Customer Reviews for

Starry Night: A Christmas Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 157 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Starry Night is a sweet, warm holiday/Christmas based story. Wha

Starry Night is a sweet, warm holiday/Christmas based story. What else do we expect from the queen of tender romance writing, Debbie Macomber.




It all begins a few weeks before Thanksgiving, when Carrie Slayton, society page journalist a big Chicago based newspaper, ...
Starry Night is a sweet, warm holiday/Christmas based story. What else do we expect from the queen of tender romance writing, Debbie Macomber.




It all begins a few weeks before Thanksgiving, when Carrie Slayton, society page journalist a big Chicago based newspaper, gets challenged by her boss to get an interview with Alaskan wilderness author Finn Dalton. The elusive author has refused any interviews since his book hit #1 best seller. If Carrie pulls off this interview her boss told her she has her pick of assignments.




Carrie gives up her Thanksgiving holiday time with her family to track down Dalton. She never expects the younger vibrant man she encounters. Getting snowed in gives them plenty of time to really get to know each other and both are reluctant to part. Finn asks Carrie to give up her interview and keep his privacy, now Carrie must decide between her career and the man she thinks could hold her heart.




I found Starry Night an absolutely wonderful and utterly delightful story. The characters develop a sweet and tender relationship that is refreshingly genuine. If you are looking for a cute holiday season love story, Starry Night is the perfect book for you.




I received this ARC copy of Starry Night from Random House Publishing Group - Ballantine in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication October 8, 2013.




Written by: Debbie Macomber
Hardcover: 256 pages
Publisher: Ballantine Books 
Publication: October 8, 2013
ISBN-10: 0345528891
ISBN-13: 978-0345528896
Rating: 4 Stars
Genre: Romance
Age Recommendation: Young Adult +

posted by Sailon on October 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Ripoff

The review of book says it is 256 pages, and the actual page count is 152 with 9 of those pages give over to excerpts from another book. I was not worth paying $7.99 for.

posted by 8376217 on October 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    quick read

    ok if you just want something to amuse - not too memorable

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2013

    A good dose of love to carry in your purse when life annoys you

    A good dose of love to carry in your purse when life annoys you and you need a big hug!

    No need to wait for the Christmas season or for an heavy snowfall to read this new romance by Debbie Macomber ... Certainly, there are smells of cinnamon, turkey and Christmas tree decoration but romantic novels can be read throughout the year with great pleasure. You just need to be in the mood ...And this one is cute!

    This is typically the kind of novel that make you see life in pink.  From time to time, we all get a little down, reading this book make you want to believe...It's better than a happy pill!

    The graphic description remains chaste but the words of the author are enough to move you and make you want to believe that anything is possible in love. That good people exist and that the right man is out there somewhere waiting for you.

    I know it sounds corny, soppy... Generally, I avoid vapid sentimental stories. There are not my cup of tea, but there are some authors who are masters in the art of ship you off your feet. Deebie Macomber is one of them!

    You immerse yourself in their world. 
    Here's how I found myself encouraging Carrie and Finn, even though the scenes were predictable. But I had a smile or a squeezing heart and I could not help but turn the pages. Regardless of whether in real life, all their differences would lead to failure ... Here, you want to believe.

    A good dose of love to carry in your purse when life annoys you and you need a big hug!

    Lucie
    newbooksonmyselves.blogspot.fr

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Good reading especially if you haven't read any of her other books.

    It was an O.K. book but certainly not one of her best. I felt you could almost determine the outcome early in the book. She is a good author and I will continue to read her books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Real seth

    Are you dead cuase you look like a zombie. Plus brush your teeth. I can smell it through the screen. Bye!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    recommended

    This was an entertaining read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    Copy provided by Netgalley for an unbiased review. I've only

    Copy provided by Netgalley for an unbiased review.

    I've only read a couple of books by Debbie Macomber. They don't really seem to be my style, but this was a nice book for the Christmas season. Yes, it was a bit formulaic and predictable, but occasionally it's nice to read that type of book, especially during the holiday season when so much is going on in life. The characters were enjoyable, and the descriptions of Alaska in winter almost (but only almost) made this Southern girl want to experience it. The story is predictable - you know where it's going, it's just a matter of how it will get there. It's a pleasant trip, with the usual detours, but get there it does. It's a well written, quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Starry Night

    Short and not her best, but still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Recommend

    It was a very good story. Very easy read. I looke forward to her Christmas books every year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1