Customer Reviews for

Stargazer (Evernight Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 660 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(323)

4 Star

(226)

3 Star

(79)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 226 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I got this early and have already finished it.

    I liked Evernight, but Stargazer is much better. I know that most people are all for Lucas and Bianca ending up together, but I think Balthazar is a much better match for her. In Stargazer, this becomes even more apparent. If you liked the first book, you are going to love this one.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    is this similar 2........

    this story sounds very close to vampire knight with Yuki and Zero. if u really like this story u should read Vampire Knight. Yeah i know its a manga book but the story is fantastic. i think any one would live this story if u like vampires. i dont think ull be disappointed by this story. and if u want to read a bit before u read the book go to One Manga and read a bit! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Series:D

    i bought evernight because of the cover, thats how i pick most of my books, i read the back of the book and i though it would be an interesting vampire book. i was halfway through the book and there was still no mention of vampires, so i was kind og confused, i thought maybe i misread the description, but a few chapters later i was shocked when bianca bit lucas. i didn't understand what she was doing at first:D anyways i loved the story and i am a sucker for romance and i couldn't wait for the second book to see what happens with lucas and bianca. and stargazer didn't let me down:D i loved the addition of ghosts and the twisted story of how bianca was born. i love that no matter what lucas always risks everything for bianca.
    i was so mad at the end and how it finished with bianca accepting to be a vampire hunter!!!! but all in all it was a great book! can't wait for hourglass!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Good read

    It overall was a great book. It started out slow but picked up in the middle of the first book. I love books with forrbiden romances, mabey that is why i likethis book. Bianca is ok but i really like characters that can stand up for themselves and only cry whae something really bad happenes and arent afraid of a fight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    STARGAZER- The most romantic and melancholic part of Lucas' and Bianca's story!

    The story of Bianca and Lucas enters another paranormal round, in STARGAZER vampires meet ghosts. These ghost-like beings are called wraiths and might be new to the reader, but have a long history that has in some way always related to vampire’s. We learn more about their history and also the origin of the supernatural beings that inhabit the Evernight universe.

    Stars and astronomy are a present motive in this series. They support the melancholic and romantic aspect of our lover’s relationship. This part of Lucas’ and Bianca’s story is all about longing!

    The title STARGAZER suggests a romantic and dreamy read which this novel definitely offers. But like many other second novels in a series, this one is a bit slow and uneventful, too.

    Bianca expands the relationships to fellow classmates and also to characters that could threaten her life any instant, but that is what makes it more interesting. And also new villains are always needed, so Gray introduces a few more of them.

    Gray’s writing and her varied vocabulary fit the novel’s spirit and fill her cast and dialogues with substance.

    In comparison to other vampire novels, STARGAZER throws light on the transformation aspect of vampires. It’s interesting that the concept of vampires is not rigid, but malleable.

    THE VERDICT

    I give it 3,5/5 stars.

    A romantic and melancholic novel that is supported by a skilled writing. Spend your evenings stargazing and your nights reading STARGAZER, the sequel to EVERNIGHT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    Amazing

    I could not put it down!!! It was sooooo great!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    awesome

    book 2 just gets better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    good read

    Much better than was expecting. I am curious enough to wanna keep reading, yet these books are not drawing enough to make me want to run out and get it right then. If I continue the series it'll be because I'm more curious about Balthazar than the main character or plot....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2010

    Good

    I loved the first book so I couldn't wait for this one. It was pretty good overall though it did drag in some parts. I'm glad we learned more about Bianca's past and I like how Claudia made it possible for Bianca to be born. It's an interesting new way at least from other novels I've read so far. I didn't really like Charity... but we'll see what happens in the future with her. I'm waiting for the next part of the series. Can't wait for it come out in paperback.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    Great book Bad ending! Spoiler alert!

    this book was amazingly awsome ! the charachters are well devloped and the story line is just great! although i really liked this book i kind of hated the ending. Bianca seems too desperate for lucas to except and love her.And the story takes an odd turn when the vampire hunters come and invade. And going back to what i said about her being desperate Why does she except their offer? Not only to save other vampires but also to get Lucas to love and except her being a vampire more! Great story bad ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Is true love enought?

    A great follow up book to the first. Evernight Series was found simple by chance and I was please to read it. I got half way through the first book and clearly needed to make sure I had on hand the second. You found your sides easily again and wanting things to end up on the side you picked. Mystery and intrigue await you in this one. I found some questions raised were not fully answered and looked forward to the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    More than Gazing a Stars

    I was captivated by the continuation of action and romance in this sequel, delivered so eloquently by Claudia Grey. What interests me even more are the internal and sociological conflicts which are at play within the story. The questions so prevalent in the lives and minds of the public are addressed on many levels: when is a lie acceptable? What dictates the direction of a person's life? What does it take to forgive? Can everyone forgive? Can one understand the actions of another? Can one condone the actions of another? What does it mean to die? What does it take to live?
    Grey has succeeded not only in writing what may be seen as a phenomenally entertaining novel, but one which addresses and prompts its young readers to consider their actions, the actions of others, and the society they live in.
    This is a series which I highly recommend to young and adult readers alike, and more, I prompt you to look for the relativity beneath the captivating plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    i think this is a good book for hunger peopl who are in the mood to read a good book~

    this book is for girls! good for a fun read....has relationships but still with action

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Vamps and Ghosts!

    This is the sequel to Evernight and to me way better than the first. Stargazer takes a dive into the paranormal genre with its inclusion of the ghosts/wraiths. The storyline is a page turner and the development of the plot is excellent to the very end. I did not expect the twist that came. Still sticking to the portryal of teenage love, as well as love triangles that form. The characters are round and clearly individuals. The description is through the mind of a teenage girl therfore easy to follow and not confusing. The author doesn't jump around and is very creative in regards to the world she has created within the academy. A good vampire read with a dash of spookiness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Better than the 1st.

    I found this one better than the 1st. I did enjoy reading this one much more than the first. I found myself rooting for the underdog rather than her primary love interest. I really wanted to see Bianca and Balthazar together but thats just not going to happen. There were quite a few twist and turns with I enjoyed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good series so far, excited to see what happens next

    Still not on the same level as Twilight, but it is a good story, and keeps you reading. Personally I think it is steps above most of the other series out there. Worth a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Other-world Observances

    You are driving straight, then the curve comes unexpectedly, whom will you trust? Who is for you and who is not? When will you feel safe? These are the situations the protagonist must ponder. Many of you have heard the line, "lions, and tigers, and bears, oh my!" well this story will probably have you saying, "vampires, wraiths, and zombies, OMG!" Toward the end of this revealing storyline the pace picks up and excitement builds. Great physical descriptions, you can visualize the characters, and feel the emotions building within the protagonist and the supporting "cast."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Much better than the first.

    I have to say that I enjoyed Stargazer. When I read Evernight, I was kind of disappointed, so I was a little leery of Stargazer, but I decided to give it a try. All in all, the plot-line was much better (compared to Evernights, which was all over the place) and the ending was better as well. There's isn't too much sexual content or language, which I was glad of, and for the most part the plot is interesting. The only con of Stargazer is that sometimes the characters tended to get out of character, and their were quite a few spelling mistakes (though not as bad as in the first installment). Overall not a bad book, but not my first choice for a vampire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good but I was expecting more

    It was a good second book after evernight but it killed me that Lucas barley came out. Balthazar however was all over the book (not that i hate Balthazar because I don't but I prefer Lucas). Anyway, that was my only complain. Other than that it was a good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 226 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12