Customer Reviews for

Stargirl

Average Rating 4.5
( 1272 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(818)

4 Star

(238)

3 Star

(101)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(69)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

She does not shed tears, but light...

Books are good. I love books, actually, they're close to breathing on my scale. But out of the, say, a zillion books published each year, stamped with ink and piled accordingly in bookstores across our nation...how many are life changing? Realistic that's it's almost sc...
Books are good. I love books, actually, they're close to breathing on my scale. But out of the, say, a zillion books published each year, stamped with ink and piled accordingly in bookstores across our nation...how many are life changing? Realistic that's it's almost scary? and so emotional that you'll cry for an hour after closing the cover for the last time?
Stargirl did all these things, and more. It is truly a once in a lifetime book. It's beautiful, it's simple yet complex, it's life changing and life altering. The first time i read it (about a year or two ago) I cried in my bed for an hour after finishing it. It's just that touching, that beautiful, that emotional. I loved it. It's a book that cries to be re-read, treasured, passed down, and most of all...applied. stargirl carries a lesson all of us FAIL to redeem...be, your, self. No matter what others think. No matter what others do, or say. No matter how people try to suufocate your most precious dreams.
The story is simply enough. Stargirl, a homeschooler, attends a publci school in Arizonia. She is decidely different, in every way from her made up chosen name to her costumes as clothes rules. She is kind to everyone. She loves her neighbor as herself. she does deeds to strangers. She loves those who kill her. Leo meets her, falls in love...but cannot accept her. Slightly, but barely. The rest, dear reader, you'll have to find out for yourself. It's too amazing to give away even a minor spolier. I will say, that if you decide, after reading this humble review, to pick up this book, know that your life will NOT be the same after you finish it. It's a warning. This book alters your life.
Jerry Spinelli has a gift others dare to find. He can translate life simply, beautifully, not to mention without all the usual Young Adult gunk and junk (none of that is found here, so you know) in a way that's oringinal, realistic, and most of all...touching. This book is touching. And a tearjerker. I cannot reccomend this book more. It's a classic.

posted by Victoria-Star on August 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Read!

I love this book! Stargirl and Leo are such realistic characters. All girls seem to like the same music and dress the same way and talk the same and act the same but then you meet Stargirl who is unique and looks at things different. And doesn't care what people think ...
I love this book! Stargirl and Leo are such realistic characters. All girls seem to like the same music and dress the same way and talk the same and act the same but then you meet Stargirl who is unique and looks at things different. And doesn't care what people think about her. I think that anyone who gives this book a chance will love it from the start to finish.

posted by 6465633 on September 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    Amazing Read!

    I love this book! Stargirl and Leo are such realistic characters. All girls seem to like the same music and dress the same way and talk the same and act the same but then you meet Stargirl who is unique and looks at things different. And doesn't care what people think about her. I think that anyone who gives this book a chance will love it from the start to finish.

    33 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2014

    When you meet someone amazing...

    When I first read this book I really didnt care for it but now looking back on it ot was really good. I am a harsh reviewer so a three is pretty good. I recommend this to kids who dont really understand there place in life but meet someone amazing who fixes everything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    ;

    ;;.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Very good but TERRIBLE AT SAME TIME

    I mean gome on hdgdjdhssjssxxjjfhjhjh seriusly come on but jxdhfhjhhghgbgzh not too bad but hshhhjdhjdxhddd and that cobcludes my reviiew

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    The book was good. I definitly enjoyed it, but at the same time

    The book was good. I definitly enjoyed it, but at the same time it was very weird. I didn't understand Stargirl at all or why everybody liked her so much. All together the book was fun and interesting read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Good

    Its not the best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    The 2nd ones better

    This waas from leos perspective. It was kind of sad. The next one called love stargirl is sweet funny and cute. Its also from Stargirl s perspective. Youvalso get to know that stargirl is a normal teenager.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Ehh

    It was okay..... i was forced to read it for school and didnt care for it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Please read this

    Is this book worth the money?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Good book

    Me and my friends loved this book more of a tween book. The ending was kinda sad though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Good

    To short

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Kairi109

    I haven't read the book yet but, it already sounds good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    This book is great to read for young teens and it creates suspense as you read along. Its awesome, loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    ?hola!

    ?hola!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2011

    Cccccc

    Gesewefsju

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    Okay

    It wasn't that good. I wouldn't recomend it. I bought this this book because all of the great reviews saying it was "wonderful" and "inspirational". My friends said it was the worst book ever but i didn't listen to them. Now i know what they mean. It isnt the worst book ever but it still isnt worth it. I dont mean to offend anyone who loves this book but thats what i think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    Okay

    Stargirl had a good point of view on life, but the book was no where near as good as the second. Love, Stargirl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2011

    no other book can compare

    this book is amazing it makes me almost want a ukelele a canvas bag with a lifesize picture of a sunflower and a long white dress

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    Stargirl ( A Story About The Magic of Being Different)

    So, it didn't take long to finish this book, being that its not quite long. If you want a nice quick read, i recommend this book to you. I wasn't quite sure where this book stands in my rating system because there were certain things that i did not like but, once i rethought about it, i realized that it is an essential part for this story. Having graduated from High School almost a year ago, i was reminded of how hard it is or was for me dealing with conformity. This is the theme of Stargirl.

    What exactly is normal? What exactly is acceptable? You will find these questions in this story as you learn about Stargirl Caraway. A teenage girl who is all but normal. After being homeschooled for so long, Stargirl attends MICA High School and shocks everyone with her presence of Floor lenght skirts, ribbons, and bright colors. Not to mention her "Friendly" character can be described as charismatic, loyal and generous.

    But the one person who is extremely dumbstruck, captivated, and curious about Stargirl is Leo Borlock. Never in his life has he met anyone like Stargirl. Never has he smiled the way he does when he is with her, never has he felt so many emotions within his heart until Stargirl takes him into her own world. Leo leanrs so much from Stargirl, that it gets to the point where certain decisions have to be made. How far will Leo go for Stargirl? How far will Stargirl go for Leo? Sacrifices for the sake of Love?

    Filled with Ukulele serenades for classmate's birthdays, decorative desks with flowerr vases, and a pet rat named Cinammon on her shoulder, Stargirl is definetly a a very different character from any character that you may have read about. She is her own person, she stands out, and teaches a valuable lesson- To Be True To Yourself! Don't pay any attention what anyone says or what anyone thinks because it just doesn't matter, simple as that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An OK Book!

    A great book, but Many of my friends have been bored through out the book. I Partially agree. I do think the book is OK but is not the best book and I do think it could improve. The plot was boring, even though the words were great! I do think it is a book to consider if you want something new and it changes ideas every 10 seconds!!!! An OK book by me!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6