Customer Reviews for

Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes

Average Rating 4.5
( 167 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Amazing book!!

Staying Fat For Sarah Byrnes is about an odd friendship between two kids in high school with different but equal problems. Sarah Byrnes is horribly burnt and the main character Eric Calhoune is just overweight, but is constantly picked on. Sarah begins to shut out the w...
Staying Fat For Sarah Byrnes is about an odd friendship between two kids in high school with different but equal problems. Sarah Byrnes is horribly burnt and the main character Eric Calhoune is just overweight, but is constantly picked on. Sarah begins to shut out the world and Eric is left to pick up the pieces to figure out why, and to find out the secret she's been keeping all the years of their friendship. Eric begins to slowly understand Sarah's secret and tries to do something about it. Taking an unexpected twist in events the novel turns into something more than friendship. It takes a glimpse into the debate of abortion, religion and family issues. Creating an environment any teenager can relate to. The book is very serious at times but also contains a lot of comic relief. Both flow into each other well and will either leave you laughing or dying to keep reading. This book is very realistic when it comes to high school. The author includes a swimming team, which Eric is part of, and the bully everyone is afraid of. The author also gives a strong message. Will friendship be everlasting through thick and thin or will it crumble beneath the weight of the pressures of society. Overall i absolutely loved this book and would highly recommend it for anyone looking for a different kind of novel. A great break from the routine. So will the friendship of Sarah and Eric prevail or will it be lost? Well you'll just have to read the book and find out.

posted by Jasmine_F on December 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Oh Chris

This book was just plain annoying. Chris Crutcher's agenda was so obvious and obnoxious, it made me mad. Only half the book was spent on the plot, the other half was spent bashing someone for their beliefs and making this one stereotypical character look like a real j...
This book was just plain annoying. Chris Crutcher's agenda was so obvious and obnoxious, it made me mad. Only half the book was spent on the plot, the other half was spent bashing someone for their beliefs and making this one stereotypical character look like a real jerk. The plot and catchy title looked intriguing, but it was hidden too deep underneath the annoying characters. This wasn't the first time this happened with a Chris Crutcher novel. In his other book I read called The Sledding Hill, in which Crutcher also ignores the plot in order to push his own agenda. Had potential, but I was left disappointed.

posted by Awesomeness1 on June 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 167 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    Amazing book!!

    Staying Fat For Sarah Byrnes is about an odd friendship between two kids in high school with different but equal problems. Sarah Byrnes is horribly burnt and the main character Eric Calhoune is just overweight, but is constantly picked on. Sarah begins to shut out the world and Eric is left to pick up the pieces to figure out why, and to find out the secret she's been keeping all the years of their friendship. Eric begins to slowly understand Sarah's secret and tries to do something about it. Taking an unexpected twist in events the novel turns into something more than friendship. It takes a glimpse into the debate of abortion, religion and family issues. Creating an environment any teenager can relate to. The book is very serious at times but also contains a lot of comic relief. Both flow into each other well and will either leave you laughing or dying to keep reading. This book is very realistic when it comes to high school. The author includes a swimming team, which Eric is part of, and the bully everyone is afraid of. The author also gives a strong message. Will friendship be everlasting through thick and thin or will it crumble beneath the weight of the pressures of society. Overall i absolutely loved this book and would highly recommend it for anyone looking for a different kind of novel. A great break from the routine. So will the friendship of Sarah and Eric prevail or will it be lost? Well you'll just have to read the book and find out.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Wonderful book

    I thought this book would be quick and just okay. But i really enjoyed it. The writing was hilarious and the plot had me finish the book in one day.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2007

    Good from Beginning to End!

    This book, I thought was awesome! I mean even though there were a lot of controversial things like abortion, child abuse, religion/semi-religion it still tied into the characters and Sarah Byrnes. It seemed while other students were wrapped up in their problems it was still relating to Sarah Byrnes' problems except it was just being kept inside. Once her best-friend Eric told her about his love-interest and her abortion Sarah didn't feel so alone. She realized that she wasn't the only one hurting so bad but there were others hurting too but just in a different way. This was a heart-wrenching story of a kid that stands up for a friend when an adult can't. I loved every page of it and recommend it to anyone and everyone!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    An Eye Opening Book of Reality

    Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes is a story about an incredibly strong friendship between Eric Calhoun and Sarah Byrnes. They have been best friend for the longest time. Sarah has a scar down her face that she has to live with every day, which she received from a pot of boiling water. Throughout the book he uncovers many stories about Sarah Byrnes and what really happened to her. Through the long remarkable journey they do many things for each other that show the real meaning of friendship.
    Sarah is sent to the hospital because she has stopped communicating and they cannot find out what is wrong with her. While she is there Eric comes to visit her and everything just slowly pours out, but Sarah's secrets aren't the only person's secrets that come out of hiding. All the characters have some problem they are facing and some don't know how to face them with issues such as suicide, abortion, and finding a loved one. In the end it all turns out to be the best thing that has ever happened to some of them.
    I believe that this book really shined through on showing the emotional side of some teenager's lives. Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes showed me that I kind of take my family for granted and how I don't really understand what it is like to experience the life that some kids have. Details given by Crutcher on her father and what he did to her are similar to other people's parents and the harm they provide for their kids. I really enjoyed how this book was written and the lesson I was taught from it.
    In conclusion this book was an amazing eye opener that has a great impact on many peoples lives. In the beginning it was very slow, but as we slowly found out about the characters and what was going on the excitement of what would happen next greatly approached on us. Everything in this book held us on a new attention level. The word choice, the descriptions, the setting, the characters, all made this book so well rounded.
    This book is a must read for people 13 and up! It greatly deserves a five star rating, although some or the topics and diction are very vivid. With everything that happened it was one of the best books I've ever.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    It was overall a amazing well thought out book

    I an 16 years old and had to read this book for school normally school books are horrible but i was surprized that this book was good. It is tragic what the kids have to go through. It made me a little emotional... i would not recomend this book to boys ... but it was a well written book and very creative!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Oh Chris

    This book was just plain annoying. Chris Crutcher's agenda was so obvious and obnoxious, it made me mad. Only half the book was spent on the plot, the other half was spent bashing someone for their beliefs and making this one stereotypical character look like a real jerk. The plot and catchy title looked intriguing, but it was hidden too deep underneath the annoying characters. This wasn't the first time this happened with a Chris Crutcher novel. In his other book I read called The Sledding Hill, in which Crutcher also ignores the plot in order to push his own agenda. Had potential, but I was left disappointed.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2009

    Welll then

    This book was an ok read and i would recamend it for someone who likes to read things about peoples lives and so on.<BR/>But yeah it was ok

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2007

    One of the best teenage stories I've ever read

    Staying Fat for Sarah Brynes is the story of a girls quest for freedom from her abusive father and her horrible past. Luckily, she has Eric to help her along with her escape. This is a truely incredible book that tugs on the strings of your heart. I couldn't put it down. Crutcher does an amazing job at keeping you on th edge of your seat. I've never been a big fan of teen related stories, but I absolutely loved this one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2014

    Sample...

    Not long enough 30 pages :( but over all the book was good :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2014

    Awful

    Wost book i have ever read. I didnt enjoy it at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    A

    Ghvdgj

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    How she got her scars

    She got her scars when she was younger by dumping a pot of boiling water on her self but not on propose. Her dad wouldnt let the doctors fix her face. It says so in the begining of the book so if u r still confused it could help if u reread it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Amazing Story

    This book broke my heart in the beginning, but it was so much more powerful and moving the more I read. Eric and Sarah's friendship is rare and makes you feel hopeful for their futures. It's believable and a story for all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    I loved this book

    I didnt think i would like this book...my teachers recommened it....i thought i should try it and im glad i did...everyone shoukd read it...its a sad but a great book!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Review

    This book is amazing it tells of young love,abuse,batrayal,and much more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Amazing!

    Amazing book. I highly recommend it to anyone who is in high school!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Belief

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    hi

    Hi

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    The best evver

    It had a perfeect funnel off the ploot

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Loove

    Ill definitely be rereading it sometime!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 167 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9