Customer Reviews for

State of Wonder

Average Rating 4
( 756 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(266)

4 Star

(228)

3 Star

(138)

2 Star

(69)

1 Star

(55)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Magnificent!

Great atmosphere and entertaining, the story moves without pause and is never boring. Loaded with tension and sense of foreboding, there are several places that were truly hard to read. The story surged forward with unpredictable twists and turns and kept me engrossed r...
Great atmosphere and entertaining, the story moves without pause and is never boring. Loaded with tension and sense of foreboding, there are several places that were truly hard to read. The story surged forward with unpredictable twists and turns and kept me engrossed right up to the last page. Marina is a research doctor in Minnesota. A teammate, Anders, dies in the jungles of the Amazon. For some reason, her employer and secret lover, Mr. Fox, wants Marina to seek out the truth about Anders' death. She couldn't understand, why her? She has no skills in the area and knows little about the project in the Amazon. She and Anders were working together on a cholesterol drug. After getting together with Anders' grieving wife and sons, Marina feels it her duty to make the journey, even though she will once again meet her stern mentor, Dr. Annick Swenson. Swenson knows things about Marina that Marina wants to forget. Marina Singh's real exploration is her discovery of other people and of herself. This is another excellent Patchett work that will not be able to tear yourself away from.

posted by angeleyesAS on June 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Download State of Wonder For Free

Download State of Wonder For Free From Here goo.gl/9UDn0

posted by 9114493 on August 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 761 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 39
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Fantasy not adventure?

    When I read reviews about this book being based on an adventure in the Amazon, I couldn't wait to read it; however, the basis for the story is so implausible - a drug company providing a blank check to researchers for years of experimentation that they can't track - that maybe this book should be a fantasy instead of an adventure. The way everything was wrapped into a neat little bundle quickly at the end disappointed me. The characters were built up through the story gradually which kept my interest however, what happened to them - especially Anders and Easter seems pretty implausible too.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2011

    Good, but no Bel Canto

    I enjoyed the story, but never developed a fondness for any of the characters. A quick read, entertaining enough. I would recommend it, but it pales in comparison to Patchett's Bel Canto.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Another great job by a top-notch author

    Having read all of Ann Patchett's previous novels (can you tell I'm a fan), I'm declaring State of Wonder as her best. I wasn't sure about the setting at first--the Amazon jungle seemed too dark and spooky to wade into--I soon felt myself on a journey with no way to return (in a really good way). The twists and turns are unexpected but ring true. Patchett's prose is so well-written that you have to appreciate her technique while you are enjoying a great plot.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This is a wonderful book. Patchett's writing style is gorgeous and descriptive. The story is not run of the mill but rather exciting and far out. Her descriptions of the Amazon put me there and her characterizations are full and complicated. This book sent me back to rereading all of Patchett's works.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    Engrossing!!

    Wonderful, engaging book. This was a page turner that I wanted to quickly read but knew I needed to read slowly to relish every page because books like this don't come around very often. I highly recommend this unique story. Warning: once you start reading you will not be able to get a constructive thing done in your life...this book will occupy your every waking moment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    Science fiction in disguise.

    Almost nothing in this tale is believable. The narrator calls her lover "Mr." rather than use his given name. She seems careless and unprepared for her trip to the jungle. A drug company has supposedly supported a lab in the jungle for many years without any results or reports from the Dr in charge. That's about all I can say without giving away the story.
    Ann Patchett does exhibit a vivid imagination but the plot and characters are not plausible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2014

    I am amazed by all the hype about this book. How implausible to

    I am amazed by all the hype about this book. How implausible to think that women would want to remain fertile until they die! You really have so suspend your grip on reality to like this book. I found it fantastical and ridiculous. Perhaps it should be put into the fairy tale genre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Ewwww

    Hehe

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Terrible!

    It just got worse and worse and worse. I couldn't believe this was by the author of Bel Canto. Ridiculous storyline and flat characterization.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    a must read excellent

    I truly enjoyed reading anything from Ann Patchett/ Her new book. State of Wonder is a page turner and so beautifully written. I highly recomend it Looking forward to hearing her speak at Arts Lecture this week.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Fascinating; highly recommended

    I could hardly put State of Wonder down and hated for it to end. Ann Patchett puts you right into the story with her descriptions of characters' feelings and of the environment in which she puts them. This story seems to be fairly predictable at the start, but as it moves along, the reader suddenly realizes that something very different is going on. The first book of hers that I read was Bel Canto, which I also found to be great writing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Couldn't put it down...

    I loved this book. I especially enjoy Ms. Patchett's writing style. I'm looking forward to reading her other novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2013

    Well Written But A Difficult Piece Of Work

    It took me a while to get into this book. I actually stopped and decided not to read it but eventually returned. Had some points of interest but became a rather ridiculous story line as it progressed. I was reminded of "Dancing With Wolves" as I stayed with it and kept looking for Kevin Costner to show up. The book had been recommended to me so I felt an obligation to complete it but would not consider it something on which to spend too much time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Harmony

    Omg! Loved it. Please write another part!!!! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    A slow start

    A slow start but worth the effort. Interesting ideas and characters that you'd want to meet. A good book club read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Great summer read

    Just finished this book as a start to my summer...results? Fantastic! Great suspense and imagery and relationships of characters are well developed. Takes unexpected turns and twists and i was very addicted! Recommend this one all the way!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Great read

    Excellent book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Help

    How do u delete a book from ur library?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Waterflme

    Quits this rp forever. Bye.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    Loved the middle. The beginning was a little slow. HATED the e

    Loved the middle. The beginning was a little slow. HATED the end. Reader beware.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 761 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 39