BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

State of Wonder

Average Rating 4
( 769 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(274)

4 Star

(229)

3 Star

(139)

2 Star

(69)

1 Star

(58)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

Magnificent!

Great atmosphere and entertaining, the story moves without pause and is never boring. Loaded with tension and sense of foreboding, there are several places that were truly hard to read. The story surged forward with unpredictable twists and turns and kept me engrossed r...
Great atmosphere and entertaining, the story moves without pause and is never boring. Loaded with tension and sense of foreboding, there are several places that were truly hard to read. The story surged forward with unpredictable twists and turns and kept me engrossed right up to the last page. Marina is a research doctor in Minnesota. A teammate, Anders, dies in the jungles of the Amazon. For some reason, her employer and secret lover, Mr. Fox, wants Marina to seek out the truth about Anders' death. She couldn't understand, why her? She has no skills in the area and knows little about the project in the Amazon. She and Anders were working together on a cholesterol drug. After getting together with Anders' grieving wife and sons, Marina feels it her duty to make the journey, even though she will once again meet her stern mentor, Dr. Annick Swenson. Swenson knows things about Marina that Marina wants to forget. Marina Singh's real exploration is her discovery of other people and of herself. This is another excellent Patchett work that will not be able to tear yourself away from.

posted by angeleyesAS on June 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Download State of Wonder For Free

Download State of Wonder For Free From Here goo.gl/9UDn0

posted by 9114493 on August 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 774 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 39
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Magnificent!

    Great atmosphere and entertaining, the story moves without pause and is never boring. Loaded with tension and sense of foreboding, there are several places that were truly hard to read. The story surged forward with unpredictable twists and turns and kept me engrossed right up to the last page. Marina is a research doctor in Minnesota. A teammate, Anders, dies in the jungles of the Amazon. For some reason, her employer and secret lover, Mr. Fox, wants Marina to seek out the truth about Anders' death. She couldn't understand, why her? She has no skills in the area and knows little about the project in the Amazon. She and Anders were working together on a cholesterol drug. After getting together with Anders' grieving wife and sons, Marina feels it her duty to make the journey, even though she will once again meet her stern mentor, Dr. Annick Swenson. Swenson knows things about Marina that Marina wants to forget. Marina Singh's real exploration is her discovery of other people and of herself. This is another excellent Patchett work that will not be able to tear yourself away from.

    39 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Best Book I've Read All Year!

    I'm such a sucker for a well-written book that makes me think, and this book was all of that and then some. Read the synopsis and it sounds like a book about doctors and the Amazon and ethics; and it is. But to me, the central theme of the story is about mentors. How is it possible that our mentors and teachers keep us under their spell and eager for their approval for years after we've grown up? Or for years after we've known them for the imperfect humans they really are? Where does that pull come from? In this story, nearly every person has a mentor they are trying to understand or trying to cover for or trying to earn praise from, then I found myself falling under their spells, too. This was a very intriguing book and I recommend it to absolutely anyone who loves to read books several times to find something different each time.

    21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't put it down!

    I am truly surprised by the 3 star rating on this book because I couldn't put it down! It really annoyed my family. I can't remember the last time I enjoyed a book this much!

    21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It has a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    17 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    One of the worst books I have ever read!

    If it was not a selection for my book club I would never have finished this book. The story is ridiculous, characters are mostly whiny and self-centered and the writing is unexceptional. Do not understand why other readers found the story so exciting. I couldn't wait for it to end. I also find it interesting that Ann Patchett never mentions where she found her information about the Amazon or the tribes that might inhabit it. If you want to read an exciting and incredibly interesting story about the Amazon, read River of Doubt.

    12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I LOVED IT AND HATED IT

    I fell in love with this book. I love Ann Patchett, Bel Canto was a masterpiece, and so was this book until the very end. I really thought the ending would be totally different and it disappointed me. I actually went back and read the ending twice just to see if I was missing something, but alas, there wasn't. Still a wonderful book and I would recommend it just for atmosphere alone.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    Who knew a research scientist, the amazon, anaconda's, cannibals and a mysterious "fertility" drug would be that interesting! Read this book over the weekend and I just couldn't put it down. The critics were right when they praised this book.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Another great work!

    This book holds up to Ms. Patchett's high standards of acute observation of human nature. She presents ethical and moral dilemmas through the thoughts and actions of her characters. Life is never "black and white" in her stories. This story, as did "Bel Canto", repeatedly raises the question of what is the "right" thing to do. Do circumstances affect what is "right"? There are no easy answers, but we readers are improved by contemplating the questions.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Awesome book!!!

    Loved this book, my first by this author and it won' t be my last. I felt like I was right there along with Marina in Brazil trying to find Anders!! When she talked about how hot it was and how many bugs there were I truly started to get hot and my skin started to crawl. You will feel like you are part of this story!!!!

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    Please read Time's review in the June 13 edition.

    Time calls it repro madness, Ann Patchett's thriller imagines a utopia of fertility.

    10 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    It was just ok Just ok

    If you like slow books,this is the book for you. I was never on the edge of my seat with this read. I honestly fell asleep several times while reading it. This was my first time reading her book and I was pretty much a snooze fest. I will say it was well written but Iam not sure if I would be willing to try a book from her again.

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    It'll do but I hope future books are better

    The story was interesting and thought provoking. I think the ending was rushed ....actually the whole book was rushed. I could have stood more content and character development. Not sorry I read it but it really could have been better.

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2011

    Ten+Stars%21%21

    This+is+truly+one+of+those+books+you+read+every+word%21+Hope+that+she+keeps+writing+books+like+these.

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Plod plod plod along

    This was a hard read becaue the story moved so slowly. Nothing feels exciting. Everything that should have had you on the edge of your seat was like, meh. Hated most of the book especially the ending! Ridiculous!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    I Wonder Why Anyone Liked This Book!

    Hard to give this book even one star. Even the author got bored with this story and rushed to finish it in the last ten pages. Implausible story with an ending that puts the main characters to shame. The positive reviews must have been written by the author's friends and editor. Bought this as an ebook - money and time wasted - can I get a refund?

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Great book but not my favorite Ann Patchett

    I've read everything she has written so was eager to try this one as soon as I could get it. Well written, original story as I'd expect. I did think some of the storyline could have been more developed, and I finished wishing there had been more of a wrap up. Overall, this book does not disappoint, though there is less danger and intrigue than the reviews I initially read led me to expect.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    WHY!?

    Why was this book on so many of my recommendation lists? it seemed like every where i looked this book came up as one of the best books of the year. I even read some really good reviews. So why I ask. For starters there is nothing about the writing that jumped out at me as beautiful. Then there were the characters themselves who were poorly developed. I couldnt bring myself to like any of them. I will not lie, i did not even finish this book. Maybe it is the ending that makes this story great but ive read two thirds of it and im bored to death! It drags on and on! My advice, get it from the library first before you buy it. Truly a dissapointing book!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    Wanted more

    This was a good book, but I was not satisfied with the ending It didn't seem to follow with what I thouht the characters were like

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Left hanging

    I struggled with this book, my wife as well! It left me hanging at the end. I would not reccomend it to anyone

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Just OK

    The writing was beautiful, but the story didn't really live up to its potential. The ending was a disappointment.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 774 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 39