BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Starring Me

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

First, let me just say that I love how "Starring Me by Kris

First, let me just say that I love how "Starring Me by Krista McGee" rhymes. Cute!

Sorry.

I loved Kara in McGee's first book, First Date. She was the highlight of the book for me. (Read my review here.) We get plenty of her trademark sass in Starring Me, but...
First, let me just say that I love how "Starring Me by Krista McGee" rhymes. Cute!

Sorry.

I loved Kara in McGee's first book, First Date. She was the highlight of the book for me. (Read my review here.) We get plenty of her trademark sass in Starring Me, but we also get to see her deeper side and qualities. She's loyal, dedicated and kind. I also loved Flora, the housemother that Kara bonds with. Both First Date and Starring Me are loosely based on the bible characters of Esther and Rebekah. But in cool way. I really love the tv reality show gimmick. There's an "insider" feel to the descriptions of the filming and rehearsals that's really fun. A great read for younger teens.

I recieved a eBook copy of this title through NetGalley.

posted by TheAddLibrarian on July 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

When I saw this on NetGalley, I thought I would like to read abo

When I saw this on NetGalley, I thought I would like to read about a girl trying to get in a teen variety show. I seems like a good read. I decided to read this book because I been reading a lot of paranormal romance books. I thought this would be a great book.

In the ...
When I saw this on NetGalley, I thought I would like to read about a girl trying to get in a teen variety show. I seems like a good read. I decided to read this book because I been reading a lot of paranormal romance books. I thought this would be a great book.

In the beginning was about Chad and his parents trying to agree with the producer about picking the costar for Chad's T.V. show. His parents wanted to choose the girl. His parents wanted a girl who was Christian. The producer wasn't to fond of the idea but he made it work. The idea was to hold an audition for the girls who wanted to be on the T.V show. They decided to keep the secret about Chad being the star on the show because they wanted girls who were good at acting and singing rather then just wanting to just meet Chad. After the audition, they would choose 50 or so girls, then narrow it down to 10. When there are 10 girls picked. Chad's grandma would be staying with the girls for a month and will be picking the girl by her personality not by her talents.

Well Chad is famous because he won the 'American's Next Star'. He's a great singer but this time he wants to be an actor. He's the guy that teen girls would fall for. Pretty much like Justin Bieber. He's blond and tall. He's Christian. He obeys his parents like a loyal son. I hate how he always listen to his parents. It gets annoying sometimes because stuff like that rarely happens in real life. He also hasn't dated anyone yet. He wants the first girl to be perfect and be his wife.

Kara is one of the girls who is auditioning for the T.V show. She has a friend name Addy. Kara meet her at a show called The Book of Love. They were both trying to get a date to prom with the President's son. They didn't win. They get along really well. I feel like Kara is so boring...

Overall the book was okay. I did enjoy the book in the beginning but the ending was really slow. I would talk more about this book but I feel like it's just all negative things. This book is about God and trying to connet with him through hard times. I didn't enjoy it as much but it's alright.

posted by Shatterbooks on July 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    First, let me just say that I love how "Starring Me by Kris

    First, let me just say that I love how "Starring Me by Krista McGee" rhymes. Cute!

    Sorry.

    I loved Kara in McGee's first book, First Date. She was the highlight of the book for me. (Read my review here.) We get plenty of her trademark sass in Starring Me, but we also get to see her deeper side and qualities. She's loyal, dedicated and kind. I also loved Flora, the housemother that Kara bonds with. Both First Date and Starring Me are loosely based on the bible characters of Esther and Rebekah. But in cool way. I really love the tv reality show gimmick. There's an "insider" feel to the descriptions of the filming and rehearsals that's really fun. A great read for younger teens.

    I recieved a eBook copy of this title through NetGalley.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another great one for your daughter!

    Starring Me, Krista McGee’s second offering in the YA genre follows well behind “First Date” as a charming and very age appropriate YA novel aimed at young teen girls and at the young at heart. Following in the footsteps of the reality TV show gig, Starring Me centers around the charming character of 17 year old Kara McKormick who readers will remember as Addy Davidson’s best girlfriend from her first book. But this time the spot light is all on Kara and her own shot at staring in a new up and coming teen show along the lines of a teen versioned Saturday Night line and what Kara doesn’t know is that if she were to get this shot, she would be co-starring with none other than Chad Beacon, an instant teen pop star who soared to popularity by winning America’s Next Star. But here’s the deal, Chad’s parents are loving and protective and wants to make sure that his co-star isn’t just any girl and aspiring starlet, but one that has integrity , character and that they hope shares their Christian faith as well since their son would be spending so much time with this girl. So the family hatches a plan to put their beloved housekeeper undercover as a sort of “house mother” living in with the girls that get chosen to be the top ten girls vying for the shot at this show and going through a grueling audition process. Their housekeeper “Flora” is very flamboyant and so many girls show their true colors around her which helps Flora really see which girl is the best girl. Kara has all the right qualities except the most important one- she does not believe in God. Kara gets to know Chad a little bit through his friendship with Jonathon who happens to be the President’s son and the guy who is seeing her best friend Addy. There is an instant connection between the two and a friendship starts to grow. As the story unfolds it takes the reader on another sweet story about faith, relationships and what is the most important thing in the end- faith, family and love. As a mother of teen girls I can recommend Krista McGee’s books with confidence knowing that they are sweet and yet carry a message that I hope will make a teenage girl think with regards to her relationships in life and her standing with God. My only bit of criticism might be that I felt the “audition scripts” were a bit too young and perhaps corny for me to believe they would be used in a program designed for teens. But that is being pretty nit-picky and a very minor part of the story. Overall, another great read to recommend to your daughters! 4 Stars I was graciously provided with a digital copy of this book by the publisher through the Netgalley program in exchange for an honest, non-biased review. All opinions expressed are my own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read!

    Thank you to Thomas Nelson for sending me this e-galley through their Book Sneeze program. Starring Me is a fun, refreshing read about a girl as feisty as her red hair, a cute boy and the chance of a lifetime. This story is loosely based on the biblical story of Issac and Rebekah and is a companion novel to McGee's debut, First Date, (where we first meet Kara). Kara McCormick was born to perform and while she didn't win the boy on The Book of Love, she came away with an even better prize in her new best friend Addy. The girls have a lot in common but the one thing they don't share is Addy's belief in God. Kara doesn't see the need for Him in her life even though she's seen Him work in Addy's. All that changes when Kara gets the chance to audition for a new teen sketch comedy show, convinced it's her ticket to making her dreams come true. When things don't go as smoothly as she expected, she'll discover that God works in our lives whether we acknowledge Him or not. Kara also gets a lesson about what's really important and the meaning of real love - the kind that's all consuming and never ending. I thoroughly enjoyed Kara! She's straightforward, selfless and laugh-out-loud funny. She shows integrity and an openness to what Addy and several others have to say. There's a sweetness to the friendship she develops with Chad and parents of younger readers have nothing to worry about. The idea of courtship; not dating until you're serious about finding a lifelong partner is addressed with Kara and Addy discussing the pros and cons of bouncing from one relationship to the next. Krista McGee is one of the few Christian authors I've found who is able to share a message of love, forgiveness and grace without sounding preachy or cheesy. McGee's characters are believable and relateable. I'm a Christian and I don't enjoy reading stories where everything is over the top or with characters who are too "perfect". There's also a Q&A in the back for small groups or book club discussions.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Cute story!

    Chad Beacon isn’t your average Hollywood heartthrob. Sure, he won the show America’s Next Star, but as he and his parents negotiate his next big contract, a teen skit show that’s similar to Saturday Night Live, his parents want to make sure that his co-star shares his faith. The compromise? A family friend—and a great judge of character—volunteers to play housemother to the top ten finalists, and she will choose Chad’s co-star.

    Kara wants to be an actor, so when she gets a callback to audition for a teen skit show, she is thrilled, moving to Orlando to where the competition will be filmed. But how can she stand a chance at winning when she’s the only one without an agent? And why does it seem like everyone around her is talking about God?

    Cute story! And another fictional addition that jumps on the reality TV craze. It reads similar to a romance novel, bouncing between Chad and Kara’s points of view. This book is a spin off from First Date, and Chad and Kara are friends with Jonathan and Addy, the main characters from that story. McGree’s characters are have great dialogue and interactions. This story was loosely based on Isaac and Rebekah’s relationship, which makes it all the more fun. If you haven’t discovered Krista McGee yet, I suggest you waste no more time. Fun stuff.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    Check this one out!!

    I was given an ARC of Starring Me by Krista McGee via Netgalley a couple of months ago. I read Krista's first novel First Date (Review Here!) back in January, and thought it was a very cute story. So when I saw Krista's second novel Starring Me on Netgalley I didn't hesitate to request it right away!

    Then when I was contacted by the publisher this past week, to possibly take into consideration of reviewing this book, I couldn't resist! So as soon as I finished my last book, I picked up my beautiful lovely Kindle, and started reading.

    Starring Me was released on July 10th, and is the story of Kara. Kara was Addy's roommate in First Date, and while both Addy and Kara didn't win the date with the President's son, Addy did win the President's son's heart, and Kara has just been given the chance of a life time!

    The chance to be the star of a new Comedy teen Variety show!

    In competition with nine other girls, Kara is forced to endure one very unpleasant cast member from Book of Love the show she met Addy on. Anna Grace is as terrible as before, but sometimes even worse.


    But what Kara doesn't know is that she already knows who her co-star is, unintentionally though. You see none of the ten girls actually knows who their co-star is going to be. But Kara has already met him, through Addy and Jonathon (the President's son/and Addy's boy(friend)).

    Chad Beacon got his fame two years earlier on a singing competition TV show. Since then, he's been recording, touring, greeting crazy fans, and learning what it's like to be a star. However, he feels it's time for something different.

    The TV show is just what he thinks he needs. And with the help of his parents, he persuades the TV studio to work out a way that his costar is a nice Christian gal with a kind heart, one whom Chad can see himself getting close with.

    What Chad hadn't anticipated was not being able to get that tall red-head out of his head, Kara McKormick. But the problem is, she isn't a Christian! Will her parents (namely, her mother) be able to over look this?

    Will Kara be able to handle the stress of the show? Will her cast mates ever stop being so rude? And why does an actress/actor HAVE to have an agent, to make it big??

    Will Kara find out that Chad may be closer than she thought?

    Will Kara find God through her friends?

    Find out in Starring Me by Krista McGee.

    I will say this book, like Krista's first novel First Date, deals with the Christianity faith A LOT! And while, I personally am not a religious person, I found it enduring and beautiful how dedicated someone can be to their faith. I enjoyed this story, I thought it was a very light easy, cute read, and I recommend it to anyone who has a strong faith, or something just looking for a fun easy read! :)

    The Romance Bookie :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Love it!

    This a great story on 2 teens with totally different back rounds. They both love God and both want to have the spotlight. It is a captivating, interesting, and cute novel!! It will suck you right in!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free fr

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Starring Me is a fun, refreshing read about a feisty girl who can't wait to be a star, a cute famous boy and the chance of a lifetime. This book is a sequel to Krista McGee's First Date, which is where we are first introduced to Kara McCormick.

    Kara McCormick was born to be a star. We first met Kara (in McGee's First Date book) when she was on the show "The Book of Love," where she met her new best friend Addy. While they are a lot alike, they differ on one thing - Addy's belief in God. Kara thinks her life is just fine without God in it, but even she had to admit the effect God has on Addy. When Kara gets the chance to audition for a new teen sketch comedy show, her dreams have finally come true. However, when the going gets tough, she finally starts to see that God is always there, whether we want Him to be or not. She also learns very important lessons about life and love.

    I enjoyed reading about Kara and her personality was awesome. She is so open to hearing about God from Addy and several others. The friendship she develops with Chad is something that is not found in many young adult books these days. Dating - in this book - is addressed seriously through the eyes of a Christian. The dialogue of Addy and Kara discussing relationships is a refreshing change from most books.

    I have really enjoyed every Krista McGee books that I had read. She can share the message from God and not be too pushy. The characters are down to earth and people that you feel like you can relate to. I can't wait to see what she writes next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    I will be honest right now – I grabbed this book from Netg

    I will be honest right now – I grabbed this book from Netgalley by accident. Do I regret it? No. Really.

    I should have started with telling I’m Christian by myself, but I’m not really a strict one. I don’t care too much about religion. I didn’t expect myself to like religious fiction actually – books like that seem to be boring and kind of plastic to me – unreal. Something good happens – God wanted it to be like this. Something bad happened – God wanted it to be like that too.

    Starring me is connected with First date book, it’s a little like a sequel. I haven’t read any other book by this author but it was still okay with me – I think it’s not required to read First date to understand Starring me.

    We a have handsome boy, a singer (one of those teen stars who are popular because they are popular). He is perfect of course, as perfect as a person could be. I labeled him BORING and UNNATURAL at start. He’s going to have his own show but needs another new “star”. And here starts the fun. His parents let him play only with a Christian girl – because only a Christian girl can be good for his son, right?

    It seemed like one big parody of Christianity at the beginning. It bothered me so much that I was about to delete this e-book and give up on reviewing. All was about convincing Kara that Christianity is the only good choice. Pretty bothering. But I continued reading… And oh, Narnia opened to me.

    Author has amazing writing style and she makes the story intriguing even if the ending is really predictable. Last pages were so amazing and when it ended… I wanted more.

    To sum up, it has some disadvantages like annoying, unnatural characters but… It still has this SOMETHING I look for in books. Looks like I shouldn’t have judged the book by its first pages… So I recommend it to young adults, Christians or not. It doesn’t matter. This book is simply good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1