Customer Reviews for

Stardust of Yesterday (de Piaget Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

NEED A NEW COVER FOR A SMART BOOK!

What more can you say about a romance between a ghostly medieval knight and a 20th-century heroine but that it's pure magic? Kurland's sense of humor and great method of showing the he said/she said side of relationships surpasses time, literally. If you are looking for...
What more can you say about a romance between a ghostly medieval knight and a 20th-century heroine but that it's pure magic? Kurland's sense of humor and great method of showing the he said/she said side of relationships surpasses time, literally. If you are looking for a great work of literature of course this book isn't it, but if you want escapism, to laugh out loud and enjoy a happy ending, this is for you. Be prepared, she doesn't always do what you think she'll do..I just wish this woman would quit making me fall in love with ghosts! This is far above your average romance, very well written for thinking readers. There are parts in the story that are so funny and some that'll bring a tear to your eye. The writing is really good. It's just enough to make you fall in love with Kendrick and Genevieve. Of course, I think my favorite character is Nazir, one of Kendrick's knights. He's fierce, merciless, and as a good a fighter as Kendrick.

posted by LVB4H8T on October 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Gag!

I was looking for a great summer read. I wish it would just end!

posted by 4108730 on July 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    NEED A NEW COVER FOR A SMART BOOK!

    What more can you say about a romance between a ghostly medieval knight and a 20th-century heroine but that it's pure magic? Kurland's sense of humor and great method of showing the he said/she said side of relationships surpasses time, literally. If you are looking for a great work of literature of course this book isn't it, but if you want escapism, to laugh out loud and enjoy a happy ending, this is for you. Be prepared, she doesn't always do what you think she'll do..I just wish this woman would quit making me fall in love with ghosts! This is far above your average romance, very well written for thinking readers. There are parts in the story that are so funny and some that'll bring a tear to your eye. The writing is really good. It's just enough to make you fall in love with Kendrick and Genevieve. Of course, I think my favorite character is Nazir, one of Kendrick's knights. He's fierce, merciless, and as a good a fighter as Kendrick.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    Gag!

    I was looking for a great summer read. I wish it would just end!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2014

    I love this book with its ghost banter and romance. I found the

    I love this book with its ghost banter and romance. I found the characters endearing and enjoyed their development through the story. Some very unique challenges between Kendrick (a ghost) and Genevieve in their growing relationship. Genevieve stubbornly overcame her fears by digging in her heels and not being scared away from what she wanted. There was an unexpected twist in the end. Definitely worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Great read!

    Fantasical. Amusing. Fiction at it's best! Helped me escape for a bit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    V

    Tbi n lkd-5patyer

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    This is such a great book, and the beginning of all of her other

    This is such a great book, and the beginning of all of her other time travel books. I only wish this was available for the Nook. It was interesting to see how the feelings of the ghost moved from vengeful to love. The bad guy was truly a bad guy, and the heroine was fun to watch going from someone who was afraid of her shadow, to accepting of all the ghosts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    Kudos again to Lynn Kurland. I have read all your Macleod and D

    Kudos again to Lynn Kurland. I have read all your Macleod and De Piaget books except this one which I am ordering now. I started with Rhys De Piaget and Gwen of Segrave down to their children- biological, adopted and foster. Of course, also with the ghosts involved up to the latest generation of both families. This is the last book I am to read, about Kendrick and Genevieve. I have no doubt this will be outstanding, as Kendrick is one character that I have read before in the previous stories. He is handsome, funny, eccentric and very good with his sword, after his father Robin and grandad Rhys. A De Piaget to the core. But do not discount the Macleods, from James to the latest in the family through inter marriages. I love them all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Castles, Ghosts and Romance

    Genevieve Buchanan inherited a castle – and a ghost to go along with it. But Kendrick de Piaget was no typical ghost. He was a handsome and infuriatingly arrogant thirteenth-century knight. At first he wanted to frighten Genevieve, though she was more charmed than scared by his ghostly tricks. But when his thoughts turned to wooing her instead, Genevieve had to face her greatest fear: falling in love.

    Genevieve is content with her San Fransisco lifestyle: great job/reputation, lovely friends/home ... but everything changes when a lawyer comes to town to offer her an unknown inheritance. One would think being offered a castle and a beyond-full bank account as a blessing, but when Genevieve's long-term clients begin walking away and her employees unexpectedly begin to quit - she's finds this new home as a bittersweet surprise and her only escape. Trying to be ecstatic with her new change of life and continue her restoration work abroad, Genevieve is soon caught off guard that her new historical residence comes with a not-so-friendly ghost and that he doesn't want her in the castle at all. Yet, when Genevieve begins to bravely confront her ghostly roommate, Kendrick de Piaget, her feelings begin to change in more ways than she expected and soon her 'knightly' dreams become shockingly realistic.

    There were times when I highly enjoyed this book and others when it really really slowed down for me. The protagonists did not really have much depth to them and there was hardly any real character development throughout, but the romance was a nice twist than other similar historical tales. It's an easy/cute ghost read, with a little suspense thrown in - but the overall plot was lacking finesse and didn't really build up enough for the story to finish well - thus the ending was pretty predictable and came more abruptly than I would have liked.

    Overall, this is a fun beach read - nothing to heavy or complicated to enjoy while chilling in the sun! :) Romance is there, but nothing too steamy to distract from the story.

    Likes: All Kendrick's ghostly friends really add to the tale since their great side-characters.

    Dislikes: Genevieve has a very split personality: sometimes perky / sometimes lost or easily distracted - thus, I felt, she was all over the place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    MY FAVORITE!!

    She brings all of the people to life by merriment, joy, saddness, and last but not least, love. I think that she offically knows what to put in or out of a book. And she also has convincing lessons to learn that we understand; I mean, other writers tell us lessons too, but these books make us learn to live, laugh, and love. I think that she should be crowned Queen of all Queens (and Kings) of writing!!! Yes, yes. I like her, no, LOVE her that much!!! SHE ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2008

    Great!!! A must read!!!

    This is the first book I've read by Lynn Kurland and now its left me wanting to read every book ever written by her. The characters are so captivating and the simplicity is amazing it's written so well that in just a few sentences your able to clearly visualize what your reading. I def. recommend everyone read this one it's an easy read, charming and has humor. It truly takes you there!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2006

    Comfort read

    This is what I would call an ultimate comfort read. It's a sweet, easy to read, full of humor and charm. This was the first book I had read by Lynn Kurland, and after reading this book I went on line and ordered as many as I could. I took a long time to get around to reading this book because I wasn't sure about a romance that didn't go into the sex, but I was far from disapointed. I found it surprisingly refreshing. The caracters were memorable and fun and I am very much looking forward to collecting all of Lynn's books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2006

    Love these clean, page-turning stories!

    This was the first book of Ms. Kurland's that I read. I borrowed it from a former co-worker who is an avid fan. Once I started reading, I couldn't put it down till I was finished! Sleep was secondary to finishing this book. I also love how Ms. Kurland's books aren't ruined by eroticism and torrid sex scenes. Her novels are safe for your blossoming teenagers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2006

    Wonderful book!

    This book was wonderful! The story really kept my attention. I really enjoyed Kendrick's character. He is everything you'd dream a knight in shinning armor tp be. I really enjoy all of Lynn Kurland's books that I've read so far. She is a great author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2005

    First I was allowed to read

    When I was deemed old enough and mature enough to handle a romance novel my mother gave me to this book. She had told me the story when she first read it and I kept bugging her for almost two years for her to let me read it. To this day it is my favorite of all Lynn Kurlands¿ books. I lost track of how many times I have re-read it. I love the developing romance of the characters and how they don¿t want to admit that they are fond of each other. Everyone can find someone in their family that resembles Kurlands¿ characters. I recommend it to any mother who has a young lady in the house ready to get out of teen novels

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2004

    movie time?

    I really enjoyed Stardust of Yesterday! As I have all of Lynn Kurland's other books. There is nothing better to me than a chance to get away from reality for a while and read about some really fantastic characters. I really love the time travel theories. Could it really happen you think? Anyway I think as I'm sure all her other readers do, it is time for her and some other authors to make movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2004

    AWESOME!!!!

    This was one of the best books I've read, it certainly turned me on to Lynn Kurland. It has both adventure and alot of humor in it, which for me is the perfect mix. This one made it to my personal collection and I re-read it whenever I want a 'pick me up' type of book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2004

    The Perfect Romance

    Out of all of Lynn Kurland's books, this one has to be my favorite. I couldn't help but fall in love with the charming Kendrick find myself wishing I could be in Genevieve's shoes. It is romantic, heart-warming,and funny, full of laughter and tears. I have no idea how many times i have read and reread this book, but I will soon have to be getting another copy because the one I have has become very worn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2002

    Best Book Ever!

    Stardust Of Yesterday is one of my favorite books. My friend got me hooked and I have now read all of Lynn Kurland's books. My favorite is still this one. I have lost count of the number of times I've read this book. Kendrick and Genevieve are a wonderful pair whose tale will capture your heart and make you want to read it again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2001

    Very good & heart warming story although not the best..

    I'm not really into any romance novel but I love this one. It perfectly combines fantasy with reality. Story is simple but really heart-warming. A loveless girl who finally find her true love and that person turns out to be a handsome ghost from the 13th century!!. This theme is enough to make you buy this book. Lynn Kurland's writing style is full of MAGIC!! And reading this book alone can make your heart tremble with alot of emotions ..specially good ones.!! I found myself laugh and smile a lot while reading. The author is capable to describe human's feeling and put it into nicely words. I rate this book between PG-13 to R. And If you are reading this review for judging whether or not you should buy this book, I say, BUY IT!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2000

    A Kurland fan from Cdo, Phils.

    This is the best book I've ever read, and read and read...I fell in love with Kendrick and often I imagine I'm Genevieve. I laughed and cried and rejoiced in their courting.I think Royce should have his own story.I look forward to reading If I had You and many more of Kurland's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2