Customer Reviews for

State of Wonder

Average Rating 4
( 753 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(265)

4 Star

(228)

3 Star

(137)

2 Star

(69)

1 Star

(54)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Magnificent!

Great atmosphere and entertaining, the story moves without pause and is never boring. Loaded with tension and sense of foreboding, there are several places that were truly hard to read. The story surged forward with unpredictable twists and turns and kept me engrossed r...
Great atmosphere and entertaining, the story moves without pause and is never boring. Loaded with tension and sense of foreboding, there are several places that were truly hard to read. The story surged forward with unpredictable twists and turns and kept me engrossed right up to the last page. Marina is a research doctor in Minnesota. A teammate, Anders, dies in the jungles of the Amazon. For some reason, her employer and secret lover, Mr. Fox, wants Marina to seek out the truth about Anders' death. She couldn't understand, why her? She has no skills in the area and knows little about the project in the Amazon. She and Anders were working together on a cholesterol drug. After getting together with Anders' grieving wife and sons, Marina feels it her duty to make the journey, even though she will once again meet her stern mentor, Dr. Annick Swenson. Swenson knows things about Marina that Marina wants to forget. Marina Singh's real exploration is her discovery of other people and of herself. This is another excellent Patchett work that will not be able to tear yourself away from.

posted by angeleyesAS on June 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Download State of Wonder For Free

Download State of Wonder For Free From Here goo.gl/9UDn0

posted by 9114493 on August 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    One of the worst books I have ever read!

    If it was not a selection for my book club I would never have finished this book. The story is ridiculous, characters are mostly whiny and self-centered and the writing is unexceptional. Do not understand why other readers found the story so exciting. I couldn't wait for it to end. I also find it interesting that Ann Patchett never mentions where she found her information about the Amazon or the tribes that might inhabit it. If you want to read an exciting and incredibly interesting story about the Amazon, read River of Doubt.

    12 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    Please read Time's review in the June 13 edition.

    Time calls it repro madness, Ann Patchett's thriller imagines a utopia of fertility.

    10 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Plod plod plod along

    This was a hard read becaue the story moved so slowly. Nothing feels exciting. Everything that should have had you on the edge of your seat was like, meh. Hated most of the book especially the ending! Ridiculous!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    I Wonder Why Anyone Liked This Book!

    Hard to give this book even one star. Even the author got bored with this story and rushed to finish it in the last ten pages. Implausible story with an ending that puts the main characters to shame. The positive reviews must have been written by the author's friends and editor. Bought this as an ebook - money and time wasted - can I get a refund?

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    WHY!?

    Why was this book on so many of my recommendation lists? it seemed like every where i looked this book came up as one of the best books of the year. I even read some really good reviews. So why I ask. For starters there is nothing about the writing that jumped out at me as beautiful. Then there were the characters themselves who were poorly developed. I couldnt bring myself to like any of them. I will not lie, i did not even finish this book. Maybe it is the ending that makes this story great but ive read two thirds of it and im bored to death! It drags on and on! My advice, get it from the library first before you buy it. Truly a dissapointing book!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Left hanging

    I struggled with this book, my wife as well! It left me hanging at the end. I would not reccomend it to anyone

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Ewwww

    Hehe

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Terrible!

    It just got worse and worse and worse. I couldn't believe this was by the author of Bel Canto. Ridiculous storyline and flat characterization.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Silly. Distracting. Hardly great literature.

    The main character seems to sleep walk through the entire book. In fact, I did not find any of the characters to be fully realized and therefore was not able to connect with anyone. The dangers and difficulties of developing a new drug in a hostile environment was interesting, however unregulated population growth is at odds with an isolated and limited society. Not logical. The abrupt ending seemed to be set up for a sequel.
    Does our heroine have a child? Will she return to a man who clearly does not hold her welfare to be important? Will the science be realized?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    I would give this book no stars if I could. It is by far the wor

    I would give this book no stars if I could. It is by far the worst book we read in book club this year. The first chapter has you thinking it's going to be an exciting book but it goes to non-moving from there. The story is beyond slow and the characters are boring. By the time you force yourself to finish the book (because you have to and definitely did not want to) you are left with a ending that was rushed and made the characters even more unlikable than they already were. It also left you with more questions because of their behavior and what was being studied. I do not recommend this book and I'm extremely puzzled why this was on the must read list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Awful

    Almost painful to get through. It has never before taken me two montgs to read 300 pages, but i kept falling asleep. None of the characters are particularly engaging and its actually quite boring. An utterly forgettable book, dont waste your time. Id leave zero stars if i could.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Completely copies apocolypse now

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    should be called state of confusion

    sorry this book was not very good - i had to press myself to read it till the end. the end was also a disappointment like others stated. and I could never connect with or find the characters believable - party it was because of the silly names - mr. fox?? sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    What a Let Down

    There was so much acclaim and the cover blurbs led you to believe this would br a compelling story with interesting characters....NOT. I nearly gave up several times. The ending was not enough of a reward for slogging through the Amazon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Disappointing

    After enjoying Ann Patchtt's excellent, "Bel Canto" my high expectations for her new novel "State of Wonder" were dashed with this silly, unbelievable plot with unbelievable characters. Not reccommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    I am in a state of wonder on why people like this book.

    This book was a waste of time. I found the character development poor, the plot frustrating, and the ending ridiculous. The only redeeming character was Easter...who was sold out in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Struggled To Get Through This!

    What a huge disappointment. The summary sounded intriguing - the story was anything but. I couldn't wait to be done with this book. I rarely abandon a book after I've started it, but I was really tempted to do so with this one! Choose something else to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    Very disappointed!

    Ugh...I finally finished this book and I can't figure out why I felt the need to do so! I didn't like the characters, the setting, or the story which just crept along. I do not recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3