Customer Reviews for

Stargirl

Average Rating 4.5
( 1291 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(831)

4 Star

(241)

3 Star

(102)

2 Star

(47)

1 Star

(70)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

She does not shed tears, but light...

Books are good. I love books, actually, they're close to breathing on my scale. But out of the, say, a zillion books published each year, stamped with ink and piled accordingly in bookstores across our nation...how many are life changing? Realistic that's it's almost sc...
Books are good. I love books, actually, they're close to breathing on my scale. But out of the, say, a zillion books published each year, stamped with ink and piled accordingly in bookstores across our nation...how many are life changing? Realistic that's it's almost scary? and so emotional that you'll cry for an hour after closing the cover for the last time?
Stargirl did all these things, and more. It is truly a once in a lifetime book. It's beautiful, it's simple yet complex, it's life changing and life altering. The first time i read it (about a year or two ago) I cried in my bed for an hour after finishing it. It's just that touching, that beautiful, that emotional. I loved it. It's a book that cries to be re-read, treasured, passed down, and most of all...applied. stargirl carries a lesson all of us FAIL to redeem...be, your, self. No matter what others think. No matter what others do, or say. No matter how people try to suufocate your most precious dreams.
The story is simply enough. Stargirl, a homeschooler, attends a publci school in Arizonia. She is decidely different, in every way from her made up chosen name to her costumes as clothes rules. She is kind to everyone. She loves her neighbor as herself. she does deeds to strangers. She loves those who kill her. Leo meets her, falls in love...but cannot accept her. Slightly, but barely. The rest, dear reader, you'll have to find out for yourself. It's too amazing to give away even a minor spolier. I will say, that if you decide, after reading this humble review, to pick up this book, know that your life will NOT be the same after you finish it. It's a warning. This book alters your life.
Jerry Spinelli has a gift others dare to find. He can translate life simply, beautifully, not to mention without all the usual Young Adult gunk and junk (none of that is found here, so you know) in a way that's oringinal, realistic, and most of all...touching. This book is touching. And a tearjerker. I cannot reccomend this book more. It's a classic.

posted by Victoria-Star on August 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

35 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Read!

I love this book! Stargirl and Leo are such realistic characters. All girls seem to like the same music and dress the same way and talk the same and act the same but then you meet Stargirl who is unique and looks at things different. And doesn't care what people think ...
I love this book! Stargirl and Leo are such realistic characters. All girls seem to like the same music and dress the same way and talk the same and act the same but then you meet Stargirl who is unique and looks at things different. And doesn't care what people think about her. I think that anyone who gives this book a chance will love it from the start to finish.

posted by 6465633 on September 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 831 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 42
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    She does not shed tears, but light...

    Books are good. I love books, actually, they're close to breathing on my scale. But out of the, say, a zillion books published each year, stamped with ink and piled accordingly in bookstores across our nation...how many are life changing? Realistic that's it's almost scary? and so emotional that you'll cry for an hour after closing the cover for the last time?
    Stargirl did all these things, and more. It is truly a once in a lifetime book. It's beautiful, it's simple yet complex, it's life changing and life altering. The first time i read it (about a year or two ago) I cried in my bed for an hour after finishing it. It's just that touching, that beautiful, that emotional. I loved it. It's a book that cries to be re-read, treasured, passed down, and most of all...applied. stargirl carries a lesson all of us FAIL to redeem...be, your, self. No matter what others think. No matter what others do, or say. No matter how people try to suufocate your most precious dreams.
    The story is simply enough. Stargirl, a homeschooler, attends a publci school in Arizonia. She is decidely different, in every way from her made up chosen name to her costumes as clothes rules. She is kind to everyone. She loves her neighbor as herself. she does deeds to strangers. She loves those who kill her. Leo meets her, falls in love...but cannot accept her. Slightly, but barely. The rest, dear reader, you'll have to find out for yourself. It's too amazing to give away even a minor spolier. I will say, that if you decide, after reading this humble review, to pick up this book, know that your life will NOT be the same after you finish it. It's a warning. This book alters your life.
    Jerry Spinelli has a gift others dare to find. He can translate life simply, beautifully, not to mention without all the usual Young Adult gunk and junk (none of that is found here, so you know) in a way that's oringinal, realistic, and most of all...touching. This book is touching. And a tearjerker. I cannot reccomend this book more. It's a classic.

    37 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    Stargirl

    "Stargirl" is a book written by one of the most talented writer.
    It starts with mysterious girl, Stargirl(Susan) transferring to Mica high-school, Arizona.
    Book Stargirl is about a girl and a boy on their high-school life
    She wears 1950's and plays a ukulele on every birthdays.
    And there is Leo, an ordinary boy who wants to be ordinary.
    Stargirl was always home schooled, she was a bright kid thinking that everyone likes her.
    After few problems(read the book) Leo becomes Stargirl's girlfriend.
    Then, Leo, told Stargirl that NOBODY likes her.
    After few days Stargirl was gone.
    One day, she changed her name Susan, and her apperance.
    After graduating Susan went.
    Susan left everything behind her, friends, memories, Leo.
    I really enjoyed this book, it was one of my favorite book.
    I strongly suggest this book, its a really good book for teenagers^^

    23 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    My favorite book

    Some mean girls and i were talking about stargirl and they said they hated it. I started cracking up laughing because,thy cant undrstand the beauty of a person. Not being afraud to show who you are!!!!! This is my favorite book. At first, i thought it would be weird for a man to write it and leo to be the main character, but it qorked perfectly well. Amazingly well written. Too bad there isn't a third one though Delaney

    15 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Addsfgxfv

    Is this book good for a 11 year old girl like me?

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2008

    Great Great Great Great Great Great Great Great Great Great

    What a greaaaat book!!!!! It took me one day to finish this book it was sooo good. Everyone should read this book. After you read this you need to read Love Stargirl.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2002

    Awesome Book!!

    I am currently reading this book and I can not put it down for a second. It is sweet, humorous, sad, and enjoyable rolled into one. Adults and kids should read this book. It is a very heart-warming story and will make you cry. I know I do when I read it. Thanks Jerry Spinelli!! You are a wonderful writer!! You are my influence on my book!!

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    I picked this up when i was about 14. (im 25 now) I have to say

    I picked this up when i was about 14. (im 25 now) I have to say it is one of the more memorable books ive read. I still am holding on to my copy of this book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2009

    Inspirational-should be a movie (not sure why)

    I first picked up Stargirl about 2 years ago when I was in 7th Grade. I give this book credit for getting me through the tough, conformist, dramatic Junior High years. The ending always makes me cry, every time I read it, but the story is a lesson everyone can learn from. All of the people who don't like it because "It's weird" or "she's a freak" have more to learn than others. Stargirl, an extraordinary character with childlike innoncence and the most beautiful heart, teaches us to live and love every moment of life. (sounds cheesy, but you'll get what I mean when you read it)

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Sam tolman

    It is AWESOME

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Best

    This book is one of my favorites because it is about being yourself

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Supriya

    The best book ever. You should get it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    BEST BOOK I'VE EVER READ!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book blew me away. The idea of Stargirl and all that she stands for is what every author should try to achieve. This book was written so beautifully that it sometimes left me breathless, wondering how a human could possibly weave a tale so masterful and enchanting with merely words. I've read thousands of books so far, and without a doubt, this is the best one I've ever read. It deserves thousands more stars than just 5. Stargirl taught me so much, and I can only hope that she can inspire others to do what she embraced, being herself in a world where you are shunned if you don't blend in with the crowd. Jerry Spinelli's writing was out of this world, his book Stargirl deserves countless honors!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    StarGirlLover

    An amazing book! Will help teenage girls through j-high and high school! Cant wait to read the second book called Love

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Love it

    You should read it! One of the best books I have ever read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Love it!

    I have this book not on my nook but just regular paperback and it rocks!!!!!!!

    Posted by samantha adams

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Stargirl

    This book is just AMAZING

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    10000000 STARS!!!!!!!I LOVE STARGIRL!!!!!!!!!

    Bet book ever. Period. A must read. It has crazy plans romance and will have you laughing one second and in tears the next. Truly amazing and recomended to all age's. I apsolutly love this book and will read it over and over. The best book ever!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Great book alert!

    I loved this book! It was a summer reading assignment from my ELA teacher one year, and I read it very quickly. Everyone that reads this book calls me Stargirl because I am like her, even down to the ukulele! She is so full of spirit, and the book is about her when she goes to a new school. She takes everyone by surprise with her uniqueness, including a boy named Leo Borlock. This book has everything- a spunky heroine, a clumsy boy, romance, life lessons, and it's just a great uplifting book to read. Also read Love, Stargirl!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    a modern classic

    Okay, I'm going to say it. Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli is a young adult classic (maybe even a children's classic but that's really a cataloguing issue that I am ill-equipped to discuss). This designation raises the question: What makes a book (any book) a classic? For me it means a book that is timeless; something you can read years and years after it was written without the book losing its vibrancy. A classic also needs to have memorable writing and characters. It needs to speak to the reader. It needs to be a book that you enjoy more every time you read it or talk about it. Classics are the books you want to immerse yourself in: the books you wish you could live in with the characters that you wish were your friends.

    I'll say it again: Stargirl is a classic.

    The story starts with Leo Borlock, who moved to Mica, Arizona at the age of twelve. Around the time of his move, Leo decided to start collecting porcupine neckties--no easy task, especially in Mica. For two years, Leo's collection stood at one tie. Until his fourteenth birthday when an unknown someone presented Leo with his second tie, someone who was watching from the sidelines.

    Mica's unusual events don't stop there. The story continues when Leo is a junior in high school. On the first day the name on everyone's lips is Stargirl. Formerly home-schooled, Stargirl is a sophomore like no one Leo (or any of the other Mica students) has ever met before:

    "She was elusive. She was today. She was tomorrow. She was the faintest scent of a cactus flower, the flitting shadow of an elf owl. We did not know what to make of her. In our minds we tried to pin her to corkboard like a butterfly, but the pin merely went through and away she flew."

    After finishing this book and recently reading Love, Stargirl (Spinelli's newly released sequel), I have my own explanation: Stargirl is magical. She represents the kind of magic more people need in their lives: to appreciate the little things, to dare to be different, to be kind to strangers. The kind of magic where you still believe things can be wondrous.

    In the story, Leo soon realizes that Stargirl might be someone he could love.

    Unfortunately, high school students don't always believe in (or appreciate) magic like Stargirl's. As the school moves from fascination to adoration and, finally, to disdain Leo finds himself in an impossible position: forced to choose between the girl he loves and his entire lifestyle.

    Technically speaking I love everything about this book: the characters, the story, the cover art. This one has the full package. Spinelli's writing throughout the story is perfect. He captures Leo's fascination with Stargirl as well as his equivocation as he is forced to choose between Stargirl and "the crowd."

    Stargirl is not a long book. The writing is cogent, sentences brief. Nonetheless, the text is rich. This book never gets old or boring. Spinelli creates a compelling, utterly new narrative here (with a charmingly memorable heroine).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    O-MAZING

    Im reading this book for school for book club and it is very good. Some parts teach kids not to bully, some parts teach kids that there are kids out there with weird names. I give an infinity for stars

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 831 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 42