Customer Reviews for

The Stars Shine Down

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2003

    AWESOME!!

    I thought this book *The stars shine down' an excellent book. It took me only two sittings to read it.I could not put it down. It is one of the best books to read in your down time or on a vaction. The author is so descriptive, you think your in the story!!! Great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Fangstorm bio

    Crush on shineingstare

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Shiningstare to fangstorm

    Updated bio at ashes of the chosen. U should post a bio too.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Nova

    A big silver gryphon with orange eyes is sprawled out in the prarie. The grass grows silver

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Great

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Predictable but nice

    This wasn't what I expected from Sidney. Yes, it did have the usual but what made it worse, I think, mystery element. I absolutely hated it. Not that I hated the story. But the lies he told in this one were not at all dramatic as his before books that I read. It was simply boring. Just boring. I adored Lara and commend her for all the hard work she was able to do. I look up to no playing games, right on point, boss in high heels.. Yes it so sexy. And her love affair.Unfortunately I knew exactly where it would end up. And if your a huge fan of Sidney, like I am then you will know exactly what I am talking about. He is becoming so cliche now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    Sheldon's novels have become outdated

    I've read a few Sidney Sheldon novels now, and agree with another post that they are mindless drivel, but at the same time quick, funny reads. However, I couldn't understand why Sheldon's male characters could be so consistently sexist and at times misogynistic with no one appearing to take issue with it. (Plus a number of his novels are outrageously homophobic) In this particular novel, the author can't seem to find a single male character that wasn't extremely uncomfortable working for a woman. You're reading along thinking that these neanderthals are going to grow up a little, but end up realizing that their attitudes are supposed to be the accepted norm. Then I looked up Sheldon on Wikipedia and saw he was born in 1917, so maybe that explains things. What might have worked in the 1960s and 1970s just doesn't anymore, and so the characters become just too unbelievable. His work has become far too outdated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sidney Sheldon novels are mindless and just fun to read when you want to be entertained.

    Lara Cameron wants everything, but it takes some ruinous circumstances to make her realize she has more than she needs.
    By 20, Lara was a millionaire intent on conquering Chicago. A couple of years later, takes on New York, and the world.
    From Nova Scotia to Chicago, New York to Amsterdam, The Stars Shine Down describes the life of a woman who knew what she wanted and was willing to pay the price to get it.
    Sidney Sheldon novels are mindless and just fun to read when you want to be entertained. They have absolutely no literary value, but there is nothing better to have to read at the beach when you are enjoying a cocktail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2005

    An Awesome Read!!!

    The Best! I loved the book it was thrilling and provacotive. One of my favorite books I have ever read. Sidney Sheldon at Best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2005

    Inspiring!

    I love Lara Cameron! This story is so inspiring how she came from her incredibly humble beginnings to rise to the top. Her ideas and dreams are what gave me the idea to become a real estate developer. I'm very succesful, but not on Lara's level! :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2003

    not really that worth it to read..

    just finished reading the book.the story seemed to be very interesting while i was reading it, but the ending was very disappointing. it didn't turn out to have a clear conclusion; you don't know what happened to the rest of the characters.i suggest that sidney sheldon should write a part II for this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2003

    Fascinating!!!!!!!

    The Stars Shine Down is one of the most exciting books I've ever read in my life. It has a magic that keeps you hooked on to the book and you just feel like reading page after page without a break. It is indeed captivating! Fascinating! Fabulous!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2001

    My first Sheldon

    This was my first Sidney Sheldon book, and I thought it was great! I literally couldn't put the book down. Sidney Sheldon is the master of drawing you into his stories and not letting you get out of them! I'm defintly gonna read more.....Sidney Sheldon is incredible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2000

    Disappointing!!

    I am 15 & have read almost all of Sidney Sheldon's books. All of them I have enjoyed & not been able to put down but I was very disappointed in this one. It did not grip me at all. It was the 1st book of his that took me more than a day to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2