Customer Reviews for

Stargirl

Average Rating 4.5
( 1287 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(827)

4 Star

(241)

3 Star

(102)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(71)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

She does not shed tears, but light...

Books are good. I love books, actually, they're close to breathing on my scale. But out of the, say, a zillion books published each year, stamped with ink and piled accordingly in bookstores across our nation...how many are life changing? Realistic that's it's almost sc...
Books are good. I love books, actually, they're close to breathing on my scale. But out of the, say, a zillion books published each year, stamped with ink and piled accordingly in bookstores across our nation...how many are life changing? Realistic that's it's almost scary? and so emotional that you'll cry for an hour after closing the cover for the last time?
Stargirl did all these things, and more. It is truly a once in a lifetime book. It's beautiful, it's simple yet complex, it's life changing and life altering. The first time i read it (about a year or two ago) I cried in my bed for an hour after finishing it. It's just that touching, that beautiful, that emotional. I loved it. It's a book that cries to be re-read, treasured, passed down, and most of all...applied. stargirl carries a lesson all of us FAIL to redeem...be, your, self. No matter what others think. No matter what others do, or say. No matter how people try to suufocate your most precious dreams.
The story is simply enough. Stargirl, a homeschooler, attends a publci school in Arizonia. She is decidely different, in every way from her made up chosen name to her costumes as clothes rules. She is kind to everyone. She loves her neighbor as herself. she does deeds to strangers. She loves those who kill her. Leo meets her, falls in love...but cannot accept her. Slightly, but barely. The rest, dear reader, you'll have to find out for yourself. It's too amazing to give away even a minor spolier. I will say, that if you decide, after reading this humble review, to pick up this book, know that your life will NOT be the same after you finish it. It's a warning. This book alters your life.
Jerry Spinelli has a gift others dare to find. He can translate life simply, beautifully, not to mention without all the usual Young Adult gunk and junk (none of that is found here, so you know) in a way that's oringinal, realistic, and most of all...touching. This book is touching. And a tearjerker. I cannot reccomend this book more. It's a classic.

posted by Victoria-Star on August 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

34 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Read!

I love this book! Stargirl and Leo are such realistic characters. All girls seem to like the same music and dress the same way and talk the same and act the same but then you meet Stargirl who is unique and looks at things different. And doesn't care what people think ...
I love this book! Stargirl and Leo are such realistic characters. All girls seem to like the same music and dress the same way and talk the same and act the same but then you meet Stargirl who is unique and looks at things different. And doesn't care what people think about her. I think that anyone who gives this book a chance will love it from the start to finish.

posted by 6465633 on September 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Read me!

    I'm guessing that when you look at all these negative reviews you're second guessing whether you should buy this. If you absolutely require a happy ending to books then you are going to have the saddest expression on your face for a week. :( Overall I like how the story begins. It kept me reading it till early in the morning. Though, its not a action-packed thriller. When I finally finished this book I stared at the last few remaining words and to be honest was very close to tears. I was trapped in this poor depressional kind of state. It was so sad. All of the negative comments are most likely for that very reason. This book was moving. It was set in a real life situation and as much as I hate it the ending kind of makes since. Popularity isn't everything. (LEO!!!!!) Its set in the real world and things like that can happen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I remember reading this in high school and thinking, "That'

    I remember reading this in high school and thinking, "That's it?" I felt the book focused on unneeded details, when it should have been focusing on more important details. I was really disappointed when I finished it. Of course, there is a sequel, but spare me :) 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Okay

    This book kept me confused most of the time. I was so lost, but before I got lost it was pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Poor

    Very plain such a stupid book

    DO NOT READ

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Not my age group

    Hated it...not much more to say. We had to do a big report on it and it is nowere near a freshmans age group especially being in ap classes so i think those younger may appreciate this

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Stargirl

    I thought it was good. I found it a little confusing though. Hard to summarize without telling all the little details.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    BOREING. Boreing?

    My friends say rhat its borring. Then again my friends arent very bright either. Yet to find out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2009

    Don't read it!!!!

    This book is confusing one chapter its talking about one thing the next chapter its talking about something completly differnet!!!!! it's the worst!!! don't even waste your time reading this!!! DON"T READ IT!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2008

    not good

    this is one of the worst books i ever read. i didn't like it at all it was pretty pointless to me and my friends agree. so, i wouldn't recomend it to anyone.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2008

    Eh.

    The author is great, but I didn't think the characters were realistic. I guess this was not my kind of book...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2007

    It was good and bad

    I didn't really like it.It didn't keep my attention it was boring half the time and confusing.It was probably the worst book i ever read.It wasn't what i expected it to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2006

    STARGIRL

    I had to read stragirl as my 7th grade book club project! The begginning of the book is kind of confusing but as you go on it gets a little better! I'm not saying that stargirl is my favorite book but its OK! The charcter Stargirl kind of is a little weird because she sings happy birhtday to people using her ukulele!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2006

    person who loves books

    there is only one word to describe this book-strange. i had no idea what was going on most of the time and leo was kind of a pansy. if he liked stargirl so much why didnt he stand up for her?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2006

    It was... ok, I guess...

    I thought this book was a bit boring at first, but it gradually became better. I don't want to lie and say that I had a favourite part, because I didn't. It was dull. I guess I'm more of an action girl, but I was half asleep the first few pages. I was really let down. I'm sure there are better books out there, but I suppose, all in all, it was alright.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2006

    I wasn't a fan

    I read STARGIRL about a year ago and it has been pretty near the bottom of my 'Best Books Ever' list ever since. It lacks the initiative to keep the reader locked onto the page and quickly looses its grip on one's attention. I found the plot to be incredibly unentertaining and although it may portray the 'typical' teen life story in a school with peer pressure, snobby clicks, self-concious classmates, and typical gossip, it was told in what I thought to be a very cheesy manner. The message in this book, however, is a moral well worth remembering and is the reason I have not forgotten this book, leaving it to sit and collect dust in the farthest realms of my memory.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2006

    dissapointing

    i thought this book was dissapointing, it sent out a good message and all but it was just boring and depresing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2005

    A magical and heartbreaking tale.

    Stargirl is a unique book. It took me awhile to get into it because I didn't like the plot. I didn't understand everything about the book because each chapter hightlighted different occasions at her new High school. If I was going to read this book again, I would re-read the parts that were confusing. It is hard to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2005

    BOREING

    this book was the biggest bore im the kind of person who reads 300 page book in a few hours i was forced to read it for school it took my 2 weeks i(its not a long book either) after thiry pages i just had to put it down at risk of falling asleep. nothing was intersting i consider it a total let down. i no its loved by many people but i just can't stand it sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2005

    Fe-Fi-Fo-Fum

    This was a very boring book, some parts I couldn't even really get. It wasn't at all moving and everything was so dull pictured.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2004

    Disappointing Indeed

    I thought this book was going to be great because my teacher keep recommending it, so when I finally got the chance to read it, I was completly disappointed. This book sucked and it was a complete waste of my time. Don't Buy It! and if you don't take my advice and go along and read and/or buy it, you'll see that I'm right and that you too, were completely misled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3