Customer Reviews for

Starters

Average Rating 4.5
( 182 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(125)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

I love it! Loved Callie. Loved Michael. Then didn't want to l

I love it! Loved Callie. Loved Michael. Then didn't want to love Blake...but I did. Then the Blake twist! And a race to stop a murder! What's not to love?!? The world is so divided, but feels so real. The poor orphans! And the Old Man plotting against them is s...
I love it! Loved Callie. Loved Michael. Then didn't want to love Blake...but I did. Then the Blake twist! And a race to stop a murder! What's not to love?!? The world is so divided, but feels so real. The poor orphans! And the Old Man plotting against them is so frightening; he gives me the shivers. I can't wait for book 2! I want Callie to rip the mask off that Old Man!

posted by Lou4 on March 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

34 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

Starters was definitely different. I wanted to read it as soon a

Starters was definitely different. I wanted to read it as soon as I found out it was a new dystopian, and you all know how much I love dystopians. The world Callie lives in right now is split in two. The starters (people younger than 20) and the Enders (people older tha...
Starters was definitely different. I wanted to read it as soon as I found out it was a new dystopian, and you all know how much I love dystopians. The world Callie lives in right now is split in two. The starters (people younger than 20) and the Enders (people older than 70). Most of the people in between died from an epidemic. The Enders now don't die by the age of 80-90, they live up to 200+. The story starts with Callie wanting to rent her body at a body bank to get money for her and her young brother. The body bank "Prime Destination" is a secretive organization that only a few selective people know about. Enders get to have their choice of bodies and relive their youthful days, literally.
On her third rental trial, Callie wakes up, takes full control of her body and finds herself living her renter's life. The luxury cars, designer clothes, and the fake name. However her renter isn't just out to have some fun, she has her own plan, a plan that might ruin Callie's life, if it didn't already end it. Callie would do anything to protect her brother, she was brave, rational, and a headstrong protagonist. The book had a plot, a mystery, an evil character, but I just felt that something was missing. I would have loved if I got a better glimpse at their dystopian world.
I liked the build up of the story. Right from the start you get tidbits of information to unveil the conspiracy of Prime Destination and in just how much trouble Callie is in. You're not left in the dark for long, and when one question is answered, another one pops up. Especially towards the end, so many gasp moments occur and secrets are revealed that leave you hardly able to wait for the release of the second, and final book in this dystopian duology.

posted by majibookshelf on March 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    This was a good book. It's not "edge of your seat" sus

    This was a good book. It's not "edge of your seat" suspenseful, but the story is interesting and the main character is likeable. I'm curious about the next book. There's no gratuitous violence, profanity, or sex, so I would recommend it for teens, tweens and adults.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    The world is now only populated by elders and teens after a spor

    The world is now only populated by elders and teens after a spores war broke out killing all those that had not taken the vaccine. -- literal meaning of children and elderly first.

    Callie, our protagonist, is a strong female character who lost both her parents in the war and is now in charge of her younger brother. In order to provide for him she decides to become involved with a company that utilizes teen bodies as rentals for elderly folk. While in her contract, Callie's body encounters technical difficulties that sporadically bring her back to her body when she shouldn't be in it and finds herself involved in a quest to uncover something greater about the institution she now works for and a conspiracy that affects her and all the other teens whose bodies are being used.

    The premise is great, the story compelling and the end product magnificent. Although hazy in much of the background details pertaining to the new world created by Lissa the story is fast paced and evolves quickly. There is a major revelation at the end of the book that will leave you wanting the sequel. Fast read perfect for dystopian lovers

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    A marvelous read! Suspenseful until the end .Almost every chara

    A marvelous read! Suspenseful until the end .Almost every character is likable. About the time you think you know the outcome, the author hits you with another twist. Great for teens, and adult alike. Can hardly wait for the next book!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    This was a really great book, a very easy. At some point in our

    This was a really great book, a very easy. At some point in our future, America is the target of major biological warfare. No date is given which I love, same as in the Hunger Games... this had a very similar feel to it, only it seems a lot easier to explain given that the young and old are always the first to be vaccinated, it may cross your mind, with the advanced technology that everyone would be, but life just doesn't seem to balance out that way.

    Callie is a 16 year old girl, skulking the streets in shadows living illegally as she has no adults to claim her, her only family is a 7 year old brother that she is responsible for. Unclaimed children are not allowed to work, but of course black market labor is always available. Teens rent out the use of their bodies for obscene amounts of money, whether they ever see this money is the question. The story unfolds as Callie digs deeper and deeper through the layers of corporate greed and corruption. Two very believable problems. She seems to do a great job of getting through with the tools she has been given, she cares deeply about the people close to her, and seeks to make life better for them, and everyone else. She starts off with little empathy for the elders, (Enders) and seems she is in her right, as there are plenty of them to go around, plenty of them who could basically be adopting the young (Starters) the frustration of this is palpable as the young struggle and the old live frivolously, renting their bodies to feel young again, to be reckless, never considering how the community could benefit from mutual support.

    This was a nice easy read, not bogged down in too many details. If you are someone who needs a read laden with all of the hows and the why's you may not enjoy this as much as I did. Although I often find myself driven mad with questions, that wasn't an issue at all in this book, it was written in such a way, that you just took most of what was going on for granted. It had an easy pace that I really enjoyed. I really look forward to Enders, Starters did end a bit abruptly, I also hope that it comes to light that there are Middles out there, stashed away, being studied since any who survived were immune to the spores.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is such a creepy and delicious idea for a dystopia! The ide

    This is such a creepy and delicious idea for a dystopia! The idea of renting out your body and not knowing what the renter does is so hard to imagine, and just reading the description makes you wonder why you would want to do that. We quickly see with Callie her heart and determination--she does it for her brother. The family bond there is so sweet and I love how that is woven into the story. Fighting for her only surviving family is a motivation that I can totally understand and makes her actions believable and commendable.
    The idea of the Enders is kinda creepy too... not knowing who is a real teen, and if you are seeing the same person inside a body every time. I liked some of the Enders that we met, and you can understand their motivations too.
    I really enjoyed the romance and how twisted the relationships really are. I hope that they are explored fully in the next books in the series because there is so much potential and I want to know what happens next.
    There is a lot of action and I was constantly engaged, wondering what would happen next and what would throw me for a loop.
    Essentially, I loved it and can't wait for the next. Strong characters and refreshing idea.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Waiting...

    I loved this book from start to finish and i couldnt wait until the second book! I forgot about it mostly because it was supposed to be released months ago. It is sad because I know now that the series is over. The ending was satisfying(no spoilers), but obviously a set up for the next book that never arrived. A real shame though because the series could have been amazing. I suggest reading it to everyone because that's exactly who it's for. Untill next time...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend It

    One thing is for sure Starters was a pretty amazing read. The concept of Enders being able to rent out the Starters bodies was creepy and a little disturbing, yet I was totally blown away by it. Not to mention that cover, it is definitely eye catching.

    The main character Callie was very well developed. The love for her brother and the ends she was willing to go for him was very touching. She was brave and selfless and I couldn't ask to read about a better female lead character then her. Then there are all the other characters and believe me there are quite a few and none of them are who you think they are.

    Did I read this book in a matter of hours? Not really, as much as I loved it there were parts of the plot that dragged and I was able to walk away from it with no urge to hurry back to it and read it. Another thing I was hoping for was to learn more about the Spore Wars and there were a few terms that were used that I wish was explained instead of me sitting there trying to figure it out on my own.

    The ending was a major shocker....like seriously!

    Overall this book was different and interesting. I can't wait to dive into the second in the series. If you love dystopians I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Start to a Series - Interesting Premise

    I heard many great things about Starters and I couldn't wait to dig in! Well, I can tell you, friends, all of the early buzz was well justified and I wasn't disappointed.

    So, once upon a time, in the not-so-distant future, due to biological warfare, everyone between the ages of 20 and 60 is now dead. Adding to the chaos that invariably ensues is the fact that once considered elderly people (Enders) are now living to 200. Therefore, everyone under 20 (Starters) can basically suck it. Unless you have a nice Elder to take you under their wing, you are a menace and a threat.

    Enter our heroine, Callie. She has lost her entire family during the Spore Wars with the exception of her little brother, Tyler. Tyler is sickly and Callie is willing to risk her life to protect him. The two of them have joined up with Michael and, together, the three of them fight of Renegades, avoid Marshalls and dumpster dive for food to survive.

    Callie discovers a covert opportunity to make enough money to buy her little family a house (and take care of them for a year) in exchange for a few weeks of her life. Prime Destinations is offering her the chance to get off the streets as long as she doesn't mind an Ender taking over her body for a spell. Nothing bad could come of that, right?

    Well, despite her initial reservations, Callie takes the deal (you knew she would) and shenanigans ensue. What follows is a fast-paced, action-packed thrill ride. Callie finds herself thrust into a world filled with money, glamour, cute boys, peril, mystery and imposters. I couldn't wait to see what was coming around each twist and turn.

    I found Callie to be quite the KAH. She was clever, resourceful and deadly in her undercover role (I could see a Nikita, Dollhouse or Alias situation in her future). I can't wait to see where her adventures take her next. Sign me up for the sequel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2012

    I thought the idea behind this story is fantastic. It's more of

    I thought the idea behind this story is fantastic. It's more of a plot driven story than a character driven one. There are several characters in the book but we don't get to learn too much background or history about each. The reader gets just enough detail that is required to move the story forward.
    The pacing of the novel is pretty intense, there is always something happening and moving along with very few if any breaks from one action scene to the next.
    There is a huge mystery happening here, and at first it seems that the story is for us to get to know the world and more about Callie's renter. But no, there is so much more going on here and the whole business behind Prime Destinations is complex and makes for an entertaining read that took twists that I was surprised and happy about.
    There were some sections that I wanted to just yell at Callie and ask her what she's doing! Like in a horror movie yelling, "don't go up the stairs" for example Callie's renter tells her not to return to Prime Destinations because if they find out there's a glitch in the chip Callie may loose out on the money because she did not fulfill the contract, and what's the first thing Callie does? Jump in the car to return to the company and all I could think is.."Don't go back to the company Callie!"
    It was a highly fast paced and fun read, had me on the edge of my seat for the last half of the book. A thriller and a mystery set in a dystopian world

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is hands down one of the best advaned reader copies I have

    This is hands down one of the best advaned reader copies I have ever recieved. Especially for the teen genre. On a rare occasion a book grips you right from the first sentence, and doesn't let go for the duration of the novel. This is one of them. I quite simply could not put it down, the story is all consuming.
    The story is like a bizarre version of I, Robot meets the Stepford Wives. It is a perfect blend of action, suspense, and just a sprinkly of romance (no worries the storyline doesn't get bogged down and consumed with undying teenage love)
    Following in the steps of the dystopian craze, this brings a fresk take and unique storyline. The world as we know it has been ravaged by genocide spore wars. A world where unclaimed teenager (under 19) are sent to institutions. These wars claiming the parents of young, fiest Callie and her younger brother, putting them out on the street to fend for themselves. Minors on the street face having to squat for any sense of security, clean water is nearly impossible to find on the broken streets as well as fending off renegades (unclaimed minors who use violence to take what little anyone has) and hiding from the Marshals to avoid being institutionalized.
    With her brother being sick and unable to provide medical care and better stability Callie is forced to seek out a job opportunity at Prime Destinations. Where the elderly (and often the very wealthy) can vacation as youthful teenagers. Each body, being "rented". Chips are placed in the brains of each teen donor, where there brain is essentially 'asleep' while the renters' takes control for the duration of said rental. Donors are often unclaimed teens and do not get paid until the number of rentals on their contracts are filled. In need of money and running out of time Calli sings a contract and is reassured she will have no recollection of the time while her body is under renting.
    On her third rental (the last one needing to be completed before she can be paid) Callie wake up in a club, unaware of her surroundings and why her chip is glitching. Callie is thrown into the underground realm of the clients of Prime Destinations, where society and government are nothing but smoke and mirrors. Callie must undercover what is truly happening and determine who to trust, while keeping up appearences and uncovering the horrifying truth of the numerous missing unclaimed teens that walked through Prime Destinations doors.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Good book

    This book was awesome. I enoy that conflicts. This book had danger, drama, and was just over all just very interesting. Now im sorry but parts might be confusing to younger children but i loved it. Just the way the main character falls in love with this guy- who later turns ut to be the boss- was very sad when knowing she might have to kill his father. I would write more about this book but i would just retell the whole story- you might like that, you would not haave to buy the book- and im not gonna do that.

    This is Bluemonster15 and stay safe.

    P.S.
    Im so so so sorry sara died. She is in my heart. See you on the web!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Good read

    If you are a fan of dystopian YA books, this is definitely a good one. A very different twist on the society in this book, with the disparity between both the rich and the poor, and the lives of the seniors and the youth. Definitely will be reading the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2013

    Slightly Overated (longish reveiw)

    Lets get the bad oppinions out first. In my PERSONAL OPINION The Hungergames was a better book. In Starters the relationships werent as deep to me and parts I felt should have made me cry...didnt draw even a single tear. There were a few good/cute love secens but not enough to remind me how lame my love life is. Come to think of it...I hope this doent ruin anyones reading...my love life ended up being better than Callie's (the main character) in the end. AND OHGOODNESS the ending...definatly not one of my favorites. It made me pity Michle more than Blake. OTHER THAN THAT the consept is really really neat and there were a few really aweaome plot twists and even enough suspence to make me stop and ALMOST even skip ahead to the end just to see if (SPOILER DELETED HERE). I even felt the urge to punch a few characters on the face. I even experienced moments where I shut he book to pause and take in what just happened. In the end I would definatly recommened this to friends AND EVEN YOU. So read it, I dare you. And I appoligize for my mass butchering of the english language and horrible spelling. It would be a shame to call me amerixan AND AND AND yeah ;) The end of this useless reveiw. - Marissa

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2013

    loved it!!

    loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Not everyone's cup of tea - but those who enjoy it, adore it(:

    This book was equally interesting and believable. I recommend it to readers of the Divergent series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2013

    Very interesting concept and ideas in this book with great writi

    Very interesting concept and ideas in this book with great writing. I wish it was longer and went into more detail though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    A fresh concept for an apocalyptic world! You won't find any zo

    A fresh concept for an apocalyptic world! You won't find any zombies here. Instead, you find a world full of children with no rights, parents are all deceased and the elderly rule the world. Unless your grandparents claim you, you live on your own; sleeping in abandoned buildings, stealing food and water. There is one way to make money and that is to rent your body for a 'mind' takeover where elders party and many other things as you. The plot twists and turns will keep you turning the pages and wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Great Tween book that adults will enjoy

    Reallly likedthis cute story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The book was great, could've done without some of the lovey dove

    The book was great, could've done without some of the lovey dovey parts though. Otherwise great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Good read

    The book was good from the beginning, sucked me right in, and I was glad none of the characters were the pathetic, whiny variety. The storyline was interesting to say the least and the twist near the end was awesome. I recommend this book to anyone age 13+.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2