Customer Reviews for

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight

Average Rating 4.5
( 329 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(217)

4 Star

(77)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

Beyond Amazing!

I¿ll start by saying this quote from Sea by Heidi Kling: I wanted to tell him that you can meet someone and they can change your life forever, even if you have only known him for a short while¿

That quote was exactly what was manifested in The Statistical Probability...
I¿ll start by saying this quote from Sea by Heidi Kling: I wanted to tell him that you can meet someone and they can change your life forever, even if you have only known him for a short while¿

That quote was exactly what was manifested in The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight. But when Hadley met Oliver, she wasn¿t really thinking about that. She was thinking that it was all because of the flight. Midair, people meet people, share stories with them and maybe even share a few secrets with them. But upon landing, they just wave goodbye and walk away forever. Somehow, that was what happened to Hadley and Oliver. They met at the airport, left the airport and went their separate ways. It should¿ve stayed that way for them, like for most people, but in 24 hours time, they managed to develop a connection that was sudden, startling and life-changing.

Hadley went to the airport with annoyance, dread and unwillingness building up inside of her. Her father was going to get married to a British woman she¿s never even met, the same British woman that caused her parents¿ divorce. She was one of the bridesmaids. I love Hadley¿s character. She was honest but considerate and unsure in so many ways but determined. She seemed so real. This girl could be me if I were in that position. For this, it was very easy to like her and to feel for her.

Oliver was an English gentleman. Tall, lanky, handsome with good humor, he was absolutely adorable. Throughout the time he spent with Hadley while waiting for their flight and during the flight, he was pleasing, entertaining and amusing. He was the kind of guy that makes a good impression and that is hard to forget. But I could sense that there was something dark about him, like something was weighing down on his shoulders, occasionally making him hunched, distant and silent.

In London, Hadley went through the motions of preparing for the wedding. She met Charlotte, the British woman who captured her Dad¿s heart. There, she realized the truth about her Dad¿s new phase, the changes in her own life and Oliver. The novel was a grand mixture of musings and flashbacks that brought me closer and closer to Hadley. The flashbacks were vivid and painted with emotion. They were honest and real from the memory of a child. It helped me in connecting the dots and seeing the bigger picture.

The writing was breathtaking. I loved it! I loved how the author transformed that most mundane thing into something beautiful and how she injected little bits of realizations about daily life into the novel. It was like looking at life through a different pair of eyes.

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight is an extraordinary contemporary romance born from an extraordinary circumstance. The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight is brimming with humor, curiosity, love, changes and regrets that will fly readers to the world of possibility, fresh starts and second chances. I highly recommend this to readers of contemporary romance!

posted by precious_seraph on January 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Meh!

I personally didn't like this book, but the characters were cute and the daddy daughter relationship was also sweet, but it was way underdeveloped. That is just my feeling. I read tons of books where I love them and people hate them, so preference is everything! I think...
I personally didn't like this book, but the characters were cute and the daddy daughter relationship was also sweet, but it was way underdeveloped. That is just my feeling. I read tons of books where I love them and people hate them, so preference is everything! I think the idea of writing a book based on a 24-hour period is hard, and she did a great job trying! I am glad I read it, but would not read it again! Please dont let my opinion detour you from reading it... I think everyone should try it for themselves!!!!

posted by RyderHM on February 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 329 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Beyond Amazing!

    I¿ll start by saying this quote from Sea by Heidi Kling: I wanted to tell him that you can meet someone and they can change your life forever, even if you have only known him for a short while¿

    That quote was exactly what was manifested in The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight. But when Hadley met Oliver, she wasn¿t really thinking about that. She was thinking that it was all because of the flight. Midair, people meet people, share stories with them and maybe even share a few secrets with them. But upon landing, they just wave goodbye and walk away forever. Somehow, that was what happened to Hadley and Oliver. They met at the airport, left the airport and went their separate ways. It should¿ve stayed that way for them, like for most people, but in 24 hours time, they managed to develop a connection that was sudden, startling and life-changing.

    Hadley went to the airport with annoyance, dread and unwillingness building up inside of her. Her father was going to get married to a British woman she¿s never even met, the same British woman that caused her parents¿ divorce. She was one of the bridesmaids. I love Hadley¿s character. She was honest but considerate and unsure in so many ways but determined. She seemed so real. This girl could be me if I were in that position. For this, it was very easy to like her and to feel for her.

    Oliver was an English gentleman. Tall, lanky, handsome with good humor, he was absolutely adorable. Throughout the time he spent with Hadley while waiting for their flight and during the flight, he was pleasing, entertaining and amusing. He was the kind of guy that makes a good impression and that is hard to forget. But I could sense that there was something dark about him, like something was weighing down on his shoulders, occasionally making him hunched, distant and silent.

    In London, Hadley went through the motions of preparing for the wedding. She met Charlotte, the British woman who captured her Dad¿s heart. There, she realized the truth about her Dad¿s new phase, the changes in her own life and Oliver. The novel was a grand mixture of musings and flashbacks that brought me closer and closer to Hadley. The flashbacks were vivid and painted with emotion. They were honest and real from the memory of a child. It helped me in connecting the dots and seeing the bigger picture.

    The writing was breathtaking. I loved it! I loved how the author transformed that most mundane thing into something beautiful and how she injected little bits of realizations about daily life into the novel. It was like looking at life through a different pair of eyes.

    The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight is an extraordinary contemporary romance born from an extraordinary circumstance. The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight is brimming with humor, curiosity, love, changes and regrets that will fly readers to the world of possibility, fresh starts and second chances. I highly recommend this to readers of contemporary romance!

    37 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Omg

    OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:)best book ever there are soooooo many emotions it makes u want to go to the airport to fall in love

    24 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Heartfelt & Delightful - Everything A Reader Could Want

    There are some books that are so perfectly perfect that they make the reader swoon along with them. The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight is one of those books. It’s romantic and heartfelt and so much more than just that – focusing on more than just the romance and allowing the reader to see true love in more ways than one.

    There’s still plenty of romance. And it’s magnificently done, invoking butterflies and blushes and longing. Brit boy Oliver is sexy (he’s British, so obviously he’s sexy) and intelligent and quirky and funny and absolutely adorable in his randomness. He makes Hadley’s heart race and will do the same to the reader. Considering that a third of the book takes place in an airport/airplane, these two need to have some serious chemistry to keep the reader hooked.

    On top of a romance that feels epic, there’s the backstory to both Hadley and Oliver. Hadley’s family dynamic is so well-crafted that I was there with her, the entire way, partially hating her father, while hoping the two of them could work everything out. The father/daughter relationship has just the right amount of angst and bitterness, then Smith throws in flashbacks of tenderness and undeniable love.

    Hadley is everything readers could want her to be. She’s young and angry at her father, angry at her mother, but vulnerable and not jaded enough to have a complete disbelief in love. This book had me smiling from that very first page. Jennifer E. Smith knows how to write characters that the reader will feel an instant attachment to, and give us a story that is impossible to put down.

    The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight will sway even the most reluctant romantics with its delightful humor, heartfelt characters, and the idea that maybe love at first sight is possible. Smith’s collection of fate, coincidence, and love made me smile, it made me laugh, and it even made me tear up – it’s that good. As far as contemporary YA goes, The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight is one of the best and a definite must read.

    21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Meh!

    I personally didn't like this book, but the characters were cute and the daddy daughter relationship was also sweet, but it was way underdeveloped. That is just my feeling. I read tons of books where I love them and people hate them, so preference is everything! I think the idea of writing a book based on a 24-hour period is hard, and she did a great job trying! I am glad I read it, but would not read it again! Please dont let my opinion detour you from reading it... I think everyone should try it for themselves!!!!

    17 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Yes, an 11 year old could read it :)

    This is a cute, sweetly romantic story that allows you to really emotionally connect with the characters. And you get to travel abroad with Hadley and Oliver to England :) There are a few kisses, but it's a refreshingly clean teen romance!

    14 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    A Sweet Story

    This is a light sweet romance story with a little family drama thrown in for good measure. It's somewhat predictable but not in the ways you might expect. The author's ability to describe a scene is solid and her attention to detail is amazing. If you're looking for a more in-depth character study or a meaty plot, then this book isn't for you. But if you find yourself wanting to remember those first stirrings of new love, then read this book.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2011

    Fantastic story!

    Hadley is four minutes late for the flight that will take her to the wedding of her father to a woman she has never met. On the next flight she meets Oliver, they connect, but there is this we've-only-just-met, is-he-feeling-what-I'm-feeling? thing about their relationship. When they arrive in London they are separated, and Hadley believes she will never see Oliver again.

    What I love most about this book is the seamless way Jennifer Smith weaves past to present so we understand exactly where Hadley is with her relationship with her father and everything else in her life. I also like that, even though this book is about Hadley and Oliver's relationship, it's even as importantly, about Hadley's relationship with her father and her new stepmother.

    I loved this book and highly recommend it to anyone thinking about reading it!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A must-read!

    This book has done nothing but make me smile the whole way through! I've been on a contemporary kick lately and have heard so many great things about this story, so I had a feeling I would love it, and clearly I did. I just love the tone of the book and how it alternates between being light and witty, and then real and emotional. You can't help but get caught up in Hadley and Oliver's budding romance, and after a while it's hard to believe that everything they go through has only happened over the course of one day. The book starts off with Hadley missing her flight to London; where her dad is getting married to a woman she's never met. But missing her flight is pretty much the best thing that could ever happen to her, because it led to her meeting a very swoon-worthy boy named Oliver (who by the way has an English accent, which is always a plus!). The chemistry that these two have and the ease at which they get to know eachother is so delightful and believable, and I loved every second they were together. This is a couple I was rooting for from the very beginning, because it's so clear that they're meant to be together. With them the author does so well at covering all of the emotions that go along with falling in love: the uncertainty, excitement, shyness, longing, compulsive thoughts, and a fear that you're maybe misreading the signs--all of these are honest and accurate depictions. There were moments when the plot detours into specific memories that belong to Hadley, and I think that fit into the plot well and made Hadley more relatable. It's clear that Hadley and Oliver both have family issues that are weighing them down, which in a way solidifies their connection even more. They were there for eachother at a time when it seemed like no one else could bring them comfort. I absolutely loved the last chapter of the book because instead of feeling like an ending, it gives you the distinct impression of a wonderful beginning. I will definitely be re-reading this book whenever I need a heartfelt smile and laugh. So pick up this book if you're looking for a genuine, feel-good novel--one that is made up of first loves, self-discovery, the possibility of fate, and the journey and connection of two people getting to know eachother.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Amazingly a awesome book!!!

    The statistical probability of love at first sight was indeed an incredible book, that i will cherish everytime I travel. It was however a rapid short teen love story, that makes you wonder of all the possiblities that can or may occur. I would definitely recommend this book.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Completely sweet

    Its a quick sweet story, and i absolutely loved it! It's definetly worth the read i thoight it was intirely cute

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!

    Words cannot describe how much I love this book. I really dont know what to say besides wow! Looking forward to seeing more from this author.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    A Must Read!

    This book was fantastic! I would defintely recommend it

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    This book was amazing!! I couldnt put it down!! They should make it into a movie. Its the PERFECT love story, ill probably be reading it a couple more times.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Awesome book!

    I would definitely reccomd to a friend

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    This book was disappointing, I read the overview and was excited

    This book was disappointing, I read the overview and was excited to read this book because it sounded so good. but it was too predictable and there was no real climax to it. 

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Don't buy

    Aftee reading numerous reviews and seeing this book compared to my favorite author, John Green, I thought I'd give it a try. Worst decision of my life. This book was not worth any of the money I spent on it. It in no way is anything like a John Green book. This book was cute, but very boring and super predictable. I would definitely reccomend it to middle school age but nothing higher. This book lacks depth while it attempts to discuss "daddy issues." It was actually kind of embarrassing to read becauase you could tell the author was trying, but just completely missed it and went way over board with the cliches.

    In summary, if you are over the age of 12, this book is not for you. Unless you enjoy reading shallow cliches about first loves.

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    ...

    breathtaking.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Hi

    This book is absolutely amazing!!!!I loved it so much I wanted to go to the airport , even though I didnt . Lol.
    I reccomend this book to anyone who likes a romance with a woderfully happy ending .
    Hope this helped :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Just Average. My friend was obsessing with this book to me so I

    Just Average.

    My friend was obsessing with this book to me so I decided to give it a shot. After I read it, I began to wonder why on Earth did she love it so much!? I would only recommend this book to a 12 year old girl who is obsessed with cliche romance novels. 
    There was no big plot twist or climax and it was extremely predictable. You know the saying "Don't judge a book by it cover" well, that does not apply to this book. The cover says it all honestly. Two strangers meet, fall in love, and get their happy ever after. In conclusion I found this book to be quite tedious and would only recommend to someone who is obsessed with sappy, cliche love stories. That's just my opinion. 

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2013

    A cute book but a little too predictable. For all the hype about

    A cute book but a little too predictable. For all the hype about Hadley meeting Oliver on a plane, we don't actually see them on the plane
    that much, and instead read about flashbacks of it later. It was okay. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 329 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17