wrong, i didn't hate hate it, the story was wonderful and without the book there would be no movie. I did see the movie first which I rarely do, but in this case, as u so rarely find, I thought that the movie was better. perhaps it was the feeling you were left with at the end of either of them. the book was a bit more depressing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Difficult to classify. Acceptable for late childhood, or early adolescence.

    Leonard

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    A

    A

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Want a free ipad?

    Kiss your hand three times, post this comment at three different books, and chec under your pillow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    I had high hopes

    I had very high hopes for this book since Stardust is my favorite movie, I assumed the book would be amazing. Sadly I did not find this book amazing and at times it was a chore to read.

    I would have given it two stars but the writing is well done.

    In a lot of ways I felt like I got to know none of the characters and the ending seemed an easy way out. I also felt like the book could have elaborated more on a certain aspects and cut out other parts.

    I was left with a lot of questions at the end of the book and since it is a stand alone book I do not enjoy that happening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Forced plot

    Not as well developed or interconnected as the movie but still entertaining. Seemed like there was too much effort behind making it similar but not just like the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Tcgifj

    Dydgx

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Eh

    Its a good read if you have nothing eles to do

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    STARDUST READ

    This book was a ok book im only saying this because no book is ever great or bad but ok i loved the detail in this book hightly recemend if you like fantsy and fairy tales

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2010

    Decent story, but inappropriate for children

    I had seen the movie many times (still one of my favorites!) so I wanted to read the book.

    The book is different from the movie in many ways, and most of them are bad. There is more violence, and unfortunately, more sex. What the movie DOES shy away from, the book does NOT.

    The story is - in my opinion - much more dry than in the movie. I am usually more of a fan of the book than the movie, but this is not one of those cases; I can honestly say I can see why the movie was changed so much from the book.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2007

    An OK Book

    I saw all the great reviews about the book so i went out to buy it. The books is OK i felt while reading it that it was much too slow. i found myself dosing off while reading it. it could have been better but the story in it self was sweet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2007

    Interesting, if contrived

    I thought that this book sounded interesting- and it was. The story was very imaginative, but I felt that the author could have gone farther some of the secrets were revealed too easily and the love story felt contrived. To me, it seems like the author had a grea idea but was working with a deadline. I do think that younger, less expeirienced readers will really enjoy this book as it is very simple to follow. It is good for what it is- an enjoyable afternoon or two- but not one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4