Customer Reviews for

Starters

Average Rating 4.5
( 176 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(122)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

I love it! Loved Callie. Loved Michael. Then didn't want to l

I love it! Loved Callie. Loved Michael. Then didn't want to love Blake...but I did. Then the Blake twist! And a race to stop a murder! What's not to love?!? The world is so divided, but feels so real. The poor orphans! And the Old Man plotting against them is s...
I love it! Loved Callie. Loved Michael. Then didn't want to love Blake...but I did. Then the Blake twist! And a race to stop a murder! What's not to love?!? The world is so divided, but feels so real. The poor orphans! And the Old Man plotting against them is so frightening; he gives me the shivers. I can't wait for book 2! I want Callie to rip the mask off that Old Man!

posted by Lou4 on March 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Starters was definitely different. I wanted to read it as soon a

Starters was definitely different. I wanted to read it as soon as I found out it was a new dystopian, and you all know how much I love dystopians. The world Callie lives in right now is split in two. The starters (people younger than 20) and the Enders (people older tha...
Starters was definitely different. I wanted to read it as soon as I found out it was a new dystopian, and you all know how much I love dystopians. The world Callie lives in right now is split in two. The starters (people younger than 20) and the Enders (people older than 70). Most of the people in between died from an epidemic. The Enders now don't die by the age of 80-90, they live up to 200+. The story starts with Callie wanting to rent her body at a body bank to get money for her and her young brother. The body bank "Prime Destination" is a secretive organization that only a few selective people know about. Enders get to have their choice of bodies and relive their youthful days, literally.
On her third rental trial, Callie wakes up, takes full control of her body and finds herself living her renter's life. The luxury cars, designer clothes, and the fake name. However her renter isn't just out to have some fun, she has her own plan, a plan that might ruin Callie's life, if it didn't already end it. Callie would do anything to protect her brother, she was brave, rational, and a headstrong protagonist. The book had a plot, a mystery, an evil character, but I just felt that something was missing. I would have loved if I got a better glimpse at their dystopian world.
I liked the build up of the story. Right from the start you get tidbits of information to unveil the conspiracy of Prime Destination and in just how much trouble Callie is in. You're not left in the dark for long, and when one question is answered, another one pops up. Especially towards the end, so many gasp moments occur and secrets are revealed that leave you hardly able to wait for the release of the second, and final book in this dystopian duology.

posted by majibookshelf on March 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted March 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Starters was definitely different. I wanted to read it as soon a

    Starters was definitely different. I wanted to read it as soon as I found out it was a new dystopian, and you all know how much I love dystopians. The world Callie lives in right now is split in two. The starters (people younger than 20) and the Enders (people older than 70). Most of the people in between died from an epidemic. The Enders now don't die by the age of 80-90, they live up to 200+. The story starts with Callie wanting to rent her body at a body bank to get money for her and her young brother. The body bank "Prime Destination" is a secretive organization that only a few selective people know about. Enders get to have their choice of bodies and relive their youthful days, literally.
    On her third rental trial, Callie wakes up, takes full control of her body and finds herself living her renter's life. The luxury cars, designer clothes, and the fake name. However her renter isn't just out to have some fun, she has her own plan, a plan that might ruin Callie's life, if it didn't already end it. Callie would do anything to protect her brother, she was brave, rational, and a headstrong protagonist. The book had a plot, a mystery, an evil character, but I just felt that something was missing. I would have loved if I got a better glimpse at their dystopian world.
    I liked the build up of the story. Right from the start you get tidbits of information to unveil the conspiracy of Prime Destination and in just how much trouble Callie is in. You're not left in the dark for long, and when one question is answered, another one pops up. Especially towards the end, so many gasp moments occur and secrets are revealed that leave you hardly able to wait for the release of the second, and final book in this dystopian duology.

    33 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    I love it! Loved Callie. Loved Michael. Then didn't want to l

    I love it! Loved Callie. Loved Michael. Then didn't want to love Blake...but I did. Then the Blake twist! And a race to stop a murder! What's not to love?!? The world is so divided, but feels so real. The poor orphans! And the Old Man plotting against them is so frightening; he gives me the shivers. I can't wait for book 2! I want Callie to rip the mask off that Old Man!

    25 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Really enjoyable book!!!!!!

    LOOK AT THE AMAZING COVER!!!! I MEAN WHO WOULDNT WANT TO READ THAT!!!!
    Anyways this book is and was wonderful and you CAN judge it by its cover! Callie is someone many people wish they could be like as she goes through the story she finds herself out on the street running from the fuzz ( ha i just wanted to put that in there it means the police), dealing in the black market, having brain surgury multiple times, havin her body took over by someone at least 100+, pretending to be the older person thats suppose to be inside her, being in love wih two people, murder, a sick brother, and 100+ year old evil people followin her, while being in car recks fights and basically jail... JUST READ THE BOOK!!!

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    “Starters” is not just your daughter’s (or in

    “Starters” is not just your daughter’s (or in my case) granddaughter’s novel. Lissa wrote an exciting page turner and did not “dumb down” to attract younger readers.
    I was fascinated by the cover and was curious to learn this cover girl’s story.
    It’s an intriguing concept…young people called Starters left to fend for themselves due to the Spore Wars that wiped out everyone between the ages of 20 and 60. Callie, the main character, is orphaned and left to not only fend for herself but to also care for her younger, sickly brother. She’s scared, desperate and makes a decision that ultimately takes her to a frightening place. Prime Destinations hires teens to rent their bodies to Enders – seniors who want to be young again. Romance, intrigue, murder…who could ask for anything more? Well, I can. I’m anxiously awaiting Lissa’s follow up novel, Enders.
    Highly recommend!!!

    15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Starters is a great book. I won’t say that the first part

    Starters is a great book. I won’t say that the first part was too slow, or that the ending was too fast, because really, its pace was even with mine all throughout the book. I didn’t want to stop reading because I had nothing else to think about except what was already written. There was nothing useless in the book. Everything that was written is important to the story and made me feel like I was a part of their world.

    This book is so much like the Hunger Games, minus–you know–the Hunger Games. It had that evil mastermind, loved ones to take care of, with the whole country in jeopardy, or at least the young ones in the country. Just like any dystopian story. But the similarities didn’t end there for me. See, sometimes there are series you need a break from. This summer, I needed a break for the Wicked Lovely series so I read Starters. Last summer, I needed a break from the Kiesha’ra of the Den of Shadows and so I read the Hunger Games.

    Anyway, Starters was like a cup of coffee minus the caffeine. I didn’t feel sleepy one bit while reading it or simply just thinking about it. I wasn’t just not sleepy, I was wide-awake. It’s a book that you would want to read even when you’re doing something else. I couldn’t stop going back to it even if I just left it for a couple of minutes.

    If there’s one thing I don’t like about this book, it’s that the evil mastermind is call the Old Man. Seriously that is getting old. I remember in Witch and Wizard, the dude is called The One. It annoys me that they don’t have proper names. I do have a wild guess as to who the Old Man is but after what happened in the last few chapters, I scrapped that thought. You know, it was impossible for him to, you know, and yeah… Anyway, with that ending, I found a new theory as to what is really going on with the Old Man.

    Read Starters to find out.

    My life was full of excitement as I read this book so I guess some of my feelings had been exaggerated while reading, but I’m not exaggerating when I say this is a great book. I can’t wait for Enders! I want to read it ASAP but it comes out in December. Oh man I can cry now. Lol.

    Anyhow, read this book. It’s a good dystopian book, much like the Hunger Games and Uglies (and Divergent I think. I can’t say for sure because I haven’t read it yet). The only difference is that I don’t know if Enders will suck (I know it won’t but I didn’t like Catching Fire) and that the pacing isn’t slow (I remember Uglies’ pace was slow. Still a good book though!)

    Some notes on new terms here. Starters are the kids and teens, and Enders are the old ones. Friendlies are basically friends or someone who wouldn’t hurt them, while unfriendlies are the exact opposite. Marshals are the cops, I think. I’m not sure if I left anything out but I think this might be helpful for other new readers. I know it took me awhile to figure out what the heck the Starters were even though it was so obvious from the start.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    This was a good book. It's not "edge of your seat" sus

    This was a good book. It's not "edge of your seat" suspenseful, but the story is interesting and the main character is likeable. I'm curious about the next book. There's no gratuitous violence, profanity, or sex, so I would recommend it for teens, tweens and adults.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    I like it

    I really like it!

    11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    An amazing dystopian novel!!!

    This book was so amazing that I didn't want to put it down (and pretty much didn't for about 3 days!) After reading the entire Hunger Games series last summer, I was looking for a similar story in the dystopian genre. Then, I found Starters, began reading it, and didn't stop until the very last page! I CAN'T WAIT FOR ENDERS!!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Great book

    It was great. Its different and though not suspenseful the whole time the parts that are are great. The main character is so likeable and caring for her litttle brother. Can't wait for the next book

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    Starters was one of the best books I've ever read. It was the fi

    Starters was one of the best books I've ever read. It was the first book I've ever come across that i couldn't predict what was gonna happen next. It didn't have elements of cliche and i remember gasping at some points to how twisted the plot got.
    I really liked the main character, Callie. Though i didn't always agree with her actions she was overall a smart and a strong character.

    It might not be suitable for little kids because the book talks about the after effects of a war, deaths, etc.. and those may be too harsh for children so young but overall it's great. But the fact that the after effects, the poor state of the young people, the differences between the rich and the poor have been written so truthfully has been one of my favourite parts about the book.

    I advise everyone to read this book :) Especially if you were a fan of The Hunger Games trilogy, you're going to love this book too :)

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    Could you imagine living in a world where everyone between 20-60

    Could you imagine living in a world where everyone between 20-60 are dead? Callie is trying to support her younger brother with the help of their friend Michael, unfortunately, all people under the age of 19 are not considered citizens and have no rights. They are not allowed to work, own a house, etc. Out of desperation, Callie turns to a corporation that rents the bodies of teens to the elderly population. The mind of the renter controls the teen’s body and the teen’s mind is asleep during the rent. On her third shift, something goes wrong however and Callie comes to consciousness. What is happening to Callie?
    This book was a great read. It was hard to put down because I always wanted to know what was going to happen next. Callie is very capable and dedicated to her family. She is a fun, admirable character. This book was written with twists and turns that made sense and left the reader trying to decipher situations and occurrences. Starters is a good book for teens and any fans of science fiction.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2012

    When i read this book i thought of it as an adventure that i cou

    When i read this book i thought of it as an adventure that i could live. the suspense, feelings and action protrayed is extremely real! the twists that travel with your mind creates a love for the plot and the likable characters are perfect for the story. although the suspense until the next book is a bit too much and the things that are left to be explained in the next book seem important. over all my friends and i thought this book was amazing and the author did an outstanding job of captivating the readers, and we definitely can't wait till the next book is released. 5 stars

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Blew. My. Mind. This is one of those books where you think you'v

    Blew. My. Mind. This is one of those books where you think you've got it all figured out and then you get busted upside the head with a twist so crazy all you can do is sit and watch your brain explode. It's not hardcore action packed but it's got enough that it's never dull. And not only that but it's a very interesting take on a future society and I think the author gets it dead on of how certain people would act in a setting like this which helps you to really get more involved with the story.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    Okay, I am not a person who would come back and comment and rate

    Okay, I am not a person who would come back and comment and rate a book. However, this book was by far one of the best dystopian book (next to Divergent of course). I thought this book was so intriguing and kept me on my toes the whole reading! On the other hand, the beginning of the book was a bit bland but as the story continues, it becomes much more interesting! I would definitely recommend it to dystopian readers/Hunger Game readers.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    I loved this book! Absolutely impossible to put down. Read it. Y

    I loved this book! Absolutely impossible to put down. Read it. You will like it. There are twists, action, strong characters, great dialogue. Very very well written.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Creative

    I love the creative twist and turn in this book. A must read if you love sci-fi books.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    The world is now only populated by elders and teens after a spor

    The world is now only populated by elders and teens after a spores war broke out killing all those that had not taken the vaccine. -- literal meaning of children and elderly first.

    Callie, our protagonist, is a strong female character who lost both her parents in the war and is now in charge of her younger brother. In order to provide for him she decides to become involved with a company that utilizes teen bodies as rentals for elderly folk. While in her contract, Callie's body encounters technical difficulties that sporadically bring her back to her body when she shouldn't be in it and finds herself involved in a quest to uncover something greater about the institution she now works for and a conspiracy that affects her and all the other teens whose bodies are being used.

    The premise is great, the story compelling and the end product magnificent. Although hazy in much of the background details pertaining to the new world created by Lissa the story is fast paced and evolves quickly. There is a major revelation at the end of the book that will leave you wanting the sequel. Fast read perfect for dystopian lovers

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    This book is amazing!

    I actually read the book after seeing it in the public library. I haven't gotten to buy it on here yet, but this book is amazing. I remember that. It's a worth while read, but if you try to discuss it with ANYONE who hasn't read it... Good luck. You get strange looks. It's a great read though! I recommend it to anyone who loves books that are based on unique ideas.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    i saw the trailer for this book whilst watching the hunger games

    i saw the trailer for this book whilst watching the hunger games and was instantly hooked to it and knew that i had to find out more. i was disappointed to find i had to wait a week to read this book but when it was released i read it and on that saturday night i read two chapters and proceeded to read the rest of the book the following day

    i loved the concept of the book and although i cannot pin point the reasons why i was hooked it has you hooked within the first few pages and you need to know what happens next, each chapter more intriguing and interesting as the last. i would definitely recommend this book to everyone and i cannot wait until the next installment

    and as for lissa herself? i think shes a fantastic writer who takes the time to talk and reply to her readers and i hope she continues to amaze us with her talents

    ps BUY THIS BOOK

    tags: adventure, science fiction, thriller, dystopian

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    So cool! SO SO SO COOL! Such a different take on a dystopian wor

    So cool! SO SO SO COOL! Such a different take on a dystopian world! LOVED IT. Callie was awesome! Tyler was sweet! Blake....well i *thought* he was amazing....(dun dun dun!!!!!)
    Super cool book! A must read! :D

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 176 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9