Customer Reviews for

State of Denial: Bush at War, Part III

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    I have read all three of the trilogy, and in my view this one is the best . . . as it summarizes key point from both of the previous volumes. The challenge I have is that if this data is accurate, and I suspect it largely is, our country simply isn't stepping up to deal with the significant degree of misguided leadership. What ever happened to the baby boom generation that was going to positively change the world back in the late 60s early 70s? I'm wondering why this material does not have the powerful impact that the Bob Woodward of 'All the President's Men' fame had?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2006

    Woodward's third Iraq volume explains the wayward war

    This exceptional book reveals the Bush Administration¿s war in Iraq through the exacting eyes of noted journalist Bob Woodward. The third volume in his 'Bush at War' series, it unfolds as a vivid history, a detailed, a step-by-step progression of events, personalities and motives. Woodward lets the insiders and their stories speak for themselves as he describes how both powerful and everyday people succumb to large public mistakes, and how those shape history. He has written this book as a series of short vignettes - and as the scenes unfold, so do the personalities and their individual quirks. Readers see why some plans succeeded and others failed. Those who seek sinister people with ulterior motives will be disappointed. The story did not develop that way. These seem to be well-meaning people who lost touch and failed. We consider this essential reading for anyone who seriously wants to understand the Iraq war and the people fighting it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2006

    American oligarchy at it¿s worse.

    Before the war it appeared we were on a one way trip toward war. Realizing our fate I picked up a copy of the Guns of August by Barbara Tuchman. She painted a picture of the inevitable course we would follow in the winter of 2002-2003. Critical thinking appeared to be out the window. Hubris and momentum were pushing us toward war. Woodward shows us, as a few before him have, it was. The political infighting, childish bickering paints a tragic picture of what happens when a few dominate our Government. Most of the players were privileged inbreeds with multiple connections to multiple administrations. Bush is of course a third generation politician. Inbreeding is a bad thing. We are clearly not a meritocracy, if we were we would not be in Iraq. Too bad people were not allowed to think outside the box. Too bad Rumsfeld lasted so long. History will not be kind to these narrow minded individuals. This book paints an early telling of that portrait. A bunch of privileged people acting like adolescents getting tens of thousands of people killed. Like at least 500,000 other American¿s I got to spent part of 2003-2004 over seas because of these adolescents. Tragic to fully grasp why. Thanks for this well rounded and easy to read work. It may be too late for a strategy now

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2006

    History is catching up with the current Administration

    This was yet another great read by Woodward. His work is only reinforcing the history being written about this administration which shows - and will continue to show, regardless of current conservative rhetoric - an incompetent President driven by an equally incompetent inner-circle of advisors into an unnecessary war, and their collective failure to prosecute the war correctly once our country was committed. Defense Secretary Rumsfeld failed our troops and mismanaged the facts on the ground and deserves a great deal of the blame for the mess we are in now in Iraq. However, he answers to the President who is ultimately responsible for failing to appreciate the facts in Iraq. The rhetoric from both the President and Vice-President has never honestly portrayed the reasons for or the realities of this war to the American people and both deserve history's credit for its failure. I can't wait to see the author's next book on the administration. Maybe he can take a look at corporate influences into the decision to invade in the first place.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    this book is nothing more than speculation that panders to the leftist machine.as this country continues to head down the same road that created the spanish civil war, we can all look back at polemic's like this that caused it. woodward's first two books on the subject were decent, fact bound reads that left the reader the option of opinion. starting with the title of this book, STATE OF DENIAL, the opinion for the reader is already formed.read on bush-haters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2006

    Unexpected Consequences

    Woodward's book presents an insightful glimpse into the inner workings of the Bush administration as it led our country into the war in Iraq. I believe this was a fair presentation of a very polically volatile issue for our nation. Woodward gives the reader a very good opportunity to see the interaction of various, powerful personalities within Bush's administration and of the president himself and how that interplay led to the commencement of hostile action in Iraq and, most importantly, to the disasterous aftermath that we see playing itself out before our eyes today. Woodward methodically pieces together the sequence of events that precipitated the Iraq conflict. It is disturbing to see how our government made the case for preemptive war with Iraq with but the slightest volume of reliable evidence which, afterward turned out to be false. The entire issue of WMD was found to be a massive misinterpretation of intelligence and bias against the Iraqi leader. Further disturbing is to see the political infighting and poor planning that has led to a quagmire for our country in Iraq and, consequently, our inability to extricate ourselves from it. This book was very illuminating and helped me to better understand how we drifted into this sad state of affairs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2006

    Trapped in Denial

    Amazing how the folks in middle USA [Mid-west + South East and West] remain trapped in denial! Still time to make a course correction for the WH before it is too late - Learn from the Great game gone upside down for the 'Former' British Empire. This book is a great wake up call. A must read for the true Patriot! Not the flag waving, I won't go but you or your kids go to Iraq to occupy the oil fields! folks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2006

    Re: Success or Failure by A reviewer 10/5/06

    Landslide??? A few liberal people??? How about over half the country. This is one of the most respected journalists in the world providing a snapshot in time of of an administration. That's it. Unfortunately, the administration is frightfully unprepared and short-sighted. You'll be inspired to love your country even more than you already do...because you'll realize how much better we can be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2006

    Wake up America!

    This book should be required reading for every American citizen, especially those who skip going to the polls. Bob Woodward tells it like it is in regard to the current administration, and what it is is an unholy mess that we can only hope and pray may someday be rectified. If possible, I'd give it ten stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2006

    Ludacris

    Flat out there should be laws against publishing whatever you want and it's sad some of you will buy this and believe it. This book is outrageous and doesn't even add up do your own research before ever reading this title lucky for me I didn't have to buy it, I was givin it in for a compare and contrast paper I had to write. People please if you deciede to read this learn more than just what this idiot has to say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2006

    Thought it Would be better than this

    I wasn't expecting Bandar it would been George Bush about Iraq and corruption and instead I was dissapointing at Bob Woodward's writing

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2006

    Eye Opening

    An eye opening account of the day to day decision making process of the Bush strategy in Iraq.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    Interesting and scary

    I admit that I come to this book as someone who does not support the war and I opposed it from the very beginning. I just don't think that you attack another sovereign country, because you don't like them and you want to demonstrate your strength as a superpower. WMD (at worst we were talking about WWI nerve gas... and other countries like North Korea and Iran posed more of a threat), links to al Qaeda (al Qaeda hated the secular regime of Sadam), spreading democracy (sounds a lot like the nation building that Bush had criticized in 2000)? -- all excuses, not reasons for war. I don't think the book really answers the question of why we went to war. Bush planned to take out Sadam before he even took office and before 9/11. Maybe Prince Bandar wanted it... it was incredible to learn that a Saudi Arabian prince was brought in to teach the candidate Bush foreign policy. That is truly incredible... What surprised me was the extent of the dysfunctional nature of our government. I guess I shouldn't have been after seeing the Katrina response. The book reveals that Bush had to order Rumsfeld personally to send the National Guard. I am also concerned about how much Rumsfeld has damaged the American military. The war has truly made all of us less safe and it will take decades to repair the damage done. The book also reveals the less than total agreement with the foreign policy created by Bush, Chaney, and Rice. It will be interesting to see how George H. Bush tries to bale out his son... he only has 2 years left to do it. Hopefully this means no Jed Bush in 2008.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great, well written

    Excellent, thank you Bob Woodward.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2006

    Personal Vendetta

    The author clearly has a negative view of most administrations, and makes a living manufacturing facts to suit his position. Not productive at all, and furthermore not very convincing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2006

    Why Did We Permit This to Happen!

    I don't think that anything in Mr. Woodward's book is new but it is presented here by one of our Country's foremost writers. It also is written in a way that we all understand. So many people have put forth their opinion but the really sad thing is that we (all of us) allowed this administration to continue even in light of its incompetance. It is plainly clear that Mr. Bush considers himself a Messiah and his is an attempt to save the world. What Mr. Woodward puts forth is certainly true and I commend him for stepping up to the plate as he did with Watergate. He has never backed away from controversy. Good for you Mr. Woodward! You are my hero!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2006

    Dear God, Help Us..

    Thank you Mr. Woodward for this book. I have to say, I was so shocked and upset about half way through the book, I had to put it down for 24 hours to compose myself. Then, I couldn't put it down, until I finished it. The arrogance of the parties involved, was so shocking, I was at one point in tears. It seems to me, no one can tell Mr. Bush any bad news. None of the people that surround him & advise him, seem to respect each other. I can not understand, why the militay brass didn't stand up, while they were serving time in Iraq for their soldiers! I do not want anymore of our soldiers to die, for something that was so wrong from the start. All I can say, is please read this book. Bob Woodward proves to us, what we have been thinking. He had no axe to grind against this President. Everything he says is backed up with where he got this information. God please watch over our soldiers,and help us get through this mess. We all need to come together and right the wrongs, that are being done here. One last thought, to think that a strong and intelligent man, Tony Blair, has to step down because he stood by this president, is unconscionable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2006

    Horrendous

    Instead of spreading filth throughout America, he should do his research and get the facts straight and quit beating a dead horse with book after book full of nonsense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2006

    Fascinating, well written and filled with confirmed material

    If you have any doubt about the current administrations handling of the Iraq war, this book will answer that. This book and the Bush regime scares the hell out of me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2006

    Success or Failure?

    According to the 'facts' in this novel, our president of two terms is a total and complete failure in his administration. But out of the stories that the press tells us, that the white house tells us, and what the author says, who can be trusted? I seem to lean towards that the press is just telling us the terrible and horrible things that Bush does hoping that it'll sell to the few extremely liberal people out there. Just stop and think that if the citizens of the US weren't satisfied with Bush, then how did he defeat Kerry for a re-election by a landslide?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2