Customer Reviews for

Stargirl

Average Rating 4.5
( 1269 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(815)

4 Star

(238)

3 Star

(101)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(69)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

She does not shed tears, but light...

Books are good. I love books, actually, they're close to breathing on my scale. But out of the, say, a zillion books published each year, stamped with ink and piled accordingly in bookstores across our nation...how many are life changing? Realistic that's it's almost sc...
Books are good. I love books, actually, they're close to breathing on my scale. But out of the, say, a zillion books published each year, stamped with ink and piled accordingly in bookstores across our nation...how many are life changing? Realistic that's it's almost scary? and so emotional that you'll cry for an hour after closing the cover for the last time?
Stargirl did all these things, and more. It is truly a once in a lifetime book. It's beautiful, it's simple yet complex, it's life changing and life altering. The first time i read it (about a year or two ago) I cried in my bed for an hour after finishing it. It's just that touching, that beautiful, that emotional. I loved it. It's a book that cries to be re-read, treasured, passed down, and most of all...applied. stargirl carries a lesson all of us FAIL to redeem...be, your, self. No matter what others think. No matter what others do, or say. No matter how people try to suufocate your most precious dreams.
The story is simply enough. Stargirl, a homeschooler, attends a publci school in Arizonia. She is decidely different, in every way from her made up chosen name to her costumes as clothes rules. She is kind to everyone. She loves her neighbor as herself. she does deeds to strangers. She loves those who kill her. Leo meets her, falls in love...but cannot accept her. Slightly, but barely. The rest, dear reader, you'll have to find out for yourself. It's too amazing to give away even a minor spolier. I will say, that if you decide, after reading this humble review, to pick up this book, know that your life will NOT be the same after you finish it. It's a warning. This book alters your life.
Jerry Spinelli has a gift others dare to find. He can translate life simply, beautifully, not to mention without all the usual Young Adult gunk and junk (none of that is found here, so you know) in a way that's oringinal, realistic, and most of all...touching. This book is touching. And a tearjerker. I cannot reccomend this book more. It's a classic.

posted by Victoria-Star on August 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Read!

I love this book! Stargirl and Leo are such realistic characters. All girls seem to like the same music and dress the same way and talk the same and act the same but then you meet Stargirl who is unique and looks at things different. And doesn't care what people think ...
I love this book! Stargirl and Leo are such realistic characters. All girls seem to like the same music and dress the same way and talk the same and act the same but then you meet Stargirl who is unique and looks at things different. And doesn't care what people think about her. I think that anyone who gives this book a chance will love it from the start to finish.

posted by 6465633 on September 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1274 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 64
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    Amazing Read!

    I love this book! Stargirl and Leo are such realistic characters. All girls seem to like the same music and dress the same way and talk the same and act the same but then you meet Stargirl who is unique and looks at things different. And doesn't care what people think about her. I think that anyone who gives this book a chance will love it from the start to finish.

    33 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    She does not shed tears, but light...

    Books are good. I love books, actually, they're close to breathing on my scale. But out of the, say, a zillion books published each year, stamped with ink and piled accordingly in bookstores across our nation...how many are life changing? Realistic that's it's almost scary? and so emotional that you'll cry for an hour after closing the cover for the last time?
    Stargirl did all these things, and more. It is truly a once in a lifetime book. It's beautiful, it's simple yet complex, it's life changing and life altering. The first time i read it (about a year or two ago) I cried in my bed for an hour after finishing it. It's just that touching, that beautiful, that emotional. I loved it. It's a book that cries to be re-read, treasured, passed down, and most of all...applied. stargirl carries a lesson all of us FAIL to redeem...be, your, self. No matter what others think. No matter what others do, or say. No matter how people try to suufocate your most precious dreams.
    The story is simply enough. Stargirl, a homeschooler, attends a publci school in Arizonia. She is decidely different, in every way from her made up chosen name to her costumes as clothes rules. She is kind to everyone. She loves her neighbor as herself. she does deeds to strangers. She loves those who kill her. Leo meets her, falls in love...but cannot accept her. Slightly, but barely. The rest, dear reader, you'll have to find out for yourself. It's too amazing to give away even a minor spolier. I will say, that if you decide, after reading this humble review, to pick up this book, know that your life will NOT be the same after you finish it. It's a warning. This book alters your life.
    Jerry Spinelli has a gift others dare to find. He can translate life simply, beautifully, not to mention without all the usual Young Adult gunk and junk (none of that is found here, so you know) in a way that's oringinal, realistic, and most of all...touching. This book is touching. And a tearjerker. I cannot reccomend this book more. It's a classic.

    33 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    Stargirl

    "Stargirl" is a book written by one of the most talented writer.
    It starts with mysterious girl, Stargirl(Susan) transferring to Mica high-school, Arizona.
    Book Stargirl is about a girl and a boy on their high-school life
    She wears 1950's and plays a ukulele on every birthdays.
    And there is Leo, an ordinary boy who wants to be ordinary.
    Stargirl was always home schooled, she was a bright kid thinking that everyone likes her.
    After few problems(read the book) Leo becomes Stargirl's girlfriend.
    Then, Leo, told Stargirl that NOBODY likes her.
    After few days Stargirl was gone.
    One day, she changed her name Susan, and her apperance.
    After graduating Susan went.
    Susan left everything behind her, friends, memories, Leo.
    I really enjoyed this book, it was one of my favorite book.
    I strongly suggest this book, its a really good book for teenagers^^

    21 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Odd

    It confused me big time....

    14 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    My favorite book

    Some mean girls and i were talking about stargirl and they said they hated it. I started cracking up laughing because,thy cant undrstand the beauty of a person. Not being afraud to show who you are!!!!! This is my favorite book. At first, i thought it would be weird for a man to write it and leo to be the main character, but it qorked perfectly well. Amazingly well written. Too bad there isn't a third one though Delaney

    14 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Well worth reading

    Review by Jill Williamson<BR/><BR/>Leo Borlock hears the rumors first. A new girl. Previously homeschooled. Weird. Even weirder: her name is Stargirl. Then he sees her. She looks like she¿s wearing her grandma¿s wedding dress, and she carries around a ukulele and serenades anyone unlucky enough to have a birthday. <BR/><BR/>Leo¿s first goal: to get Stargirl to appear on the show Hot Seat, the in-school TV show that Leo produces and directs. But Stargirl doesn¿t react like a normal student either. She doesn¿t seem bothered by people who make fun of her, she cheers for both football teams¿even when the home team is losing¿and she wraps the school body around her finger. At first.<BR/><BR/>But then things start to go bad. People start to ignore her, shun her, and treat her horribly. Leo¿s TV show goes so badly he can¿t possibly air it, because he¿s fallen in love with Stargirl. The only solution Leo can come up with is for Stargirl to be like everyone else. Be normal. But that could be the worst advice of all.<BR/><BR/>What a surprisingly fun story. I loved Stargirl¿s confidence and love for everyone. She is a strong person who challenges other students to be who they want to be and not necessarily go with the flow all the time. Sometimes high school can feel like a prison. Students can feel like they have to act a certain way or face ridicule. Life isn¿t meant to be lived that way, and Stargirl knows that. She does get hurt by it eventually, for let¿s face it, no one can be more ruthless that a bunch of high schoolers set on bringing someone down. But Stargirl bounces back, I think, because she likes who she is and she realizes that restraint is not a bad thing. She can still be her loving self but not force it on others. Stargirl is not a Christian, and may practice New Age or some other meditative religion, so take that into consideration. But the moral of the story is fabulous and well worth reading.

    12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2009

    stargirl

    Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli is a fictional novel. This novel was very good. It was exciting but also sad at times. The main character was very amusing. She always did something crazy. This took place in Mica, Arizona during modern time. Stargirl Caraway was the star of Mica High School. Then, the tables turned and everyone hated her. They ignored her and they didn't even look at her, even when she was doing something exciting.
    Stargirl kept on playing the ukulele to people on their birthday. Also, she kept on wearing weird and bold clothes no matter what people said to her. She also kept on cheering for the other team when the other team scored even when her teammates yelled at her and told her to sit down. The author uses a lot of funny words. That makes the story funnier and even easier to read. It makes you want to keep on reading to see what else happens in his novel.
    People who like comedy should read this novel because it is funny. Also, people who like drama and romance because there is romance between the two main characters in this novel.

    10 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2008

    Great Great Great Great Great Great Great Great Great Great

    What a greaaaat book!!!!! It took me one day to finish this book it was sooo good. Everyone should read this book. After you read this you need to read Love Stargirl.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2002

    Awesome Book!!

    I am currently reading this book and I can not put it down for a second. It is sweet, humorous, sad, and enjoyable rolled into one. Adults and kids should read this book. It is a very heart-warming story and will make you cry. I know I do when I read it. Thanks Jerry Spinelli!! You are a wonderful writer!! You are my influence on my book!!

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Addsfgxfv

    Is this book good for a 11 year old girl like me?

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    I picked this up when i was about 14. (im 25 now) I have to say

    I picked this up when i was about 14. (im 25 now) I have to say it is one of the more memorable books ive read. I still am holding on to my copy of this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    no

    hated it never again

    4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2009

    Inspirational-should be a movie (not sure why)

    I first picked up Stargirl about 2 years ago when I was in 7th Grade. I give this book credit for getting me through the tough, conformist, dramatic Junior High years. The ending always makes me cry, every time I read it, but the story is a lesson everyone can learn from. All of the people who don't like it because "It's weird" or "she's a freak" have more to learn than others. Stargirl, an extraordinary character with childlike innoncence and the most beautiful heart, teaches us to live and love every moment of life. (sounds cheesy, but you'll get what I mean when you read it)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2009

    I love stargirl PLease read this confusing in the begining but gets soooo much better

    Very weird in the beginning it was hard to understand but once i got the rythem of the chapters i fell in love. It tells us that maybe daring to be different from our peers isn`t all that bad that falling for someone that isn`t just like you may just be the best way to go. I fell in love with stargirl and every weird thing about her it is and will forever bea unforgettable read

    Allie t.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Best

    This book is one of my favorites because it is about being yourself

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Supriya

    The best book ever. You should get it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    BEST BOOK I'VE EVER READ!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book blew me away. The idea of Stargirl and all that she stands for is what every author should try to achieve. This book was written so beautifully that it sometimes left me breathless, wondering how a human could possibly weave a tale so masterful and enchanting with merely words. I've read thousands of books so far, and without a doubt, this is the best one I've ever read. It deserves thousands more stars than just 5. Stargirl taught me so much, and I can only hope that she can inspire others to do what she embraced, being herself in a world where you are shunned if you don't blend in with the crowd. Jerry Spinelli's writing was out of this world, his book Stargirl deserves countless honors!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    WORST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!

    This book was rlly bad and freakixng weiird

    3 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Sam tolman

    It is AWESOME

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2013

    Newcomer Stargirl captures the heart of a boy in school amidst h

    Newcomer Stargirl captures the heart of a boy in school amidst her eccentricity. Though Stargirl was able to capture the boy’s heart, her eccentric ways didn’t win the hearts of others. The boy then is caught between his love for Stargirl and his normal relationship with the rest.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1274 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 64