Customer Reviews for

Stardust

Average Rating 4
( 578 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(278)

4 Star

(170)

3 Star

(84)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Enthralling

I was given this book as a gift and had it for two years before I actually read it. I fell in love with it. The book is what spurred me on to see the movie. Although, I enjoyed the movie; had I not read the book first I would not have been able to follow the movie ne...
I was given this book as a gift and had it for two years before I actually read it. I fell in love with it. The book is what spurred me on to see the movie. Although, I enjoyed the movie; had I not read the book first I would not have been able to follow the movie nearly as well as I did. Even after seeing the movie, I have to say that I much prefer the book. I don't care to have a movie make my choices for me. I'd rather stretch my imagination. The book will take any one with an active and appreciative imagination on a wild ride. I find Neil Gaiman to be a top notch author who knows how to intrigue the discerning reader. There is no need for hot steamy sexual encounters to guage the romantic levels of a story - it's all in the mind. Mr. Gaiman knows how to engage the mind. Just as in real life, in this story; the romance is there if you as a reader know how to find it. This book was a refreshing change from the "in-your-face" blatant sexuality of today's romance novels and the bloody gore of today's murder mysteries. Don't get me wrong; in an entertainment venue I enjoy sex and violence just like the rest of the general populace. But sometimes it's fun to take a step back and enjoy some innocent fun. Mr. Gaiman delivers it all and more.

posted by An_Avid_Fan on September 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Don't waste your time, just go see the film

Personally, I not only think the movie was better than the book, but I think that the script writers for the film did Neil Gaiman a huge favor by taking such a horrible book and turning it into something good. On almost every page Gaiman cuts himself off mid-thought. Th...
Personally, I not only think the movie was better than the book, but I think that the script writers for the film did Neil Gaiman a huge favor by taking such a horrible book and turning it into something good. On almost every page Gaiman cuts himself off mid-thought. There are incomplete sentences all over the place. The character development is horrible. You end up not caring one bit about anyone in the whole book. And Neil Gaiman seriously needs to take a class or something on how to write romantic moments. This books is a major waste of time and money. All of my friends keep telling me his other work is better, but after reading this novel, I don't really care to read any of his other work. Disappoint me once, shame on you; twice, shame on me.

posted by mistress_of_prose on June 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 170 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted November 17, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by The Compulsive Reader for TeensReadToo.com

    Tristran Thorn would do absolutely anything to win pretty Victoria Forrester's heart. Even venture across The Wall into mysterious Faerie in search of a fallen star. <BR/><BR/>But once he enters Faerie, strange things begin to happen. <BR/><BR/>Tristran knows the location of every place in the land. He meets a strange, small man who gives him a candle that allows him to travel great distances. And when he finally finds the fallen star, Tristran discovers that it is not a lump of rock like he thought, but a young woman, who has quite the mind of her own. <BR/><BR/>Tristran, though, isn't the only one looking for the star. The witch queen and a group of three brothers all want something of it. For these brothers, it's the power she possesses. For the witch, it's her heart. <BR/><BR/>STARDUST was completely entrancing, charming, and a surprisingly quick read. The star's spunk and Tristran's humanity are both to be admired in this adventurous tale that will make you laugh out loud and break into tears. This is one book not to be missed.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    Many moviegoers did not realize that the recently released movie Stardust was actually based on a story by Neil Gaiman and illustrated by Charles Vess. The book Stardust 'Being a Romance Within the Realm of Faerie' was originally released in 1997, but is now receiving more attention thanks to the film. The breezy 212-page book 'including illustrations' could be considered more a story than a true novel, but Stardust¿s brevity does not mean that it lacks a swiftly moving plot and creative characters. The romantic story is about the young love-struck Tristran Thorn who journeys to find a falling star to give to the beautiful, but haughty, Victoria Forester to win her love. To Tristran¿s surprise, however, the star turns out to be a woman named Yvaine. And Yvaine does not make for an easy traveling partner. Her powers attract power-hungry princes and evil witches, who pursue the duo throughout the novel. Neil Gaiman has written both science fiction and fantasy graphic novels, comics, and books. Among these works are the popular comic The Sandman and the novel American Gods. Gaiman also co-wrote the screenplay for the movie Beowulf, coming to theaters this year. His writing can be compared to the works of C.S. Lewis and Douglas Adams. Stardust is an engaging read because it is infused with compelling originality. Despite the reappearance of familiar fairytale motifs like wicked witches and magic emblems, the story still feels fresh and unique. The plot is mostly driven by Tristran and Yvaine¿s journey through the mystical land of Faerie, but there are also several subplots that keep the story moving and interesting. For example, in one chapter, Tristran and Yvaine are stranded on a cloud. There, they are rescued by Captain Alberic and his crew of lightning-harvesters on a flying ship. This scene, among others, gives the book a sense of wonder. In addition to the text, Charles Vess¿ beautiful illustrations and sketches are a supplement that completes the book¿s nostalgic fairytale feel, and make the story feel alive to the reader. Overall, Stardust is an original book that will easily satisfy any fans of the fantasy genre, romantics, or anyone who is looking for a light-hearted, enjoyable read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    Coming of Age in Fairyland

    This was a charming, quick story of self-growth and achieving adulthood, all done up in a nifty magical world. There's humor there, too, and it's quite engaging. Fun.

    I read this book almost immediately after seeing the movie; it's not clear to me how much of my good feeling is from attaching the words to the movie. There were few differences between the two; you can either take that to mean that the movie did a good job of following the book, or that the book adds damn little to what the movie presents. It is clear that Gaiman has the knack for writing short novels (or novellas) that can easily be transformed into screenplays, and this is one of those.

    4 of 5 stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good book, but the movie was better

    I decided to read the book after watching the movie. While there are a small number of things that I preferred in the book the finale in the movie was much more entertaining. It may have been trite, but the ending in the book is what is commonly referred to as "Anti-climax". You expect a monumental ending and it never arrives.

    That said it was still an entertaining read and you may not be as disappointed in the ending if you haven't seen the movie.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Movie version is slightly better...

    and a little more fulfilling, in the "typical" romantic fairytail ending sort of way. Book is good and I would/have recommend/ed it to my friends. It will remain part of my permanent library.
    What I found most enjoyable about the book was the writing style... Imaginitive, simple yet eloquent.
    I look forward to reading some of his other works.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Stardust, a Traditional Fairy Tale for the Modern Age

    First off, for those of you who saw the movie and now want to read the book, you should know that this book is not the movie. A lot of changes were made made to make it fit on the screen, and to be entertaining because of the time compression.

    However, that being said, this book is still quite delightful in its own way. If you have read a lot of fantasy in your life, then you will certainly recognize many of the fairy tale tropes that are played straight in this book. There are the usual coincidences, good deeds done to people who become unexpected allies, evil witches, and romance, with all of the good people getting a happy ending (of course).

    But this book does it in a very entertaining way. Everything is well paced, and many of the characters are given good development as we learn more about them. As time goes on, we honestly begin to feel that these are believable people, and that the fantastical land that they travel and live in could be real, even if this is just fairy tale. And for the icing on the cake, occasionally there are times when the author manages to add quite a nice touch of humor and entertainment by subverting the usual format (I wish I could list some examples, but I really don't want to spoil it).

    All in all, this is a good read that will easily keep your attention, and I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    lively and enjoyable...

    Rating: 4.5<BR/><BR/>Stardust is a lively and enjoyable fantasy adventure. Tristran travels to the Faerie land across the wall and meets all kinds of fantastical characters and gets into all kinds of dangerous situations, all for the love of a girl. He promises to find the star that they watched fall and bring it back to her. What he doesn't count on is that things in Faerie are not always what they seem, and the star that fell is in fact a beautiful girl, and she'll not be retrieved willingly. This book has witches, flying pirates, magical spells and lots and lots of excitement. Stardust is an enchanting book which was made into an awesome movie. I highly recommend both the book and the movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2007

    Classic Fantasy Tale

    Stardust is the tale of young Tristan Thorn, who crosses into the world of Faerie to search for a falling star to bring to his true love. It's a story that evokes the words 'whimsical' and 'delightful' in the sense of classic fantasy 'scheming witches and enchantments, not dungeons and dragons'. The plot meanders a bit to suit the author's whims, but the themes of adventure and true love ring through clearly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2007

    Surprising

    A friend and I went to see the movie and I liked it so much I bought the book. It's a sweet enough story for a light read. This is one example of where I actually think the movie improved the novel. But it's still a pleasant read. More or less a fairy tale. I would recommend it for anyone looking for a feel-good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Set in the village of Wall this is a story about young Tristan T

    Set in the village of Wall this is a story about young Tristan Thorn, hopelessly in love and willing to do what ever it takes to win his love, including going after a fallen star. Tristan sets off into the world of Faerie to find the fallen star for his love. Tristan encounters many new faces and has quite an adventure because he is not the only one looking for the star.


    What I liked:
    - great detail, it felt like I was in Faerie with Tristan
    - The characters were well thought out and easy to connect with
    - The story-line in general was just amazing




    What I didn't like:
    - some of the scenes felt a little unnecessary




    I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good fantasy.




    Rating:
    3 1/2 out of 5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    It is advertised as $1.99

    But the purchase button says $6.99! Wha is going on?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Great read

    Wounderful love story. A bit slow at times, but it was very satisfying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Good reading

    I like this book, it was a good read itself. I didn't see the movie, as I was unaware there was a movie about this book. Overall, I didn't feel passionately drawn in, but nevertheless, I did like the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    Saige book #1

    An adventure to read this book. Great for children who are losing their BFF.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Well written

    I really enjoyed this book. I found it hard to put down because the characters were extremely interesting. The sex ual parts were a little too graphic for my taste in a book, but overall it's a very fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Beautiful Fairy Tale

    I found this to be a very sweet book. It was silly and fairy-taley, but also a little dark and deeply beautiful. I love the way Neil Gaiman composes his words. He gives his readers a lot of room to use their own imaginations, and he fills his writings with little bits of whit and whimsy. If you've seen the movie, you should expect a familiar but not identicle story. I can't say I like one better than the other. The are both wonderful in their own right. The writing style in the book is wonderful, however, and it deserves better ratings and respect than it has been given by many reviewers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I picked this one up after I found out that this was the book th

    I picked this one up after I found out that this was the book that the film was based on. While not the highest quality movie, I did enjoy the adventure. Plus, the book is always better than the film. This novel definitely proved this rule, and allowed me to understand the characters in a way that the movie didn't.

    Tristran Thorn is a regular guy trying to win over the heart of the town beauty. When he promises to retrieve a fallen star for her, however, he gets much more than he bargained for. Adventure, murder, witches, and magic all combine to make an exciting read. The characters were fun, and the ending was quite different from the one in the film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Filled with light and magic

    and all the mystery of Faerie. Best when read at night under starshine and moonlight...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    as

    asa

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Great writing.

    A wonderful fairy tale for the modern day. Hides nothing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 170 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9