Customer Reviews for

Stay Close

Average Rating 4
( 185 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Really enjoyed it. Would recommend for a great weekend read

Really enjoyed it. Would recommend for a great weekend read

posted by danilos on April 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

I have been a huge fan of Harlen Coben and pre-ordered this book

I have been a huge fan of Harlen Coben and pre-ordered this book in January. I was so excited when it was released but I have to say that I am stil reading it. In the past, I have read his books in 1 or 2 days; however, this book is beyond boring. The characters are ...
I have been a huge fan of Harlen Coben and pre-ordered this book in January. I was so excited when it was released but I have to say that I am stil reading it. In the past, I have read his books in 1 or 2 days; however, this book is beyond boring. The characters are uninteresting, and the story is moving way too slow. So far, it has been very disappointing and I'm sorry I paid as much as I did for the Nook version. :-(

posted by goskins21 on March 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 28, 2012

    I have been a huge fan of Harlen Coben and pre-ordered this book

    I have been a huge fan of Harlen Coben and pre-ordered this book in January. I was so excited when it was released but I have to say that I am stil reading it. In the past, I have read his books in 1 or 2 days; however, this book is beyond boring. The characters are uninteresting, and the story is moving way too slow. So far, it has been very disappointing and I'm sorry I paid as much as I did for the Nook version. :-(

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    I'm still struggling to get through this and Harlan Coben is not

    I'm still struggling to get through this and Harlan Coben is not just one of my favorite authors - he is my favorite author whom I have recommended to dozens of people. But this book doesn't seem like it's written by the same author. I have no empathy for any of the characters - something that Harlan has managed to instill in me through each and every chapter of his previous books. With Mr. Coben's sophisticated sense of humor, maybe this book is categorized as a mystery because the mystery lies in who wrote this book?

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Disappointment

    Harlon Coben is one of my favorite authors and I have read most of his books. This was a real let down. It was superficial, trite and I suspect a ghost writer did the collaboration. I WOULD NOT suggest purchasing this one!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Disappointed

    First off I am a HUGE Harlen Coben fan. I have read everything he has written and have turned everyone I know into a fan as well. That being said, this book was a huge disappointment. The story line just kind of drug on and I never connected with the characters or the story. If this is your first Harlen Coben book try any of his others first. I can't wait for his next book and hope this was a fluke.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    BORING--BORING.

    I am a Harlan Coben fan but what happened here?? The plot does not flow. The disjointed sequence of events is not interesting,merely confusing and frustrating. I am trying to finish the last few chapters, but it is a struggle!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Nothing to write home about

    I am a big Coban fan, but Stay Close was disappointing. Characters were undeveloped, plot twists were predictable, scenes were barely sketched in. Dont waste your time or money onthis book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Boring, predictable

    I love some of his other books. This one just didn't do it for me. I didn't feel connected to the characters at all. I felt that it was boring and somewhat predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Unpleasant

    Sorry, but I don't enjoy reading about people being tortured - and in this case, perfectly innocent people who have done nothing wrong. After the second charming description of what a pair of psychos got their jollies doing, I closed the book. Too bad, because the storyline was pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Anonymous

    I hate to say it but, I agree with a vast majority of these reviewers. This does not seem like it was written by this author but some ghost. This is one of my favorite authors; I buy all his books. But this, I cannot finish it. Usually I read his books in one sitting. Terrible. Save your money, do not press that button.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    This was not one of Harlan Cobens best books. I normally tear th

    This was not one of Harlan Cobens best books. I normally tear through his books in 3-4 days (not a lot of time to read). This one took me about 2 weeks. It was slow moving and seemingly uneventful. The ending was predictable. The message of the story was good, once you got there, but it seemed like a long boring journey.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointed Coben fan

    I am a long time Harlan Coben fan. I have read all of his books, minus the Myron Bolter series, and have loved every single one, especially The Woods. His books usually keep me reading into the wee hours of the morning because I just can't bear to wait to find out what happens next. Sadly, this was not the case with Stay Close. I was bored from the beginning and finally gave up half way through. I then read the last chapter and was grateful I hadn't wasted my time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Meh...

    Agree with what's being said. Thin plot, cardboard characters, moralizing disguised as philosophizing, way too much preoccupation with a hackneyed 'everyone lies and it's wrong' subtext. Seems maybe something big is out of balance in Coben's life? Can't think of another reason he'd suddenly be churning out a Mary Higgins Clark/James Patterson-like piece of drivel like this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1