Customer Reviews for

Staying True

Average Rating 4
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fight that urge to merge until you're sure

Jenny Sanford was a lovely, talented young woman who felt pressure to be married, and ignored all the warning signs that she was about to marry a selfish, self-involved man with nothing to give to anyone because he wants it all for himself. This is required reading for ...
Jenny Sanford was a lovely, talented young woman who felt pressure to be married, and ignored all the warning signs that she was about to marry a selfish, self-involved man with nothing to give to anyone because he wants it all for himself. This is required reading for any young woman who feels similar pressure, whether self-inflicted or coming from family and friends.

Ms.Sanford's ordeal burned away the needy person who put up with the indignities and discomforts of being married to a narcissist, and has found her true, strong self.

posted by dudswoo on April 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Terribly pretentious and boring book!

I am happy that I took this book out of the library. It would not have been worth buying. This book is written by a privileged woman, about her privileged "difficult" married life in the political limelight. She whines through much of the book, as she sits in her beac...
I am happy that I took this book out of the library. It would not have been worth buying. This book is written by a privileged woman, about her privileged "difficult" married life in the political limelight. She whines through much of the book, as she sits in her beach mansion, never once taking any responsibility for her marriage. Yes, her husband was most certainly a scoundrel and embarrassing to her and her boys but, give me a break lady. No one can be as perfect as you make yourself out to be on almost every page of this snoozer. Don't waste your time or money.

posted by TawandaDG on July 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2010

    Fight that urge to merge until you're sure

    Jenny Sanford was a lovely, talented young woman who felt pressure to be married, and ignored all the warning signs that she was about to marry a selfish, self-involved man with nothing to give to anyone because he wants it all for himself. This is required reading for any young woman who feels similar pressure, whether self-inflicted or coming from family and friends.

    Ms.Sanford's ordeal burned away the needy person who put up with the indignities and discomforts of being married to a narcissist, and has found her true, strong self.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2010

    I loved this book..from page one to the end, I was mesmorized with the whole family...

    Mrs. Sanford is a terrific person, and someone who I admire so much for having to go through what she did and for no thanks from her husband...I wish her the best always

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Women To Be Admired?

    Is Jenny Sanford a woman to be admired for the courage to not allow herself to play the victim. You bet she is. In reading this book, you will connect with the woman that could brave the media scrutiny that comes with having a famous husband, but also the private nightmare of learning as the world does that that husband had an affair. I have only learned to deal with not allowing myself to play the victim so I applaud her and champion her as a true role model.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    the best book I've ever read!

    I could not put this book down! Read it cover-to-cover the day I received in the mail. Although we all know the end of the story, Jenny Sanford is a wonderful writer and deserves an award for her writing. Awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Admiration for Jenny

    Unlike Elizabeth Edwards whose book was all about revenge, Jenny Sanford wrote a very inspirational book that demonstrates her spirituality is intact and her primary focus is raising her boys with as little media damage as possible. She is to be admired, her head is on straight and her heart is in the right place. I am happy to see that she is moving on from this diaster in which Mark Sanford placed her. Her book tells us that she is thoughtful, shrewd and caring and that she should have been the Governor! It takes a strong person to pick up the pieces and move forward following public humiliation, as was the case at the SC Governor's Mansion. Best of luck to her and the boys in the future!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    Staying True

    Being a transplanted Connecticut Yankee and now living in SC I say GO JENNY !! The book is an easy read and not just a "bashing" but a real look into the life she had with Gove Sanford from the early days of their courtship...she should have guessed then what a cad he was then,.. to the recent divorce. Interesting and informative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    A woman of strength and character.

    Jenny Sanford's book is easy to read. (I read it in one night.) She doesn't bash her husband and gives the facts very objectively. Her strength, wisdom, and (at times) humor shines though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    GREAT BOOK FOR ALL WOMEN

    I MYSELF WENT THROUGH A ROUGH TIME WHEN MY HUSBAND CHEATED. THIS AUTHOR IS INSPIRING STAYING TRUE TO HERSELF. I WISH I COULD OF FOLLOWED MY VALUES AND STAYED TRUE TO MYSELF DURING THAT TIME OF MY LIFE. SHE LIFTED MY SOUL READING HER STORY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    A Really Interesting Book

    What I liked about this book was how it gave me brand new insight into the real life of those people who are living the life as a politican. Interesting how all they 'promise' while campagning for office can be so hard to actually carry through with once in office and all the pressures it brings them. She discribes this very well. Hearing from the wife of someone who is/has to live this life was very interesting. I like the honesty that Jenny put into this book, from her perspective. She has a lot of wisdom to be able to be so strong and to share this in the book. We all can have a dark side to ourselves, and Jenny was sure taken by surprise to discover her husband's secret and dark side.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Enjoyable Memoir

    This memoir speaks to the fact that LOVE IS BLIND. These were the words of our pastor in our pre-marriage counseling. I truly believe this. It is unfortunate that Mark Sanford was unable to succeed in marriage. It has probably costs him the success of his life on Earth. Jenny Sanford clearly is a southern woman from the north. (That is meant as a compliment to the northern and southern women.) God has given her peace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    I feel that Jenny needed to tell her story. I found her book to be an honest, but sad account of her husband's betrayal. She has set the bar for other woment caught in this plight. Be strong.

    She has demonstrated the strength she and other women can have by relying on spiritual beliefs and friends. Some have critisized her for laying it all out in public. Most of that was already done by the press. She gave Mark choices to make help keep their marriage together. Instead, he turned to his soul mate. I know she will do all she can to protect her sons and continues to be the good mother she has been. Go Jenny. SC

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2