Customer Reviews for

Start Something That Matters

Average Rating 4.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 22, 2011

    Makes you believe

    If you've ever had a dream of how you can change the world or start a business or pursue your passion, Start Something That Matters will make you believe you can do it. Blake's easy-to-read book includes not just the story of TOMS but of other dreamers who have made an impact to illustrate his seven key principals. I got my book free as a blogger, but it's one I would be willing to pay for.

    And for every book sold, a children's book will be donated to kids who need books. It's a win-win.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    Everyone Needs to Read This!

    Blake wrote this book to open people's brains to the concept of starting a business that makes money, and a difference, at the same time. The TOMS story is fantastic, and he explains other similar businesses and what they are achieving around the globe. A must read for entrepreneurs and anyone considering a start-up. Spread the word--there are good things happening out there!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended!

    Blake Mycoskie started TOMS shoe company after visiting Argentina and learning that many children there didn't own shoes, leading to infections and diseases from dirt-born parasites. The business donates one pair of shoes for every pair sold. This quick read describes the challenges and joys of getting the business going, along with how it became so successful; however, the majority of the book focuses on how we as humans can become our own destiny. The chapter titles say it all, among them: " Find Your Story, Face Your Fears, Build Trust, and Giving is Good Business." The chapters are simplistic but contain information which is so true. Decide what it is you really want, have the courage to go for it, and remember the people who helped you along the way. In other words, give back as much as you are able.

    This is truly an inspiring book which I am happy to highly recommend. Am sending a copy to my son in college this week!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    This book just keeps on giving!!

    I just finished reading Blake¿s' book Start Something that Matters, and I was so engrossed in the content, I could not put it down. From cover to cover, this book is full of inspiration, business building strategies and examples of how one idea can change a life! From a corporate perspective I thoroughly appreciated Blake¿s description on the qualities that are essential in a team and leadership: trust, autonomy, engagement, creating champions and partnerships, and the foundation of corporate giving (in more ways than just money). From the community service perspective, I valued Blake¿s examples of the many ways in which an idea can help millions, and how giving creates a cycle of reciprocity. Blake stressed the importance of having a story and sharing your story, this is critical for any project, and business. His tips on creating, sharing and living your story will make a difference in how I approach my next big project. A book that will definitely make a difference in our world! Charmaine Hammond, Author, On Toby¿s Terms

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved this book Read it today

    WOW!!! I loved this book. The way the information was presented made me want to keep reading. I loved the stories of other businesses that are charity based and how they started and are now thriving. The need in the world is huge and it may seem impossible to do anything, but this book gives you small doable solutions to help out others.

    Have you ever thought that you are only one person and cannot do anything to help.well read this book and you will know that there are tons of things you can do every day to help someone somewhere. I read this book in one setting and I couldn't put it down. The personal stories and the stories of others brought the book to life. Why not have a business that is for-profit and for helping those in need. If we don't have enough then how can we help anyone?

    This is a book that everyone out there should read and think about. What can you do? Anything is something to someone out there in need. I will be making this book and a pair of TOMS part of my Christmas giving this year. Get this book and start something that matters.no matter how small someone will be eternally grateful for what you do. READ THIS BOOK TODAY! The publisher is giving one book to a child in need for every book purchased.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    It is a fascinating read, and a great book for helping the buddi

    It is a fascinating read, and a great book for helping the budding entrepreneur to "find the right niche". It is a great book for casual non-fiction reading, even if I didn't want to create a company that would serve both to feed me and give back to the community.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best books I've read on the entrepreneurial spirit.

    One of the best books I've read on the entrepreneurial spirit. Mycoskie started a shoe business on guts alone and it's interesting to read how when he met a brick wall (the shoe dogs) he kept searching for someone who would make his shoes. His ideas of using interns, keeping his business model simply and rewarding his employees with fun when he didn't have a great deal of money all make sense. He offers additional stories on other successful companies and websites of interest. Most of all Mycoskie believed in the power of his idea and the story to sell his product. It's a lesson anyone interested in starting something that matters will immediately get. Now I need to add this book to my personal collection and start my own dream.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Could not put down

    What an amazing man! Great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1