Customer Reviews for

Stay

Average Rating 4.5
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great for german shephard lovers

This book is a great book for a rainy day, airplane ride, car ride, or just for fun. Stay was the first book I bought on my nook color. I have never regreted it, I read it over and over.

posted by 10592968 on December 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great first effort!

Great first effort from first time author! It was a simple story, told very well. Predictable, but that's OK, still enjoyable. If you love dogs, you will like this book.

posted by 660760 on July 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Great for german shephard lovers

    This book is a great book for a rainy day, airplane ride, car ride, or just for fun. Stay was the first book I bought on my nook color. I have never regreted it, I read it over and over.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    Enjoyable Read

    As a dog lover, I was immediately drawn to the book's summary, as well as the cover. About halfway through, I was fearful it was going to be predictable, but I enjoyed the spirit and little surprises Ms. Larkin incorporated. I was pleased with the book and recommend it to anyone who has ever had life touched by a dog.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Really enjoyable!

    This was a great read! It will make you laugh and cry. It's a great story about someone trying to figure out who they are and how to build a life for themselves. Reading about her adapting to the puppy she adopts left me laughing out loud. Definitely recommend!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Humor, Heartbreak, & Doggy Kisses

    Janie is Savannah's (Van's) best friend since childhood. Peter is the man she literally fell for her first day of college. Her biggest mistake was introducing them to each other. That is why as this book starts she is dressed up looking like a satin orange pumpkin as maid of honor at their wedding.

    After the wedding hoopla she decides to drown her sorrows with a little Vodka and a Rin-Tin-Tin movie marathon. During the night she drunk orders a puppy off the internet. When the puppy arrives she finds out he is 200 pounds and has been trained with only Slovak commands.

    Savannah Leone's life will never be he same.


    I would call this a great summer read with one caveat, it takes place in the fall and winter. It is still a great "escape" novel.

    I like this author's writing style, it is very mature for a debut novel. I love the characters, Joe was in a class all his own. Filled with humor and heartbreak and doggy kisses, I was almost sorry to see the story end.

    It is a light fun read that animal lovers will enjoy and appreciate. It is amazing how quickly we become attached to our pets and the magically way they understand, love us unconditionally, and even save us from ourselves. All this for a little scratch behind the ears and doggy treats.

    I hope to see more from this author soon!!! Check out her blog to find out more about this new author.




    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Plume, a division of The Penguin Gr. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Funny romantic sad evet Funny, romantic and sad all at the same time

    Gread read it keeps entertained throughout the whole book and makes u want buy a really expensive dog!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Amazing

    Could not put it down. Makes you stop and think about your life. Being a lover of animals, I thoroughly enjoyed how the dog was portrayed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Great

    Book

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Great read

    A book you just want to curl up with.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Great read.

    A wonderful book that was touching and funny.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    The dog will steal your heart.

    Fun love story, with a lovable dog that is in the center of every thng. This is a book you can just sit back and totally enjoy! Just beware of what you order on the Internet, for you never know how big a puppy can be!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Formulaic, but fun

    I enjoyed this book more for the relatable dog stories than the romance. Overall, definitely worth a read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very enjoyable read! You'll laugh and cry!

    Review by JoAnne:
    This is a contemporary novel that is heartwarming and an enjoyable read. Stay made me both laugh and cry. Van overcame the loss of who she thought was the love of her life by ordering a "puppy" online from overseas. Imagine her surprise that her puppy is bigger upon arrival than expected. The antics Joe gets in and the bond Van and Joe create kept me turning the pages. I definitely recommend this book and look forward to reading others by this wonderful new author.

    Comment by Valerie: A fantastic summer read that you will enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Van and Joe makes this warm contemporary romance fun to read

    Although she put on a happy face, Savannah "Van" Leone is heartbroken having watched as the maid of honor Peter Clarke who, she has loved for several years wed her best friend Janie. Van combines a Rin Tin Tin marathon with vodka. Drunk, she buys a German shepherd puppy on line.

    However, her canine arrives but is not a cute little dog, but instead is a humongous Slovakian police dog; she calls her roommate Joe. Bigger than a gorilla, the neighbors fear Joe as does Van's devastated furniture. However owner and pet become best buddies as she tells him about her broken heart made worse when the couple come home from their honeymoon. Still Joe rejects her moping around; pushing his significant other towards a new romantic interest.

    Van and Joe makes this warm contemporary romance fun to read as she struggles with unrequited love and a humongous canine demanding she move on. The support cast can be distracting as there seems to be enough to fill the Hartford Civic Center though each contains diverse personalities but especially eccentric Louis. Fans will enjoy Van finding her groove after believing she lost it forever.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    Amazing!!!

    Now I'm a 14 year old girl... so this book shouldn't be a favorite. However I put off 3 projects to the last minute to read it! It was amazing! A breath od fresh air from all the vampires and Pride and Prejudice zombies... really loved this book! Anyone looking for a sweet tale about how a dog can change your life Stay is your book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    Great story about love and a good dog

    I was skeptical at first, but after I got past the first few chapters I fell in love with this book. I absolutely love the dogs part in this book. It actually makes me want to go out and get another dog.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    A Definite Read~

    Savannah (Van) Leone finds herself in a somewhat common literary pickle. The guy she has loved from afar all through college marries her best friend, while she looks on as maid of honor. Larkin's debut novel takes this theme to a new level and really makes Van shine as the heroine of the tale. From ordering a puppy off the internet and a host of unusual secondary characters, Stay swings between the humor and sadness of life very believably. I really liked this story and recommend it to anyone looking for a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Laugh Out Loud Canine Story!!

    Allie Larkin is a talented young author, there is no doubt about that. She captured me instantly with her witty humor and characters that pull you into the story, making you one of them. Allie Larkin is a new author who will rise to the top if she continues with captivating novels such as this one!

    Stay is a story that will do one of three things: make you laugh, make you cry, or both. I did both. I laughed at all the humorous thoughts and antics that Allie added to Van's life. I cried when I saw what Van was going through-being in love with a man who married her best friend. I see myself in Van when she feels she's not good enough for anyone. I just wanted to reach out and hug her! That's how I feel lots of the time. The laughing came at all of Van's thoughts through out the story, especially when she was upset at someone. Boy could she think up some thoughts! Allie added the flavor of the story with the laugh out loud humor. The climax of the story came when Van decided, on a drunken internet search, to purchase a German Shepard "puppy" off the internet to be her companion. She felt it was the only one that would be loyal and faithful to her no matter what. So, when Joe arrived, she thought there was a mistake, as this wasn't the size of a puppy, but he certainly filled her void! The story got even better when Joe, the adorable "puppy" bound into the scenes, and helped Van meet Alex, the veterinarian. Alex was such a dear man and one that anyone woman would love! He really added the spice to this novel.

    I recommend this fabulous story with 4 stars...I must warn you about the language though, as there is use of some language....this novel wouldn't be good for everyone if you don't like stories that have language. But, if you are a canine lover like me, you fall in love with this story about Van and her cuddly&cute, adorable&fluffy 4 legged companion! Allie Larkin's Stay is the perfect read for animal lovers and those looking for a good laugh. I'll definitely be looking for more novels by Allie, especially if they all have that laugh out loud humor to unwind at the end of the day!

    *This book was provided for review by PUYB Promotions*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great First Effort

    I agree with Anonymous, but felt that the book earned 4 stars. That was pretty predictable too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2010

    Great first effort!

    Great first effort from first time author! It was a simple story, told very well. Predictable, but that's OK, still enjoyable. If you love dogs, you will like this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2010

    Puppy love!

    "Stay" is as much about staying as it is of letting go - of people, places and things. It is about growing up and standing up. About reliving memories and creating new ones and evaluating ourselves and our relationships.

    I hesitate to tag it "chick-lit" because it is much more than that. Ms. Larkin's writing is balanced and smooth with characters and situations I can relate to. How many times do we blurt out words and then replay them over and over again in our minds and wonder about the impact those words had on the people who heard them?

    "Stay" is a delightful first novel and I will read every book Allie Larkin publishes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4