BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Starting Now (Blossom Street Series #10)

Average Rating 4
( 164 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A good story very easy to read...I enjoyed it alot..:)

A good story very easy to read...I enjoyed it alot..:)

posted by Cowboy on April 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

I have always enjoyed Mrs. Macombers books, especially the Bloss

I have always enjoyed Mrs. Macombers books, especially the Blossom Street series. I was looking forward to this one and splurged to buy it as soon as it was available.  However, this book is a true disappointment.  The characters and the story line are quite shallow and...
I have always enjoyed Mrs. Macombers books, especially the Blossom Street series. I was looking forward to this one and splurged to buy it as soon as it was available.  However, this book is a true disappointment.  The characters and the story line are quite shallow and none of the characters seem fully developed.  The story does not flow well and is disorganized and disjointed.  So much so that it is an almost painful reading experience. Few previous characters are mentioned and fewer still are actually involved in the story. I usually get into a book and hate for it to end.  With Starting Now I couldn't wait for it to end.  I prefer to make positive comments or none at all but I feel that I should warn other readers.  I regret purchasing this book. 

posted by 11328295 on April 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    I have always enjoyed Mrs. Macombers books, especially the Bloss

    I have always enjoyed Mrs. Macombers books, especially the Blossom Street series. I was looking forward to this one and splurged to buy it as soon as it was available.  However, this book is a true disappointment.  The characters and the story line are quite shallow and none of the characters seem fully developed.  The story does not flow well and is disorganized and disjointed.  So much so that it is an almost painful reading experience. Few previous characters are mentioned and fewer still are actually involved in the story. I usually get into a book and hate for it to end.  With Starting Now I couldn't wait for it to end.  I prefer to make positive comments or none at all but I feel that I should warn other readers.  I regret purchasing this book. 

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A good story very easy to read...I enjoyed it alot..:)

    A good story very easy to read...I enjoyed it alot..:)

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Dont get all the raves

    I would like to know the demographics of her fan base as i found it somewhat juvenile. i bought it based on reviews and the theme being very relevant to me right now Going through health issues and trying to realign with whats important in life. I did like some of that but i just didnt find it very deep. It was Ok.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Libby Morgan has sacrificed everything for her career, family, f

    Libby Morgan has sacrificed everything for her career, family, friends, her marriage. She has been on the partner track at her law firm for six years. When her boss calls her to his office she just knows it is going to be fantastic news. She is going to make partner ahead of her schedule. But the economy has been bad, she hasn’t brought in enough high profile clients and her boss has no choice but to let her go.




    Devastated and with no job on the horizon she finds herself at A Good Yarn, the local knitting store. She immediately becomes friends with Lydia, the owner, and her daughter Casey. She also meets Casey’s friend Eva. Eva’s life is about to change and it will change Libby’s life as well.




    Libby starts to understand what she has been missing by putting her career before everything else. She even meets a handsome doctor. When things start to finally be moving forward in her life she is forced to make a choice that could change everything again.




    Dollycas’s Thoughts




    It is so easy to escape into a Debbie Macomber book. They are always inspiring and have the ability to uplift the reader. She has created rich and warm characters and given them stories that are heartfelt.




    We all suffer losses in our lifetimes, be it losing our jobs or losing someone important to us and what counts is how we deal with that loss. Libby did have a nice severance package that allowed her time to start over but Starting Now really presents a feeling of hope. Hope of a successful career, hope of someone to love, hopes for friends and family.




    While this book is part of a series it still reads well as a stand alone. It is not my favorite Blossom Street story but I sure did enjoy it. Libby makes a wonderful addition to the Blossom Street cast.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Starting Now is the ninth full length novel in the popular Bloss

    Starting Now is the ninth full length novel in the popular Blossom Street series by American author, Debbie Macomber. The main players are Libby Morgan, an attorney dealing with estate planning who finds herself unexpectedly unemployed, and the brusque, unpleasant Dr Phillip Stone, aka Heart of Stone, a physician working with newborns and premature births. Libby’s enforced leisure time leads her to A Good Yarn, where she makes friends with Lydia, Casey and Casey’s friend, a troubled teen named Ava. Other activities bring her into Dr Stone’s sphere. After some radical life changes, Libby thinks she has discovered what is important in her life. But another unanticipated event finds Libby trading her physical treadmill at the gym for a metaphorical treadmill at work. There is a background romance as one of Libby’s friends, attorney Robin Hamlin starts a relationship with widower, Judge Roy Bollinger. Macomber touches on quite a few topical issues: work/life balance, tattoos, teen pregnancy and adoption. Fans of the Blossom Street series will be pleased to encounter cameos or mentions of characters from at least four previous books. Discounting the naiveté that attorney Libby shows about adoption, and the inordinate amount of free time physician Dr Stone seems to be able to conjure for coffees and lunches and afternoons of sailing, this is still a sweet romance.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book

    Great book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    This is my first Debbie Macomber book and I loved it. Didn't wa

    This is my first Debbie Macomber book and I loved it. Didn't want to put it down - limited myself on reading so read it over a 3 evening period. Very nice to find such a delightful book full of interesting characters. The writing style was so good it was easy to be able to imagine the characters and the scenes. Now I'm going to have to go and find all the other books in this series. I haven't enjoyed reading like this since I was a kid and read a book a day.

    Highly recommend!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Have you ever had a day that started out well, only to feel like

    Have you ever had a day that started out well, only to feel like someone pulled the rug out from beneath your feet? This is what happened to the central character Libby Morgan in the novel "Starting Now", by Debbie Macomber.
    Libby is a dedicated successful lawyer with her eye on a partnership. Libby has paid her dues, (6 years at her firm, expert in the field of estate planning, earned an impressive amount of billable hours), and was well liked by a key client of the firm. An offer of partner should have been a no brainer. Imagine Libby's surprise when she is handed a pink slip and a severance package. The world as Libby knew it no longer existed. Libby had to make a new world for herself...starting now.
    My Thoughts
    The characters and the places are vividly described in “Starting Now”. I felt like I was watching a movie as I read the developing plot in the book. The issues faced by the characters in the book are realistic. The story was engaging and enjoyable, sad, yet joyful. I was able to relate to Libby Morgan’s character as well as other characters in the book. The characters felt like old friends by the end of the book. I found myself caring what happened to the characters, how they resolved their issues. How would Libby rebuild her life? Would she learn from her past mistakes or continue down the same worn out path?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Another great from Debbie

    Love this book as all I've read by her. This one was especially full of life's lessons. Trust forgiveness and giving to other reaps a certain joy unspeakable.
    Thanks Debbie for another wonderful book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    disappoined

    I always anxiously await her books ...especially the Blossom Street Series...(but not quite as much as the Cedar Cover series, which I LOVED)...but this one was lacking for me... it could just be me but I was surprised and a little let down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Can i be the girl

    Yep the girl

    1 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Disney type rp at...

    'Hrd' res five. MUST put a bio at res two or one, either works. Today in about two hours, tere is going to be a Masquerade Ball, and everyone in invited.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Ads go Here!

    Thank you!
    SoulSurfer1879

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    JOIN LEAFCLAN!

    We are a new clan that is looking for a deputy and everything else! Featherstar wants active warriors who follow the warrior code. Join at 'leaf clan' res one! Thank you!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    Guess here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Brandnew lovers

    If you wanna touch me baby gohead, <br>
    If you wanna rush this baby think again <br>
    Cuz i wanna get lost in you <br>
    While our love is still brand new. <p> Everything you say is right <br>
    I love it how your eyes shine bright, <br>
    When Ia start to dance for you <br>
    Said our love is still brand new. <p> <p> You know I'm sugar venom, now? <br>
    Said you love me boy I don't know how. <br>
    Babe you know I poison you. <br>
    But you don't care cuz our loves brand new. <p> Had a funny dream just the other night. <br> I was cryin hard but you held me tight. <br>
    Sat there pushin into you, <br>
    Thats whatcha do hen your loves brand new. <p>







    Cruisin in your car top down. <br>
    Let em know we own this town. <br>
    Tell em your rich I'm a gold digger, <br>
    You said "bi<_>tch you gotta be a winner," <p>



    I used to be a good girl <br>
    You were born a bad boy baby, <br>
    Now we're ready for the whole world <br>
    And nothing gonna stop you and me. <br>
    Nothins gnna stop you and me.


    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Fireclaw

    *he walks in the clearing* hello everyone

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2014

    Puddles and Pebble

    Puddles~ The gray and brown she-cat awoke fro her nest, her paws itching to hunt.
    <p>
    Pebble~ The small silver she-cat awoke, drowsily leaning against a tree.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Blueheart

    Pads in and says sup

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Blackfang

    Pads in with bloody teeth and claws, lays down, and gnaws on a cats rib

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 164 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9