Customer Reviews for

Stay Close

Average Rating 4
( 177 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Really enjoyed it. Would recommend for a great weekend read

Really enjoyed it. Would recommend for a great weekend read

posted by danilos on April 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

I have been a huge fan of Harlen Coben and pre-ordered this book

I have been a huge fan of Harlen Coben and pre-ordered this book in January. I was so excited when it was released but I have to say that I am stil reading it. In the past, I have read his books in 1 or 2 days; however, this book is beyond boring. The characters are ...
I have been a huge fan of Harlen Coben and pre-ordered this book in January. I was so excited when it was released but I have to say that I am stil reading it. In the past, I have read his books in 1 or 2 days; however, this book is beyond boring. The characters are uninteresting, and the story is moving way too slow. So far, it has been very disappointing and I'm sorry I paid as much as I did for the Nook version. :-(

posted by goskins21 on March 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    I have read and loved all of Harlan Coben's books, and was looki

    I have read and loved all of Harlan Coben's books, and was looking forward to reading this one but, unfortunately, ended up very dissapointed for the first time. All of the characters were one-dementional, cliche, and boring. The story moved slowly, without his signature twists and wit, especially the less-than-shocking ending, which I found even difficult to make it all the way through. This book did not seem to be written by the same author as all of his other great mysteries.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    This book was an easy read....almost too easy. I love his Myron

    This book was an easy read....almost too easy. I love his Myron Bolitor character but in this book I really found myself not really liking any of the characters or caring what happened. I did like Loren Muse coming in at the end and recalling some of Mr. Coben's finer works.

    Still a decent read....more of a Patterson feeling to it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Enjoyed this one, although not as much as I've enjoyed some of h

    Enjoyed this one, although not as much as I've enjoyed some of his others - especially his Myron Bolitar series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    This was not one of his best...

    Even though I love Harlen Cobren's books,this was not one of his best work.Usually his books have a dramatic twist and a somewhat way that you can't explain what will happen. It holds people on the edge their seats, until the very end. But on this book, you have to read it over and over to understand the concept of what's really going on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    The book had an interesting premise, but it was a total snoozefe

    The book had an interesting premise, but it was a total snoozefest I love HC, and this was not his style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Jersey Bounce

    Gambling was supposed to be the salvation for the downtrodden Atlantic City, but has proved to be anything else. Once you leave the glitz of the casino environment, the resort city is pretty well the rundown area that it was before the old and new hotels were converted to wagering meccas. So it is fitting that Atlantic City is the setting for this novel which, we presume, reaches for the jackpot, but comes up a little short.

    It is a murder crime tale united by the past histories of three main characters, two of whom remain in Atlantic City and one, a lap dancer turned suburban mom, escapes for 17 years. What reunites them and brings the plot to a boil is her sudden return on a whim to the resort, resurrecting a murder that took place just before she ran away.

    While the basic plot revolves around a police investigation into the murder (and subsequent ones), the author schmaltzes it up with a side love story, as well as a narrative of mother love and duties. Somehow, it all does not really fit together. Oh, Myron Bolitar, where were you when we needed you?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    a bit disappointed

    not as good as Harlan Coben usually is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good but not his best

    Stay Close is a good read but it is far from Harlan Coben's best and might be considered somewhat mundane. Honestly, I thought his recent young adult book was better than this. There is suspense and a decent serial killer storyline; but....there is a but. The characters have no real depth. i never felt connected with them on any level. I never really cared what happened with any of them. I'm ready for the next Myron Bolitar book personally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Slow start

    Almost stopped reading. Continuing was worth it. Good end game.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    An Average Crime Novel

    This was a rather typical “whodoneit” type of tale although the ending did surprise me. All and all the good guys prevailed and justice was served. For those who enjoy a Murder Mystery this book is recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2