Customer Reviews for

Starring Jules #1: Starring Jules (as herself)

Average Rating 4.5
( 6 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 6 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    My Review: This is such a cute read. It reminds me a lot of my d

    My Review:
    This is such a cute read. It reminds me a lot of my daughter, and I know she will enjoy this series, not only now but later. I love the fact that Jules keeps lists, as even being an adult I keep lists too. I thought this was normal? No?
    Starring Jules reminds me of Junie B with a mix of Fancy Nancy. I absolutely adore it.
    I loved it when Beth wrote out how the new student sounds with her accent, brilliant! I can not wait for the rest of this series, I mean, who could totally pass up on a sparking, dancy, imagination little girl? Jules even learns words like: pizzazz, snazzy, and improvise. I love adding vocabulary to my daughter’s world, and with this book it is easily done!

    About the Author:
    A Pennsylvania girl at heart, Beth Ain fell in love with life in New York City, and she loves trying to capture the essence of family life there. Thankfully, she now has the benefits of both city and small-town life, having settled in Port Washington, New York, where she lives very happily with her husband and their two kids.

    Disclosure: I received this book for free from NetGalley/Scholastic Press. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2013

    This is a super cute chapter book about a quirky girl with crazy

    This is a super cute chapter book about a quirky girl with crazy emotions. Jules has a funny voice and is entertaining to follow.

    This is a simple book great for kids just starting out reading chapters. The illustrations are adorable and add to the personality of the book and the main character. Girls especially will be able to relate to the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    Amazing!

    Starring Jules Series #1: Starring Jules (As Herself)
    WRITTEN: Ain, Beth ILLUSTRATED: Keenan Higgins, Anne
    My summary:
    Will Jules get center stage or mess up?
    Jules Bloom will not eat anything orange-flavored. She is in between best friends. Then one day at a diner, someone comments that she would be perfect for a commercial! Turns out that the commercial is for orange-flavored mouthwash. Jules is panicking! The arrival of a new student (from London!!), a little bit about astrology, almost giving up on her hope ever since that new girl came, and every strategy known all fail. Will Jules get the commercial or not? And if she doesn't, will it be the end?
    My comment:
    Ain creates a masterpiece of, well, an amazing book. None of the characters arebperfect, but they are all positive. This must-read will stay on my shelf. Keenan Higgins's illustrations capture the story perfectly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2013

     Fabulous chapter book series with a fun new character in the ve

     Fabulous chapter book series with a fun new character in the vein of Junie B and Judy Moody! Wacky and fun! Love the characters and fun family! 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    This is a great chapter book for young readers. It was short, ea

    This is a great chapter book for young readers. It was short, easy to read, and very entertaining! I found myself laughing as I read this book that is meant for kids! It was so fun! Jules was such a fun character. She was so spunky! 
    The storyline was great. It was not really relatable in the sense that most kids don't get to actually audition to be an actor. However, what kid doesn't dream of that? It was a great idea, and something that I would have loved reading as a kid.

    I received this book for free in return for an honest review. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    This was a wonderful book for my eight year old....she read it i

    This was a wonderful book for my eight year old....she read it in three days and can't wait for sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1