Customer Reviews for

Starry River of the Sky

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read! Worth your time.

    We love all of the Grace Lin books! I have a 10 year old & a 8 year old one boy, one girl.
    It's Not often that there's a writer that captures all of our interests. I enjoy the books as
    much as my children. We can't wait to hear what happens next. The only down side is
    Waiting for her next creation. If you have younger readers or listeners check out her
    other creations she has good picture books for the soon to be readers too. A couple
    of our favorate's are The Ugly Vegetables & Ling & Ting.
    Worth reading!
    Enjoy

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Grace lin

    At first i was not so sure i liked it but then it got better and better now i can not wait for the next one

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Karen Pirnot for Readers Favorite "Starry Rive

    Reviewed by Karen Pirnot for Readers Favorite

    "Starry River of the Sky" by Grace Lin is truly one of those books you want your young readers to read. It is a book whose messages will stay with the child long after the story has ended. The moon has been missing in the small village occupied by a young boy named Rendi. Rendi is actually a boy from a wealthy family but he has run away, believing he is not valued by his family. Working as a chore boy in a small village, he encounters crazy Mr. Shan and a mysterious lady who tells tales which seem to have hidden meanings. Actually the woman is providing clues about the problem of the missing moon. The mysterious woman encourages Rendi to tell his own tales and it is in Rendi's storytelling that the mysteries of the missing moon begin to reveal themselves.

    All of the characters are charming and well-developed in values and purpose. The Chinese folklore provides exciting mental adventures for the child as well as intrigue which stimulates curiosity and imagination. The illustrations are charming and they enhance the reader's ability to visualize a personal experience while trying to solve the mystery at hand. I particularly loved the interplay between the children Rendi and Peiyi as they gradually made the transition from lack of interpersonal awareness to a state of insight into individual differences as well as the trials and tribulations of the human condition in general. A beautiful book from cover to cover.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    How amazing this book!

    Grace Lin is one of my all time favorite authors. She is such a good writer. I have read all of her books. The only thing that gets annoying is it takes her a while to come out with new ones. Sence I have read Where the Mountain meets the moon I have relized they leave clues for eachother. It is a very well written book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Best book

    I love this book cant wait gor the next one to come out :) =)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    There are some authors that the minute I know they have a new bo

    There are some authors that the minute I know they have a new book coming out, I immediately pre-order it. Grace Lin is one of those authors. Not just because I love her gorgeous illustrations (I love those bright colors she always uses), which I do, but also because her stories always draw me in and make me want to be a part of her characters lives. So, when I heard about this book, I knew I would love it and I did.

    Rendi is an interesting character from page one. While he is not particularly likeable at first, one quickly realizes that the reason he is such a jerk is because he is desperately unhappy. But it isn't until the arrival of Madame Chang that we slowly start to find out why. I also enjoyed the way the other characters lives slowly blend together with Rendi's to create a story of stories and their importance in our lives. I especially liked it when Madame Chang tells Rendi that the reason she asked him to tell stories of his own was because she wanted to know him better and that when we tell stories we reveal something of ourselves.

    I loved the way the different threads of the story came together at the end. Rendi's story, Madame Chang's story, Peiyi's and her father's and brother's stories as well as that of the missing moon all come together at the end revealing the underlying theme of forgiveness. If you haven't yet read this book, I highly recommend that you do. It's definitely going on my favorites shelf.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Amazing book

    I really love it when authors create a back story for their books!!! :)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2014

    "Starry River of the Sky" was in my opinion, not as go

    "Starry River of the Sky" was in my opinion, not as good as "Where the Mountain Meets the Moon." They were both written in the same style, a main story filled with minor fables. But for some reason, I just wasn't drawn in to this one. The book is beautifully illustrated, and the audiobook was well narrated. And the stories were cute. The book was ok. Maybe I just wasn't in the right mood for it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Um

    Where the mountain meets the moon was better but this was good!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    Recommend- great book to read with your children

    Good story for the entire family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Soo fun

    Best book ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    I love this book!

    Relly good i wish it was longer some challenging words but over all brillant!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    S

    Mosskittumbled around.She went to see Blossomkit and Adderkit!!!!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Second book for where the mountain meets the moon?

    Please replyAsap.
    Please title to strawberrylover
    Thanks

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!

    This book is one of my all- time favorites. Every time that I pick it up it's very hard to put it down. Grace Lin is one of my favortie authors. I love all her books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Best book

    Love it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Melinda arvizu

    It is one afof the most greatis book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Click to read my comment.

    If i could speak to Grace Lin i would say thank u for making these beautiful amazing books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is a great book.The author has put effort in to the book to make it amazing!!!
    But not just this book,but all the books she published is so amazing.

    -Dylan Parikh
    Age: 8

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    The WA Post review said it well. If you read aloud to your child

    The WA Post review said it well. If you read aloud to your children, it is a perfect book. If you are a teacher and
     need an interesting book that hesitant readers can take on in short yet complete 
    sections, this book will help them gain confidence as they complete each 
    interesting story within the story. Kids as young as seven up through middle school (adult, for that matter)
     will identify with the characters and be intrigued. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2